We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel tucked in a quiet street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Josefshof Wien to your Saves list
Mercure Josefshof Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #135 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel tucked in a quiet street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here a few days on our Honeymoon. The hotel is really comfortable.. It is situated in a very quiet street but was close to public transport to reach the city. The staff was great, we had to ask them for directions and places of interest couple of times and they were always helpful with maps and as much information they could give. Only thing i found was, the rooms were quite cramped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your positive comments on tripadvisor.com.

We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Best wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    331
    99
    27
    10
See reviews for
91
322
40
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Not quite four , but better than three. Room great but a hint of cigarettes filtered through the aircon. Smoking rooms died in the real world 10 years ago Guys. Blow them out.
No real bar ie no draught beer. Not great
Location terific. Value through hotwire very good.
Good at the price but had it been top dollar, ordinary

Room Tip: insist on no smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear user Chris G,

thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay.

It is always good to receive feedback from our guests, either positive and negative.

We hope to see you once again here at our Merure Josefshof.

Best wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely hotel near the Rathaus. Staff was friendly and helpful with a quick checkin. Near a U-Bahn station so it easy to get to from the Westbanhof. Close walk to Rathaus, Parliament, and Volks Park, which leads to Alstadt. Very cool to have a skylight window in a hotel! Down a quiet side street yet everything is very accessible, Will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear user Jayna1957,

we like to thank you for your impressions about your recent accommodation at our
Mercure Josefshof.

It was a great pleasure to read that you liked your stay and will forward your praises to our staff.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you again and send best wishes from Vienna.

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay! The hotel is a little out of the city centre but there are some lovely restaurants only 5 mins walk away. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly the rooms are spacious and really clean.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for commenting on your stay on tripadvisor.

It was nice to read that you liked our hotel and the location.

We hope to welcome you again at the Josefshof in the future.

Best regards and best wishes

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel. It is in a nice location and is lovely. Our room's AC broke the first night, and it became stifling hot. When we contacted the front desk, they said that the AC system was working fine, but that they would send a technician to our room. Nobody ever showed up. So we called 30 minutes later (mind you, it is around 10:30 PM at this point), and they said that no one would be coming because the technicians had already gone home, but that they would upgrade us to an apartment. The apartment was really wonderful (with working AC), and we were very happy. However the next evening, as one of us was getting out of the shower, two hotel guests walked into our room (even WITH our Do Not Disturb sign on the door knob). The staff seemed to have mistakenly told them our occupied room was available- or something like that- we never quite understood the actual story. Needless to say, we went to the front desk to complain/see what was going on. The front desk was apologetic and offered us a free drink. He indicated that one or two mistakes happen every day and that it seemed like all the mistakes were happening to me. The level of attention to detail was severely lacking during our stay here. On a totally different note- the wifi was TERRIBLE as I had to constantly reenter the password every 5-10 minutes. We were told it was because our room was between two routers. Unfortunately we would probably never stay here again, but if none of the mistakes we experienced happen to you, this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear user Caliapy J,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and report the problems you were facing.

We are very sorry that you were not satisfied at all and need to appologize for the inconveniences occured. We discussed the mentioned points with our staff and set the necessary actions in order to avoid any similar incidents in the future.

We would be very glad to welcome you again in the future getting the chance to convince you about our quality.

Sending best wishes we remain with best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to Ubahn and trams so easy to get round the city. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent value for money - a good start to a day of serious sighteeing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions about your recent stay at the Mercure Josefshof with other travellers.

It was a pleasure to read that you fully enjoyed your days with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon if your travel plans guide you back to Vienna.

Best regards

Elisabeth neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This quaint little hotel has been nicely updated for a wonderful utalitarian hotel for your trip to Vienna. It is located just s few blocks from the City Center.

The staff is friendly, although the reception area is entering on the right and can get very busy with guest and make it dificult to have a certain question answered. They do have parking underground for a daily cost. They had umbrellas at the entrance that they allowed us to borrow during our stay.

The hotel room was very small, but had all the things we needed clean room, nice bathroom, free internet and fantastic loaction to Wien. The Vennese breakfast, which was included on our rate, was VERY complete and provided us quite a treat!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisabethN114, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear user goodlife123,

thank you very much for your positive feedback about your recent stay with us.

It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
#106 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Josefshof Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.