We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, uncomfortable - cannot recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Neuer Markt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Neuer Markt to your Saves list
Pension Neuer Markt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #166 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tiny room, uncomfortable - cannot recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

30-year old professional couple vacationing in Vienna for the first time… cannot recommend.
Time of stay: July 2013
We made our booking at this place about 2 month before the trip on the advice of a colleague. We were simply looking for a clean and comfortable room to sleep in as we were in Vienna to sightsee and didn’t plan to spend any significant time in our room. For us, this was a mistake.
We got a room on the 3rd floor (2nd floor in Europe). I would categorize this place as somewhere between a hostel and a hotel but without any of the charm of a bed and breakfast.

Pros:
- central location – excellent for sightseeing and close to the subway and many restaurants
- relatively cheap – not cheaper than Holiday Inn or some other large chains
- seemed clean – white-washed walls, high ceiling
- good water pressure
- typical continental breakfast

Cons:
- dilapidated building – looked run down on the outside and inside
- tiny room even for European standards. The double room we got was about 160 square feet not including the tiny bathroom. There was room for a double bed, a dresser and a small round table but you can’t walk to one side of the bed if you open the dresser door
- the shower was the size of a North American phone booth. Both my wife and I are average sized people and we had trouble
- there was no air conditioning (we knew about this when we booked but Vienna is usually cool at night in the summer). However, the room had 1 window that opened to the inner courtyard – no breeze at all with the window wide open. There must have been a restaurant downstairs (or maybe someone/people living below us) whose kitchen vented to the courtyard because our room smelled like a fry kitchen. The small desk fan that was in the room mitigated the smell somewhat but that took up an outlet (we absolutely needed to keep it on for any air movement at all). We requested a room change (perhaps to one with a windows that opens to the street) but was told that the place was fully booked.
- the free WIFI was spotty at times
- no fridge in the room
- small safe for which a key must be obtained from the front desk
- we could hear everything that went on outside our room

Neither my wife nor I have stayed in a place like this since our youths. We’ve travelled throughout North America and Europe and have stayed in many hotels. We would not stay in this place again. Please keep in mind, the pension probably has better rooms. Certain travellers may find this place to be a good stay. Be specific and ask before you book.

Room Tip: Call and ask before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    102
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
49
59
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Very strange place. Run down furniture, small rooms. Tiny showers and bathrooms that can barely fit a person. Service is ok but some of the receptionist were not friendly. Breakfast is till 10:30 but if you come at 10 all food is gone. Breakfast is nothing special. If I didnt need central location I would not stay here. But again better hotels are available around so I recommend to pass on this one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The thing with any popular tourist destination is that you always have to ensure that you are within the system. We made the mistake of taking the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport. And that's where the problem started. We booked their airport shuttle which was 36 euros and we paid it at the hotel. The next morning as we waited for the taxi, a driver arrived and showed me the pick up details with the name of the hotel. We climbed in. Of course predictably, he drove rashly and once we got to the airport demanded 42 euros and held onto our bags until we gave in. He didn't speak any English. We informed the hotel and it refunded the 36 euros charged. But this experience and unpleasantness left us bitter. So my advice is, avoid their shuttle service even if it's cheaper.To me even if that taxi was for another room number, which is what the hotel told me, it was a really bad driver. It didn't matter who was picked up.

Otherwise, the hotel is brilliantly located. And we loved that. So, I would recommend it just for that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was really surprised by the price and the location, which's only 1 minute walk from Stephansplatz. No matter what direction to take, everything seems to be very close from this place.
Staff is friendly and helpful, they even offered their assistance when I told them I needed to send some postcards to my friends and family.
Room of economy class with a shared toilet is quite small, but clean and it suits perfectly when you are going to spend a night or two here. Breakfast is included and it's rather substantial.
Wi-Fi is free and you can also use a computer in the hall, but it was not relly comfortable to use and quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my second time visiting Vienna and couldn't have stayed at a more centrally located hotel! Seconds from all major steets and pedestrian areas. Especially near St Strephens, Sacher Hotel, Opera, Hofburg, museums and Albertina. Not to mention all the gelato and restaurants nearby. We traveled with my toddler and didn't have to use a taxi once, we just walked!

The rooms are small yes, but who cares you're only there to sleep. The owner of the place actually picked us up from the airport and gave us a mini tour of his city on the drive in--I love how proud Austrians are of their (very clean and safe) cities. Yes elevator! Free wi-fi and a delicious free breakfast. One of the best breakfasts actually of our entire trip. Make sure you take the fiakkar tour that the owner recommends (at such a great discounted rate too don't miss it!)

I would def stay here again and can't wait to return to one of my favorite cities on earth.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

it says "im herzen wiens", meaning in the heart of vienna, and so it is. The location was great. Wien is a small city, but the hotel is in such a location that it doesn't matter if you want to walk or take a ride with metro. Every place is easy to reach. If you want to have a walk in the kartner strasse, you are on it in 1 minute. If you want to see st. stephans, it is in 3 minutes walk. Excellant location. We even didn't understand at first when we headed back from hofburg and found ourselves at graben suddenly which is maximum 15 minutes of walk to the hotel.
Rooms are comfortable and clean. We had found all we wanted. Clean bathroom, clean sheets, towels. A silent room, great breakfast. All the staff was very gentle and helpful. there is no luxury or big commotion. the breakfast very full and the ladies preparing everything was very quick and nice.
only negative comment could be the lack of number of keys to the room (and to the building). But we didn't ask for an extra key, so maybe they would give us if we asked.
I will certainly stay here again if I will ever go to Vienna, again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great location, clean room, helpful stuff, exceptional breakfast, free wifi..just a superb stay! Cant forget that there are many clubs nearby so perfect for young people! I will definitely come back...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Neuer Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Neuer Markt

Address: Seilergasse 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Neuer Markt 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pension Neuer Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Neuer Markt Hotel Vienna
Hotel Neuer Markt
Neuer Markt Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Neuer Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.