We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Aviano to your Saves list
Pension Aviano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marco d'Avianogasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Boston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Fantastic location just feet from main pedestrian street. Two comments for claustrophobics. First The elevator has a listed capacity of 3 people. Honestly you couldn't fit any more. Second, the shower is a very small stall. Be aware there isn't any air conditioning but there was a floor fan. It was hot outside during the day but we were lucky and it did cool off at night. The bed was soft. Not the nice pillow top support soft, just soft. However, it didn't affect our sleeping.

Now some good points. Did I mention the location? Our room was quite large with two easy chairs and a table, a fridge and two other end tables. Everything was very clean, nothing to complain about. A nice large windows that opened so the room cooled off at night. The breakfast was a nice selection of cheese, meats, bread, fruit, yogurt etc. The people there were also very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for mentioning our fantastic location. Actually you can't be more centraly located.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    94
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
173
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

stayed here for 2 nights. I was able to walk to the hotel from the Stephansplatz station - 5 min walk (even in the rain) - so location is superb. We were able to walk to most places from the B&B.

I like the breakfast which has a very good spread and it has the signature B&B warmth to it in the dinning area. The room is typical, clean - they only have double bed (King Size) and so if you need Twin, they will open up the sofa bed instead. The staffs were helpful and friendly - they will give the main door's key (locked after 10pm) as it shares the building (occupies 4th floor) with some other offices. There is no A/C but the fan worked fine for us.

The only complain is the price - it can be more expensive than a hotel. I guess the location commands a premium.

Room Tip: room away from the sun would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a reviewa for Aviano. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service of our house.The prices are due to the location higher than if you choose a Hotel or Pension further outside the City Center. Nevertheless we hope that you enjoyed the advantages of staying centrally located in the City.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arrived early a.m. and were welcomed nicely and our bags stowed. They even allowed us to use an empty room to freshen up as we were coming in off a night train. Sonia (sp?) at front desk provided a map and an orientation to our part of the city, also looked up the week's concert schedule for us. She and the owner (Mrs. Kavka) could not have been nicer throughout our 3-day stay.
There are 4-5 steps to get to the lift, which fit 2 people + luggage with no problem. Our room (412) was on the top floor, same floor as the reception desk and breakfast room. The room and bath were both a bit larger than I expected and very clean. Two twins + small round table + 2 comfy armchairs. We faced the street and heard some noise from bar patrons on the street (windows were open) but nothing major and easily covered by the fan & our "white noise" app.
Breakfast served in a pleasant room that also has a few oudoor tables on a narrow balcony. We found both quality & quantity to be just fine, esp the scrambled eggs which are not always found with a b&b breakfast in Europe.
A special thanks for 1)laundering my clothes after a minor spill at breakfast by an employee and 2)waiting for us when we forgot to take our key and were out past 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to write a review and such a long one also. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and our service so much. We would love to welcom you again!

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is no luxury or even typical American hotel - but you are in heart of Vienna and well, Europe just does things differently. The rooms are outdated and the old carpeting and drapes are a bit drab - but it is a clean, private, secure place to stay. If you want to pay more you can find a nicer room, but if you want to find a budget place that - that is safe and not a total mess, this is a good place. The building is quite old and has that old-world charm I love. They bathrooms were basically added to a big room - def not the best bathroom, but better than a hostile bc you have your own room and private bathroom. We were surprised that the breakfast included was actually quite good!

Overall we had a good experience here - just have realist expectations. You are right in the heart of Vienna, so spend your time exploring, not in your hotel room!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our house. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the service and the offer of our house.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

my wife and i stayed here recently on our trip through vienna. it is in an apartment style building with several floors. the room we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable and with the windows closed very quiet.
the location is perfect. 5 mins from the opera house and walking distance to about everything.
the staff was so friendly and couldn't be more helpful. the breakfast served each morning was very good as well and provided a nice start to the day.
it's not ornate and luxurious but much more than just basic.
i would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It is a pleasure for us to read that you had such a nice stay and that you enjoyed especially our offers for breakfast. Aviano is a four star Pension and therefore not so luxurious as a four star Hotel. We would love to wecome you again in the future.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We felt very disappointed when seeing the room. It is not like the pictures at all. The room is small, even we live in their "larger room". Everything is old, and the carpet stinks. Not much choices of the breakfast, and the supply is not enough. No air conditioner in the room, though they provide a fan, still feel hot inside. The location is good, but we can hear people having fun and talking even in the midnight. I think it is not worthy. Really not recommand!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

we are sorry to read that you didn't like your room at Aviano at all. The Carpets are getting cleaned every year during wintertime but will be on our agendy for changing.
We do have a few rooms facing the courtyard which are more quiet. It would have been good if you had choosen to talk to our Reception regarding a room change. Your room had a size of 26,10 m² and we never had any complains about the size of this room. All our rooms have different sizes, even within a categorie, due to the age of the building.
Therefore it is always recommend to speak with the Reception regarding a room change, in case you really don't like the room.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed for one night in a superior room. Check-in was a breeze, staff very polite. Room consisted of two rooms - one with a desk and seating area and a bedroom. Room was lovely with high ceilings and chandeliers. Bed really comfortable with power sockets on both sides of table on top of nightstands. No air conditioning but the windows open, which was sufficient for us as the weather wasn't super hot. Breakfast served in a small breakfast room next to the reception. Nice selection of breads and cold cuts, with cereals and pastries. Fresh, really good coffee served to the table by a friendly and efficient server - a great start to a day. Checking out took no time at all and luggage was gladly accepted to be picked up later. The hotel has a great location with walking distance to many great cafes and sights and public transport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a nice and long review about our Pension. You pointed out vey clearly all the important facts and there is not much to add from our side.
Since you enjoyed your stay so much we hope to see you again.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Address: Marco d'Avianogasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#46 Business Hotel in Vienna
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Kärntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Aviano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.