We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and efficient stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien

Save Saved
You added Mercure Josefshof Wien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Josefshof Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #139 of 368 hotels in Vienna
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean and efficient stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Residing here during March 2013 was a fairly pleasant experience.
Our room was clean, large and well heated which was certainly a plus given the wintry weather outside.
In room amenities included a mini bar, safe and intermittent wi-if connection. Additionally there was a computer in the lobby which facilitated printing at no extra charge.
Our only complaints were the single English channel offered on the television (CNN) and the presence of a persistent banging throughout most of the day and early morning.
Overall a very fair price for a hotel that does the job.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to say thank you that you took the time sharing your impressions while staying with us with the tripadvisor community.
We hope your comments were helpful for other travellers.

Currently our TV-provider only offers CNN as an english channel, but we are already about to upgrade the frre of charge channel selection whereafter we should receive further channels in foreign languages.
At the moment we offer the "worldwide TV" with 500 different channels for an extra charge.

We hope to see you soon here at our Mercure Josefshof.
Happy Easter!

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    309
    97
    26
    10
See reviews for
88
309
38
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I had booked one of the superior rooms based on the website photos, as it looked bright and spacious, but the room I was given was actually small and dark (except the bathroom, huge!). Not good when you spend most of the day working from your hotel room.
The hotel is quiet though, on a small street with limited traffic.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time posting your impressions about your stay in July 2012.

We are very sorry to read that you were not completely satisfied with your room.
As most hotel rooms have different sizes (even within the same category) we kindly recommend to report it to the reception desk when facing any similar incident in the future.
We are convinced that there will be an immediate solution in changing the room as we would have done.

Hopefully you give us the chance to convince you of our quality in a future stay.

We remain with best wishes from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Location is very convenient, close to all public transportations, tucked away in a quiet alley. Within walking distance to Museumquartier and Hofburg Palace, Stephenplatz, Rathauspark.. most major attractions in Vienna. I didn't really like the room, it was okay, not great. The bathroom was really small, too. What surprised me was the ladies cleaning my room, who cleaned the room really fast! I thought maybe they could do it slower and pay attention to its cleanliness, dusting things, perhaps. For wi-fi we need to ask for coupons, and it's quite frustrating. Basically it's nice though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us some feedback concerning your recent stay with us.
We shared your positive comments with our staff as well as your suggestions for improvement. Both is very helpful for us as our claim is to treat our guests with the highest possible service.

We hope to welcome you again some time at our Hotel Mercure Josefshof. In this case we suggest our spacious superior rooms or the new and state of the art designed privilege rooms.

The entire Josefshof team wishes you all the best.

Best regards from Vienna

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Close to Rathaus tube station. It offers familiar atmosphere, cleaned rooms and breackfast of superior level.
Personal alwayse ready to help with suggestions on tours and characteristic places to visit!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for sharing your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

It was a great pleasure to read that you had an overall good experience during your stay at our Hotel Mercure Josefshof.

We hope to welcome you again here with us in Vienna very soon and remain with

best regards

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is the perfect location for a holiday in Vienna. It's at walking distance to the Museumsquartier and the Hofburg Palace. And for those coming in the winter, some of the most beautiful Christmas Markets are also nearby. We got upgraded free of charge and the room was impeccable. Room service was also nice and staff was helpful, if a little cold.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear user bixbia,

we would like to thank you for your positive comments.
We forwarded your praise to our staff who were very happy about it.

Looking forward to maybe welcoming you again here in Vienna we remain
with best regards

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If your main destination during your visit to Vienna is museums, there are few hotels better located and more affordable than Hotel Josefshof. Located in an older, but well preserved and elegant building within walking distance of the Museum Quarter, Hotel Mercure Josefshof is an excellent starting point for your Viennese adventure. This hotel is close to the underground (Rathaus stop) butterfly enclosure (Schmetterling Haus), Burg Theater, and lots of restaurants. It is also an excellent location if you are in town for any of the beautiful balls that are such a highlight of the winter season in Vienna.

The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are clean and pleasantly decorated. Our room had a closet, hair dryer, mini-bar, safe, and complimentary toiletries. Breakfast was generous, very tasty, and delivered to our room. The staff were exceedingly and consistently friendly, professional and knowledgeable- and everyone spoke English. It was a delightful treat to stay here and we will definitely return during our next visit to Vienna.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our courtyard room with a window extension. It added a lovely amount of space to what mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear ZylahO,

thank you very much for your detailed comments about our Hotel Mercure Josefshof.
Your overall positive experience assure us that our efforts, to treat our guests with the best possible services, are the right ones and are a great motivation.

The Josefshof-team would be very pleased to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards and best wishes for 2013

Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Business Hotel in Vienna
#108 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Josefshof Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.