We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Museum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Museum to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Museum
Museumstrasse 3, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service, comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I arrived early -- way early -- and the staff kindly allowed me to have breakfast and prepared my room as soon as the previous guest left. Excellent value for the money, although the room was a bit noisy early in the morning since it shared a wall with the small kitchen. Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    39
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
19
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

On first arriving at this hotel, I must admit I was a bit disconcerted. It is located inside what appears to be a residential/office building, so you have to find the hotel name on the buzzer and ring the bell to be let in. Then you walk up a flight of stairs to the ground floor, where there is (thankfully!) a small elevator up to the hotel. The hotel reception is on the second floor, but it is really too far to walk with a heavy suitcase. The desk clerk was friendly, and gave me a free map on which she pointed out many useful sightseeing tips. My room was directly across from the manager's office. It had a double door, although only the inside door locked with a single, old-fashioned skeleton key. The reception is closed with no one on staff from 10 pm until the morning. There was a working phone and TV in the room, a comfortable bed, and a large airy window. The bathroom had a shower, wc and sink, all clean and working fine. The breakfast was quite nice, European-style with sliced meats and cheeses kept under a plastic cover, a choice of cereals, yogurt, fruit, and breads, as well as coffee, tea, and a selection of juices. The breakfast room is cosy with a large airy window and small cloth-covered tables, although the choice of artwork is a bit odd (and much of the art hanging on the walls in this hotel appears to be homemade by an amateur, although that is a very minor criticism). The hotel provides hot coffee throughout the day for guests, and there is a vending machine to purchase soft drinks and bottled water for a small fee. The hotel was able to provide an iron and ironing board, which was very helpful, and also had a small laundry room located on the same floor as the room (and reception), where I was able to do my laundry for free (although I had to purchase my own laundry detergent, at the SPAR grocery store around the corner). The hotel has a comfortable lobby with chairs, couches, and an assortment of magazines to read. The location couldn't be better, directly across the street from the Kunsthistorisches Museum, Naturhistorisches Museum, and Volkstheater, and only 1 block from the U-bahn and 2 blocks away from the #1 and #2 tram lines, from which you can go practically everywhere in Vienna. There are quite a few lovely restaurants with outdoor seating in summer around the corner from the hotel, if you walk about 2 or 3 blocks up the Burggasse (in the direction away from the U-bahn station) and then turn left onto most of the little side-streets. A good one is "Boheme", which is affordably priced and serves good Viennese-style food. I was in Vienna for a business trip, and found the Hotel Pension Museum very convenient. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great find! Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. Great location. Bed quite hard! Would recommend this Pension. Has a very nice ambience once inside the actual Pension. Entrance is a little cold on entering the building, but warm and welcoming once inside the actual Pension. Good lift. Very good eating in the nearby area.

Room Tip: Do not take single room on 3rd floor. Bed is more the size of a Day-bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Hotel Pension Museum was a terrific find in an otherwise expensive city. We managed to get a great rate of 99E for a room and were a bit skeptical as to what we would find. The room was huge ...with a very comfortable king size bed, a sofabed, desk, table, armoires and easy chair. The furniture was perhaps a bit dated but still very serviceable We were on the 3rd floor with a tiny balcony that bordered the room. It afforded us nice views over the Volkstheater. The room was bright and airy. The bathroom although small was modern with a good shower. Internet access is free. The location was extremely quiet.

The room had one large painting on the wall however with so much wallspace, it could have used a couple more! The spaciousness of the lodgings was remarkable. The herringbone pattern hardwood floors were beautiful.

The hotel has a big breakfast room on the first floor where a continental buffet breakfast is served..

The location is hard to beat! It is tucked just behind the Volkstheater off Museumstrasse. It is across the street from the U3 subway which connects to the airport train. The Museumquarter with the Leopold and Modern Art Museum is across the street and across from those are the National Museum of Art and the National Museum of Natural History. The Hofsburg Palace is 5 minutes further away.

All in all, Pension Museum provides great value and great location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights when away on business. Took an age to find it as it is on a very short street and in an unassuming double door immediately next to the entrance to the underground car park of the Hotel Sans Souci opposite the Volkstheater. There are stencilled letters on the front door but no clear visible sign so be aware. You have to go up to the 1st floor to check in as some of the other floors are for small businesses and there is no typical foyer. I had a room at the back as requested to be away from the trams. The room was large, with also a spacious bathroom. Free Wi-Fi which had an acceptable speed. The breakfast is of an excellent quality, with a view out onto the Volkstheater which is great to see first thing in the morning. Price was 80 euro a night and trumps the generic chains hands down.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back if you more concerned with sleep quality than a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inowroclaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Staff attitude was really excellent. Nice and helpful. We can have an early book in, all last day we deposited our luggage. Room was spacious. Breakfasts plentifull. Location of the hotel is perfect - just in the middle of museum district.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and got to know the hotel and the area very well. One of us had a single room with small but adequate daybed, the other a double room. Clean, friendly, hospitable, well situated and a charming building. Breakfast had wide choice: buffet style cold food. If you want an alternative to an international and impersonal hotel with a homely and comfortable feel consider it.

Room Tip: Single bed a little narrow, really a daybed - ask for double room, if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Museum

Address: Museumstrasse 3, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Spittelberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pension Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.