We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old style pension in the heart of Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Nossek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Nossek to your Saves list
Pension Nossek
Graben 17, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Lovely old style pension in the heart of Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This cozy little pension in the heart of the city oozes the charm of old Vienna. This was my third stay and I will certainly visit again later this year. The location is superb for exploring the city. The ambiance is peaceful and service very friendly. Rooms (various sizes available) have high ceilings and are decorated with period furniture but have all necessary comforts. My room had a newly renovated bathroom. The rooms to the street (Graben) side might be somewhat noisy, mine was to the inner courtyard and silent. Nice breakfast room; breakfast is included. Until recently you had to pay by cash but now the pension has started to accept credit cards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    49
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
54
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I spent a few days at this great "pension" in the centre of Vienna during the recent holidays. My stay was excellent as always- I had one of the new renovated rooms which maintain their old world charm with a brand new flat TV screen, a nice desk with plenty of space/plugs for my computer and cell phones. The staff remain as friendly and professional as always. The breakfast (cold buffet with cereals,yogurt, cakes cheese, ham/salami cuts with nice rolls/ bread slices) was of an excellent, fresh quality. The location is what always attracts me to this place- located right on the end of the pedestrian street Am Graben shined bright from its beautiful Xmas decorations (some massive Chandeliers hanging up in the air in the middle of the street supported by wires from the sides of the buildings). Vienna is indeed the place to visit during the Xmas and New Year's holidays.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

great location on corner if Graben and Kohlmarkt, taxi drop off is just across the street at St. Peter's church; subway stations City & Herrengasse U3 close buy; all rooms have free WIFI a typical Viennese breakfast is being served - extrem friendly Owners / receptionist

Room Tip: view toGraben room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights in July. It was VERY hot and we were quite thankful for the AC. Room was spacious and comfortable. Very clean. Bathroom looked to be newly remodeled and was great. My husband loved the water pressure in the shower. We had an interior room which was very quiet. Breakfast was sufficient perhaps ample by European standards. Location is superb- so superb in fact. The taxi couldn't find it when we arrived! It was a bit comical him running up and down the pedestrian plaza! Hats off to him - service above and beyond I thought. Just be aware that you can't drive straight up to the door, but its 3 minute walk from the corner.
The only negative I would say is the staff were helpful but a bit "snooty". Too many dumb American questions I guess.

Room Tip: Inside rooms off plaza were quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panania, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having returned after our first visit in 2010 nothing really much had changed with this establishment. There appears to be some upgrade to the bathrooms but the rooms are still basically the same. They are spacious and comfortable. The only criticism is the meagre breakfast on offer. Compared to other pensions we have stayed at, the variety and abundance of offered fare is lacking. The location is great (right in the Graben) and I suppose this makes up for the negative.

Room Tip: Select room not facing the Graben, they may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Pros: location is great, staff very nice. Clean, cozy.

Cons: had to change room after first night as sewage came up through the shower every time toilet was flushed. ( horrible) they know about the issue but still rent the room.

It was very hot on the first night also and the air con wasn't turned on yet. The desk said it wasn't hot enough yet. Luckily a bunch of people complained and it was turned on for the rest of my stay.

Tonight is my last night here and I'm going crazy. They leave at 10 pm and there is no emergency number. The air con unit makes a loud beep every 4 seconds whether its on or off. It happened a bit last night and this morning and I mentioned it before I went out today. Nothing was done and I'm tortured by the noise- impossible to sleep.

I don't recommend this place at all. I need a room for 2 things- to shower and to sleep. Pension Nossek was lacking for both of these thing

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A friend suggested Pension Nossek as being wonderfully located and run by charming helpful staff. All true!
Clean, comfortable, with super breakfast and slightly old fashioned charm.
I thought $85 euros a night a fair price for my spacious room.
The elevator is now refurbished and works fine!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I had an internal room which was very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Nossek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Nossek

Address: Graben 17, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#105 Business Hotel in Vienna
#128 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Nossek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Nossek Hotel Vienna
Nossek Hotel Vienna
Pension Nossek Vienna
Hotel Nossek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Nossek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.