We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, next to Stephansplatz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension City

Pension City
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pension City to your Saves list
Pension City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bauernmarkt 10, Vienna 1010, Austria (Innere Stadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, next to Stephansplatz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated right at the heart of Vienna. The staff was really helpful and provided useful tips for us. Room and bathroom was nice and tidy. WiFi didn't work all the time, not sure why. Other than that, it really pays to stay here, mostly due to its awesome location.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

City Pension has just been renovated and it shows, everything is fresh and new including brand new bathrooms. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to the major shopping area, restaurants and the metro. It is also close to a fabulous gourmet supermarket, that sells everything delicious.

You must remember that Vienna accommodation is not cheap and the rooms are small, but they are beautifully decorated in cream and red and they do have two desks/tables in them. They also give you fruit, chocolate and two welcome drinks.

I would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Loved the location - just near Stephensplatz square ie. the centre of Vienna, and the metro. Staff was friendly; rooms and bathroom very clean.
Only negative was that the room was a bit too small for the two of us, travelling with fair sized bags.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Very nice little Pensione type hotel in the middle of downtown Vienna. great basic fresh room and little modern bathroom, staff was very friendly and welcoming and available to help out with useful tips for restaurants and sightseeing. the best of this place is the great location

Room Tip: room in the back is more quiet but has no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Located in the heart of the inner city in Vienna, this family owned pension is a great choice. Because you are not located within the main tourist areas the street is very quiet at night. Within a few minutes walking you are at some of the cities main shopping areas and tourist attractions. The staff at this pension is very friendly and helpful. All staff we spoke to, speaks English very well. The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfortable. On our last day they run out of warm water. The staff apologized with a bottle of Austrian wine. We felt that was not required, but the gestures was a sign of the dedication and commitment of the staff to quality service.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room ask for one not facing the street. However, that said, our street ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wichita, kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

as this is not a hotel, their reception isn't open 24 hrs. our flight ended up being delayed and we didn't get to the hotel until 1am. we called the pension and let them know about our delay, but very much appreciated that they had someone staying there and welcoming us. the building is very old, the floor a bit squeaky, but the room is spacious, the modern bathroom is very small, but EVERYTHING you need is in there and you marvel at how they fit it all in! beds were comfy. we didn't have breakfast there, as at our time of stay they couldn't offer it in the house, so we had breakfast down the street in a nice Viennese caffee, a recommendation of the staff at the city pension. the location is great, less than 5 minute walk from stefans dom and metro station. we really liked this pension, and would definitely come back, and would like to mention again, how friendly all the staff was that we encountered at this pension.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

As we were only staying for one night in Vienna this was the perfect place for overnight accommodation. It is close to a Metro station and to the lively pedestrian streets full of shops and restaurants. The staff in the reception was very friendly and helpful. The only fault was the smallness of our room. Otherwise it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension City

Address: Bauernmarkt 10, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Innere Stadt
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#95 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension City 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pension City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension City Hotel Vienna
City Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.