We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Furstenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Furstenhof to your Saves list
Hotel Furstenhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neubaugurtel 4, Vienna A-1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location close to Westbahnhof and U-bahn station. It’s an older style hotel where we felt welcome. Pre-arrival communications via email was excellent. The English-speaking staff were helpful providing maps and brochures of local attractions and tips for local shops, cafes, etc. Our basic furnished double bedroom with ensuite was on the second floor and over-looked a church and the Gurtel ring road but there was no issue with traffic noise. The bed was comfortable, even if it was two single beds joined together. Our room was on the second floor, accessed by a slow moving lift and via corridors and doors, all adding to the charm of the place. The room was clean and tidy and fresh towels were provided each day. An issue is that at the front of the premises are about ten stairs that have to be negotiated and this is difficult if struggling with luggage. The old world charm was retained as you had to hand in the key each time you left the hotel, even if it was only for a quick trip around the corner. The “No Smoking” signs at Reception appear to be largely ignored.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
20
23
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel from 10 to 12 of April 2013.
The hotel is located in a very convinient place, just right to Westbahnhof of Vienna city. Moreover you can easyly approach it with straight airport shuttle bus. As well, the hotel is 1 min walk from U-bahn station.

The staff was friendly and ready to help. Room cleaning was OK.

What I really liked was that the official website can give you the realistic impression of what your room will be. I booked small single room and when arrived it was the same I expected.
Beside that the room is really small and equiped with old BUT decent looking furniture, which makes the authentiс atmosphere in a way.
The bathroom is small as well, but still functional enough.

One disadvantage of my stay was noise coming from people closing thier doors. Disturbed at nighttime I should say. That origins from thin and nonisolated door.

To sum up, the stay was pleasant and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This old hotel is very close to the West Bahnhof & handy for the sights in the centre (Museum Quarter etc). The staff were friendly, the room comfortable & the breakfast great for 7 Euro. Really nice breads, feta cheese, hummus etc in addition to the usual stuff. I never use mini bars in hotels, but after long days pounding the streets on the tourist trail a beer in my room straight from the fridge was really welcome. And it wasn't expensive. The free wifi was also very welcome & worked a treat. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family and I stayed in the family room for 4 days last March. It is an old but very well maintained hotel. The service is great -- I was able to move around Vienna with the help of the front desk. The hotel is just in front of the train station and has easy access to the Ubahn. The price was very reasonable. I will definitely go back and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I spend one night at Fuerstenhof. This is a great hotel if you need to be near the West Bahnhoff and you want to stay in a quite dated but therefore more authentic hotel. The staff I encountered was very friendly. The room I choose, a double comfort room with private bath and a view on the inner courtyard was very large and comfortable. Breakfast was good, buffet style, with boiled eggs, but no scrambled or other kinds offered, unless maybe ordered. The major shopping street, Mariahilfe, is just around the corner if you are into that. the bus from the airport stops almost in front of the hotel, quite convenient. I would stay here again, when visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Fürstenhof for one night during a recent visit to Vienna.
First time there.
We were delighted with the friendly reception, the clean, tidy rooms, the wonderful breakfast for €7- per person and the readiness of the very friendly staff to oblige at all times.
The hotel is centrally located at the Westbahnhof (West Train Station) and the underground is right opposite the front door.
Booking online is no problem.
You can decide on breakfast when you get there.
Stocked drinks cabinet en suite (cooled).
Television.
Very comfy beds.
The place to go if you're on a flying visit to Vienna or plan to spend a few days exploring a most fascinating city.
We're going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The building evidently once contained plush apartments and still retains many original features (stained glass motifs in the windows, glassed-in lift, brass "spyholes" in doors). Beds were firm and comfortable with individual and the bathrooms was nicely renovated. Our room was on the main road opposite the station, which may be a problem in summer for people who like to sleep with open windows but was fine for chilly late October. All staff were very friendly. Breakfast featured a couple of unusual extras like a tasty horseradish cream cheese spread and Liptauer cheese, otherwise standard Continental breakfast buffet fare. Well-stocked minibar in the room. Good value for money and very convenient for the main underground train line into the historic centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Furstenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Furstenhof

Address: Neubaugurtel 4, Vienna A-1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Furstenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Furstenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furstenhof Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Furstenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.