We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Aviano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Aviano to your Saves list
Pension Aviano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marco d'Avianogasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #46 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A perfect location for a Pension in Central Vienna, well priced, large rooms. It's an old vienesse house..
Reception was helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was good for a pension, don't expect white gloves.
I recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, with corridors; It's an old house, and that is a plus. A luxury supermarke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about our house. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the Service of our house.
We hope to welcome you again.

Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    94
    20
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
173
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you want to stay downtown in a charming little hotel in Vienna, you can't go wrong with the Pension Aviano. It is 30 steps away from the main pedestrian shopping street in Vienna, and you're within walking distance of all the sights in the Old Town. You can't beat the location, and you can't beat the staff. They're warm and friendly. Only note of caution. It's a little hard to find when you first arrive. There's an unassuming front door (looks like you're entering an office or apartment building) to the right of a restaurant. Go up the first flight of stairs and take the elevator to the 4th floor. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Greetings from Vienna,

and a big thank you for taking the time and writing a review. Our main entrance on the street is really a bit hard to find, but we do have many photos published with the entrance and hope that our guests browse the Internet before arriving.

Sonja kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We just spent 3 days at Pension Aviano and absolutely loved it. Location is right on Kartner Strasse and easy walking to everything Vienna has to offer. Great room. great staff and wonderful breakfast. Our double rate was a great value for the room we had. Well maintained Vienna Pension.

Room Tip: Ask for a double that opens to Kartner Strasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

A big Thank you for writing a review about our house. We are alsways very satisfied to read that our guests enjoyed their stay and our Service.
We would love to welcome you again.

Sonja kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This pension has an elevator which is a big plus when traveling for two weeks with a large suitcase. This was the only hotel that had a bidet in the bathroom. It is in a great location - so easy to walk the pedestrian areas and close to the subway. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Our room spacious with a king size bed, small table, upholstered chairs, large armoire, small refrigerator and mini-bar. There is always someone on duty should you have any questions. The breakfast was delicious and had a great variety of foods to choose from. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our house. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Service of our Staff, the room and the excellent location of Aviano.
We would be pleased to welcome you again.

Thanks
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Pension Aviano was our choice for a 4 night stay in Vienna in early September, and we were not disappointed. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room on the 3rd floor was very large and decorated to match the Viennese lifestyle. Bathroom was functional and very clean. Aviano is located just off the main walking promenade and within easy walking distance of all the significant buildings and sights of old Vienna, as well as the trams and the subway. Vienna is a wonderful city, and our short stay was highlighted by the excellence of Aviano. Certainly highly recommend staying at Aviano when in Vienna.

Room Tip: The rooms fronting the street can be affected by noise generated from the street bars nearby on Frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for writing a review about our house. It is a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the service provided by our staff.
They will be happy to hear of your positive feedback and will certainly look forward to welcome you again.

Sonja kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at the Pension Aviano for 4 nights in September. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There was a concern with some sewer odor coming up from the toilet, but we did not let that disturb us. The location was excellent and made it very easy for us to get around Vienna. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff were very very accomodating. It is not cheap, but then again, nothing in Vienna is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Aviano. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay, despite the problem with the toilette.
We are sorry to hear that you think that our prices are too expensive, but we do offer good value for money. Staying in the City Center is more expensive than if you choose a Hotel or Pension further outside, but a good location inside the Ring saves you a lot of time and most of the Attractions are in walking distance.

Thank you.
Sonja Kavka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed in Vienna for four nights in late September. Our room was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. All the staff were helpful; the included breakfast was tasty and delicious. Location is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonja K, Leiter Front Office at Pension Aviano, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about our Aviano. We are so pleased to hear that you had a pleasent stay in September and that you enjoyed the service of our staff so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Aviano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aviano

Address: Marco d'Avianogasse 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#46 Business Hotel in Vienna
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Aviano 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviano is situated in an old Patricianhouse directly in the citycenter on a small sidestreet of Kärntnerstreet. All 17 rooms are in viennese style with shower, Wc, Makeup mirror, TV, telephone, minibar, in room safe. There are no restaurants or bars in the guest house in order to protect the privacy of the guests. We guarantee herewith the much appreciated relaxation of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Aviano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Aviano Hotel Vienna
Aviano Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Aviano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.