We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Austria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Austria to your Saves list
Hotel Austria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Old University Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice – once on business and once to visit the Christmas markets - and found it a great value, centrally located comfortable and traditional hotel.

It is conveniently situated in a quiet cul de sac, within a ten minute walk of the Schwedenplatz metro station and the Morzinplatz stop for the coach to the airport. It is centrally located in the inner city with St Stephan’s cathedral and other sights and the main shopping streets within easy walking distance. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants within a short walk of the hotel.

The hotel itself is traditionally furnished and decorated. I found the reception staff helpful and welcoming. The breakfast buffet is a meal in itself with a huge variety of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, breads, cold meats and cheeses and eggs and bacon etc. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm. The hotel offers good value and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    261
    30
    10
    2
See reviews for
169
295
57
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

Stayed here for second time - once with boys and this time for Valentines trip. The location is perject down a side street but within 5 minutes' walk of the cathedral and 10 minutes' walk in the other direction of the airport shuttle train terminus. The hotel is very nicely decorated and the reception is very professional, friendly and polite. When we asked for an ironing board (we had arrived by sleeper train so clothes were all creased and we were going to the opera) they set it all up for us. Beds are very comfy. Breakfast is the usual continental selection, reasonable but nothing special. This is a small(ish) hotel with no restaurant but there are are lots of high quality places to eat and drink nearby. I imagine the terrace is nice in summeer but have only ever stayed in November and February.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our first trip to Vienna. The hotel was easy to find and only about 5 minutes walk from where the airport bus dropped us off at Stephansplatz. The rooms were clean and very quiet. We had non-smoking rooms - the whole floor was non smoking. The breakfast room was mosly self-service with very curteous staff. Cleanliness was impeccable. There was a wide variety to chose from including fresh fruit. I have a problem of being lactose intolerant and this problem was addressed. There was high speed internet available and for those who do not travel with a computer / WiFi smartphone there is a computer terminal which one can use, free-of-charge. The front desk staff was very curteous and we were given excellent tips on which resturants to visit. Piero, who happened to be the desk manager when we arrived kept on coming up with very good advice. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a good, clean, central hotel with hepful staff. I will definetly be visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This was a good place to stay. The rooms were quiet, the staff was pleasant, the breakfast was good. The rooms were of reasonable size. We were close to Stefansdome and shopping streets. Our friends were distressed that there was no air conditioning, but my wife and I did not miss it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

It is located just a few minutes walk away from the St. Stephen's Cathedral, from the station of the shuttle bus from Vienna International Airport and from two important underground lines (U1, U2). The room was nice and very clean. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a huge variety of foods. The staff were friendly and helpful. Wireless internet worked well. We will stay at Hotel Austria on any future Vienna visit and we'll recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Central, plenty of restaurants around, easy to walk to major sites.
Rooms spacious, comfortable (look slightly old but clean and very 'livable')
Wireless internet worked well
Breakfast - choices and serves huge!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wild West
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hotel Austria suited us perfectly. The location in the historical district, close to local transport (trams and subway, which are very user friendly) and excellent restaurants, is perfect. We would set out walking each day, and had no difficulty reaching all parts of the historic center and beyond; when we got tired, we returned to the hotel via public transit. One night, after walking all day, we returned to the hotel on foot just to see the Christmas lights one more time. The hotel itself provides clean, comfortable, attractive rooms with a very relaxing, large breakfast area and excellent breakfast buffet. There is an elevator.The staff were always helpful and friendly. We found Vienna to be very charming, beautiful (especially with the Christmas lights, markets and decorations), and full of delightful things to see ( Stephansdom, Hundertwasserhaus, Naschtmarkt, Museums quarter, Rathaus, Mozart and Strauss monuments,music performances,etc.). The people were gracious and respectful everywhere we went. We fell in love with Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Austria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Austria

Address: Fleischmarkt 20/Wolfengasse 3, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Old University Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Vienna
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#51 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Austria 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Austria is right in the middle of the historical Old City of Vienna, a short walking distance from St. Stephen's Cathedral, a few minutes away from the Vienna State Opera, the Hofburg and the famous shopping streets. Check-in into one of our 46 comfortable and peaceful rooms, equipped with free wireless LAN (WI-FI) hotspot, phone with mailbox, minibar, tea and coffee making facilities and most of all, a uniquely individual ambience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Austria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hotel Vienna
Austria Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Austria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.