We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place if you're gay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Wild

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Wild to your Saves list
Pension Wild
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lange Gasse 10, Vienna A-1080, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
uk
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
“Great place if you're gay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed here a while back, in one of the top priced rooms and were very happy. Found the place in the Spartacus guide. The room was very spacious with a very well-fitted out bathroom and there was a minibar as well. The breakfast buffet was excellent and they played classical music in the breakfast room, which might sound a bit cheesy but actually worked very well and created a lovely atmosphere. As other people have noted, there's a mix of clientele and it's certainly not exclusively gay, but I would definitely highly recommend it to gay couples and singles. Although there's a gay sauna in the basement, the place doesn't have a seedy feel to it at all, quite the opposite. It's also well located, just a short distance from the Ring (no sniggering at the back please!) One word of warning, book well in advance, it's very popular - which tells its own story, really.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    56
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
62
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

I cannot think of a better place to stay in Vienna. The guest rooms are on two floors in an old, nicely refurbished and well maintained townhouse in the centre of Vienna. The staff has always been friendly and welcoming offering town maps and all sorts of information and suggestions of what to do in the city. The breakfast buffet has always been nicely arranged and the whole stay made me feel like a guest rather than a customer. If you enjoy staying in an anonymous concrete block, then the Pension Wild isn’t for you. And yes, it’s a gay-friendly place but this doesn’t mean there are indecent images or obscure men loitering around anywhere.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

very good hotel
very kindly the manager and the workers
the breakfast is appetising
the prices are not expansive
very well stuated close to many museums and attractions
in the receptions ther's so many information for the town or just classic life information
i recommand it

  • Liked — well situated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

This is an OK hotel it you are looking for budget accomodation centrally located in Vienna. But: It is a gay-friendly hotel, so be prepared. I wasn't ...
I wouldn't have brought my children here, because the brochures and information in the reseption area are not for children...
And also, specify that you want a non-smoking room. The smell was quite bad in my room, cause I forgot to request a non-smoking.
I would only recommend this pension to those of you who are interested in a gay-friendly hotel. (I wasn't aware that there where unfriendly hotels...) I stayed at another Pension for my last four days, it only costed €5 more each night, but it was so much more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2007

Just stayed here for 4 nights with my partner. The location is very good, walking distance to most of the sights in Vienna, and the room we were in(on the 1st floor) was clean and adequately roomy with bathroom-toilet.sink&shower. There was some renovation in progress to the facade of the building and it was not obvious upon arrival that we were in the right place other than the address. (it is on a fairly residential street) The breakfast room was nice with a good assortment of food/beverages to begin the day.

We are a gay couple, but there were a mix of other guests and I didn't get any sense of there being a gay "theme" to the place or clientele. Despite being on the 1st floor, we were not aware of any increased noise or activity related to the gay sauna in the basement area.

The staff were friendly and accomodating considering this a Pension and not a full-service hotel. Overall I think the Pension Wild is a very good value.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — building renovation in progress
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

Booked hotel via bookings.com; had a good stay there. Nice, spacious room on the first floor. Check-inn was quick, breakfast was good, and
location, for this price, very good! Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

We didn't know what to expect when we stepped in the front door of this place. Kinda couldn't tell if we were in the right place. We weren't expecting too much because of the price we paid. We finally checked all in and went up to our room on the 4th floor. The elevator takes you to between the 4th and 5th floors, which we didn't know and they also have motion sensor lights that don't turn on until you are halfway down the stairs and we couldn't see anything getting off of the elevator. When the lights turned on and we finally found our room, we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are large and basic with a minifridge. The bathroom was clean and basic with sink, toilet, and shower. One thing, we did ask for a quiet room but with the windows open (there is no a/c) it was quite noisy. With the windows closed, there wasn't much noise. The breakfast was nice and basic. The people working there were nice and did help us with our questions about getting around the city.

I wouldn't call this place a "gay" hotel. There is a gay sauna downstairs and there are gay guides to the city in the "lobby," but most of the people who stay there seem to be older straight people who are drawn to the place because of the price. It is quite a walk (about 20 - 30 minutes) from the gay area of Vienna.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Wild? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Wild

Address: Lange Gasse 10, Vienna A-1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#51 Business Hotel in Vienna
#55 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Wild 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Wild reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Wild Hotel Vienna
Wild Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Wild, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.