We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & bkft, close to Rathaus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Residenz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Residenz to your Saves list
Pension Residenz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ebendorferstrasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good location & bkft, close to Rathaus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I arrived in Vienna after dark, so finding this hotel was very strange. It's located in a huge old building and you must enter through 2 large imposing black metal gates, then enter the building, take the super small (fits 3 ppl max) slow elevator up to the 2nd floor. If I didn't see the sign, I never would've thought there's a pension here. Good thing Vienna is pretty safe or I would be too scared to enter at all!

Once inside, the rooms are very large & old fashioned, but comfortable. Small narrow bathroom but works fine. The bed is sleepable & there's a huge wardrobe for use. The rooms are cleaned daily, very soundproof, & warmed enough against the cold Vienna winter. Wifi works reasonably well in the room, although works better in the breakfast room on the 2nd floor. Breakfast is buffet style, lots of cold meats, cheeses, eggs, cereal & muesli, fresh coffee, tea, milk & oj. The service is fine, like other places in Vienna, the staff isn't chatty at all. Polite & reserved, very friendly when spoken to, but not initiator of conversations. What a difference from Istanbul!! I didn't mind the service at all.

The location is great b/c it's on a quiet street but only 2 blocks from the Rathaus park and/or metro. We went during the Xmas markets season and Rathaus has the biggest & best market in Vienna so it's was awesome being able to walk it every night. Just walking around the market makes you feel warm, happy, and cheerful from the atmosphere!! Definitely recommend going to Vienna during Xmas market season, despite the cold, the punch and sausages warms you right up!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    24
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
48
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

It was a quiet, comfortable hotel, very nice staff, close to the subway and had air-conditioning as well as a standard European breakfast. It was a long walk to the city center but an easy walk to the subway or streetcar stations. A good value for Vienna.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We are curreently staying here and feel so compelled to write a review immediately.

Getting to the hotel from Rathaus was a short walk which was great considering I was lugging around two suitcases. My wife is quite fussy when it comes to cleanliness and it passed the test. We had a double room with a balcony (there is only one).

Airconditioning works perfectly, there is a tv, a small yet very adequate and considering we spent most of our time sightseeing it was great to come back to the hotel with a comfy bed. Our room was located on the mezzanine level which was next to the breakfast room which is open between 7-10am. I was expecting to be woken in the morning by the noise during this time but never was!

The experience based on emails when I made the booking several months in advance up until checking in was smooth. Instructions on location and how to get to the main attraction was provided with ease. There were no hiccups.

The breakfast was adequate with variable options, yes there was no toaster but that was perhaps there was no room on the table given the generous options.

There is free Internet access, works perfectly and you are not restricted to one device per room.

Room was cleaned daily and towels and soaps etc changed swiftly.

Having been on holiday to date for three weeks and staying from b&bs and large hotel chains such as Sofitel and (motto mention I am on my honeymoon so I need to be somewhat picky), it was a nice change to stay at residenz pension hotel. A home away from home. Will definately stay here again should I return to Vienna, as hans cheekily suggested we come back when we have kids haha.



  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in August and once we got over the initial worries of a very tatty-looking entrance hall, everything went uphill from then on.As everybody else has talked about the good location, I'll concentrate on the pension itself. Spotlessly clean, with incredibly comfortable beds and immaculate bed linen plus air conditioning which was vital in August and a lovely varied breakfast served until 10. The owner Herr Hans was charming and even let us leave our big suitcase with him during our 4-day trip to Salzburg even though we were only coming back afterwards for 1 night. His son Martin was a delighful young man who couldn't do enough for us and gave us invaluable help with train connections and local eating houses etc. I thoroughly recommend Pension Residenz if you want a great night's sleep near the centre at an affordable price.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

A really good location with lovely big rooms with air-conditioning - vital for Vienna in August. Breakfast is very simple but what we expected for the money.
Staff were very helpful.

The entrance is a little hard to find as it's in an old building upstairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We got down at Rathaus U-bahn stop and got lost trying to find this hotel. The entrance is quite hidden. But it was just once. The room was good, bathroom was cramped, buffet breakfast was included, was just about ok. I guess its the same fare in breakfast buffets all over Europe. Staff was courteus and extremely helpful. Best part was the location, you could catch a U-bahn or a tram or maybe even walk to most places of interest in the inner ring. There were multiple eating options at Schottenring - Universitat (hope I got that right). There was a concert by some local band on a ground near our hotel, the crowd was pretty enthusiastic despite the rain. I had a fun stay at this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A friend recommended this place. At first sight, it's unprepossessing but the owner Herr Ziegler is a man of great charm and he ensures that the place is spotless. Breakfast is included (and good) and besides the free wi-fi, there's a computer in the reception area. I would stay here again not least because it is such excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Residenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residenz

Address: Ebendorferstrasse 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Residenz 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Residenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Residenz Hotel Vienna
Residenz Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Residenz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.