We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal in great area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien

Save Saved
You added Mercure Josefshof Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #143 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Concord, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great deal in great area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was a great hotel to stay in Vienna. While not directly in the city center it's a pleasant site seeing 10- 15 minute walk. Or even shorter if you hop on the metro which is also right by. The plus of it being out of the center is it's quiet. The hotel provides a decent breakfast although it's a bit pricy. There are plenty of cafes near as well. We arrived pretty early in Vienna and hotel room wasn't ready (understandable). But they managed to still get us in early. The staff was overall pretty young but very kind and helpful. Rooms were big by European standards. Beds were super comfortable. Wifi was free but not very strong. But that is not why you are in Vienna! I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureJosefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your positive comments.

It was a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with your stay.

If your travel plans guide you back to Vienna we would be very pleased to welcome you again at the Josefshof.

Best regards to California

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    314
    98
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
312
38
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here a few days on our Honeymoon. The hotel is really comfortable.. It is situated in a very quiet street but was close to public transport to reach the city. The staff was great, we had to ask them for directions and places of interest couple of times and they were always helpful with maps and as much information they could give. Only thing i found was, the rooms were quite cramped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments on tripadvisor.com.

We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Best wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not quite four , but better than three. Room great but a hint of cigarettes filtered through the aircon. Smoking rooms died in the real world 10 years ago Guys. Blow them out.
No real bar ie no draught beer. Not great
Location terific. Value through hotwire very good.
Good at the price but had it been top dollar, ordinary

Room Tip: insist on no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear user Chris G,

thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay.

It is always good to receive feedback from our guests, either positive and negative.

We hope to see you once again here at our Merure Josefshof.

Best wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely hotel near the Rathaus. Staff was friendly and helpful with a quick checkin. Near a U-Bahn station so it easy to get to from the Westbanhof. Close walk to Rathaus, Parliament, and Volks Park, which leads to Alstadt. Very cool to have a skylight window in a hotel! Down a quiet side street yet everything is very accessible, Will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear user Jayna1957,

we like to thank you for your impressions about your recent accommodation at our
Mercure Josefshof.

It was a great pleasure to read that you liked your stay and will forward your praises to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again and send best wishes from Vienna.

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is a little out of the city centre but there are some lovely restaurants only 5 mins walk away. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly the rooms are spacious and really clean.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting on your stay on tripadvisor.

It was nice to read that you liked our hotel and the location.

We hope to welcome you again at the Josefshof in the future.

Best regards and best wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel. It is in a nice location and is lovely. Our room's AC broke the first night, and it became stifling hot. When we contacted the front desk, they said that the AC system was working fine, but that they would send a technician to our room. Nobody ever showed up. So we called 30 minutes later (mind you, it is around 10:30 PM at this point), and they said that no one would be coming because the technicians had already gone home, but that they would upgrade us to an apartment. The apartment was really wonderful (with working AC), and we were very happy. However the next evening, as one of us was getting out of the shower, two hotel guests walked into our room (even WITH our Do Not Disturb sign on the door knob). The staff seemed to have mistakenly told them our occupied room was available- or something like that- we never quite understood the actual story. Needless to say, we went to the front desk to complain/see what was going on. The front desk was apologetic and offered us a free drink. He indicated that one or two mistakes happen every day and that it seemed like all the mistakes were happening to me. The level of attention to detail was severely lacking during our stay here. On a totally different note- the wifi was TERRIBLE as I had to constantly reenter the password every 5-10 minutes. We were told it was because our room was between two routers. Unfortunately we would probably never stay here again, but if none of the mistakes we experienced happen to you, this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear user Caliapy J,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and report the problems you were facing.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied at all and need to appologize for the inconveniences occured. We discussed the mentioned points with our staff and set the necessary actions in order to avoid any similar incidents in the future.

We would be very glad to welcome you again in the future getting the chance to convince you about our quality.

Sending best wishes we remain with best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to Ubahn and trams so easy to get round the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent value for money - a good start to a day of serious sighteeing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at the Mercure Josefshof with other travellers.

It was a pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your days with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon if your travel plans guide you back to Vienna.

Best regards

Elisabeth neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Business Hotel in Vienna
#95 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#105 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Josefshof Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.