We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Josefshof Wien to your Saves list
Mercure Josefshof Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria (Josefstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Holtsville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Vienna. It is in a perfect location with easy access to the Metro and trams. It was only a couple of blocks to the historic center. It was on a quiet street, so no noise issues. The room was a little outdated, but everything was clean and comfortable. The room was really large! The bathroom had been completely updated and was really nice. There was a large safe, which was very helpful for our valuables. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us a wonderful recommendation for supper and provided us with ice.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    379
    112
    30
    12
See reviews for
104
373
44
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I do not think this this hotel is a 4 star, as advertised. However, check-in process was easy and smooth, the staff were helpful. The location is very good. We arrived to the hotel from the airport with S7 train and U2 line metro, we paid 4.40 euros per person. No need for a taxi, if you want to save some money. The hotel is very close to Stephanplatz and the Museum quarter. Only problem is, the hotel and the rooms look very outdated, so do not get high expectations. Free wifi was ok, no problems.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This is our forth stay at Mercure Josefshof. Every time we choose this hotel for the good location and for the correct price. We book and pay the room in advance on the Accor site. This time it was not a good idea because when we checked in, the lady at the reception blocked on my card the amount I've already paid a month ago. It was a mistake, I understand. But what I not understand is why is so difficult ( or impossible ) to find a solution. Because the lady did not know what to do, she called her colleague... A gentleman with a bad attitude, he explain me it will take weeks till I receive my money back and because he is not the bank he can do NOTHING. I think this is not the way to treat a hotel guest. And I wonder... Accor does not have a procedure to solve this type of situations? At this moment I have no guarantee I'll receive my money back. So be careful when you check in...

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very nice. the lobby is not too big but gives a sense of a respectable hotel. Our room was not too big but quit elegant. The most important thing is the location that is not far from the center and there are trains buses and trams nearby so it is very easy to go all around. The reception staff is very kind and helpful and the room is being cleaned every day.
If I want to some it up, it is a nice hotel, great location and the price is right.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel had a great location close to metro and tram stations as well asthe hod burg palace where our conference was.the hospital staff was helpful, rooms clean and good breakfast. GETTing around was also easy and it was perfect for work cum pleasure trip

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nothing spectacular, nothing bad.

If you want a comfortable room close to the city centre then this is the hotel. Privilege rooms are very comfortable. Other than breakfast the hotel does not provide any other services. As per previous reviews there are plenty of places to eat outside of the hotel.

Incredibly easy to get to from the airport. From the airport, use the CAT €12 per person single to Wien Mitte and then take the U3 to Volkstheater. The hotel is them less than ten minutes walk.

Do NOT eat at Il Tempo, they are rude and the food is not cooked on the premises but in another restaurant two doors down and carried through the street.

A great place to eat was Heindls not far from Stephensplatz.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear user tcej111,

thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.com

It was a pleasure to read that you liked your stay and our location.
Next time we also have plenty of good restaurant recommendations - just ask our reception team :-)

Best regards and wishes

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was really nicely suprice. The hotel was really nice, clean and really good located. The staff were helpfull. we stayed there only 1 night but is hotel where i really would like return. I didnt try breakfest so I cant say how is it. But for all other thing i was really satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear user janasek007,

thank you for your great review.

You necessarily need to return to try our various breakfast (every day until 12) - on warm and sunny days also in our garden.

Hope to see you soon back at the Mercure Josefshof.

Best regards to Praha :-)

Markus Schmid
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Vienna
#95 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#109 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Josefshof Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.