We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Josefshof Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Josefshof Wien to your Saves list
Mercure Josefshof Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria (Josefstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Panaji, India
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“excellent location, value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

"I with my spouse, kids of age 10 and 5 had been on East euorpe tour for the first time. Every one warned me about the language problem will face in these countries. But our first experiance was excellent. The staff at the reception was very good with very good command over english. They were very receptive and were kind enough to guide us about the city tour as we had been on our own and not in a organised tour.
Location is excellent and very near to historical places 1000 of years old. Only we could not get Indian food in near vicinity. We found one Nepalese restaurent near the Old city.

Our 2 nights stay in this hotel was excellent and memmorable one. Rooms were well appointed and bathrroms were very neat and clean. Only I feel hotel needs to remove carpet and opt for some other flooring, as I suffer from allergy.

I suggest this hotel, as well as Austria to all my fellow Indians. I will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josefshof, General Manager at Mercure Josefshof Wien, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you
We are happy that you enyoed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon
Elisabeth Neubauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    378
    112
    30
    12
See reviews for
104
370
44
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is in very good location-3min walk from metro station and very close (5min walk) to Rathaus, Parliament, and MuseumsQuartier. My room had enough space for two, the bathroom was good and clean. The service was very good and the reception employees were very hlepful and polite. The breakfast was almost perfect with wide variety of food and drinks.
The thing that I disliked was that my room was in the ground floor but I have to say that I did not try to change room. Also, in order to get a double bed you had to pay more, so we stayed in twin beds.
I would recommend this hotel for the breakfast, the sleep quality and the location.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Quiet location, close to the subwaystation Rathause. Friendly staff, spotless rooms - but very warm - the A/C did´nt work properly. Fresh breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

We visited with a group of about 40 people for the Vienna Officers' Association Ball. The staff, hotel, and food were all wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights between Christmas and New Years Eve and found the hotel very well situated near to the underground and the MuseumsQuartier.

The Josefshof was a clean place with a small inviting reception area. The reception staff were as to be expected very efficient, but lacked personality.

The room itself was very spacious - we had booked an apartment. However I would have been very dissappointed if I'd have had to use the kitchen in it. No forks, one glass, two plates - the list goes on. The apartments allegedly are for longer family stays!

During our stay the hotel had an issue with lack of staff - it was Christmas time! - causing our room not to be made up on one occassion. This didn't bother me at all (I'm quite tidy) however it did concern another guest who'd had the same experience, who had no dramas voicing his opinion in the reception area. The duty manager did a fantastic job to amend this issue.

Overall, not too shabby a place and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

When we were checking in, we were informed that we got an upgrade from standard double that we booked to superior. The more were we surprised how tiny the room was. It was one of the smallest rooms we have seen in a while. There was a nice terrace attached to the room, which was of no use to us in winter. There was no water kettle which, again, I haven't seen in a very long time.

The bathroom looked spanking new and specious. However, what I found very unusual was the fact that the shower corner (no bathtub) had no glass, so all the water was splashing around the whole bathroom. Not sure if this is intention to keep it open like this or the glass just wasn't delivered yet.

The bed was very comfortable and we had very good sleep apart from the fact that we got woken up at 9.30 am by housekeeping. Housekeeping that early?? Why?

The location of the hotel is very good though and if you don't intent to spend too much time in the claustrophobic room, it is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great hotel for a city break. Quiet location, close to major attractions. Rooms very comfortable. Range of choice in breakfast buffet excellent. 2 for 1 dinner buffet - good food, lots of choice, as much as you can eat. Staff friendly, efficient and helpful - made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Josefshof Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Josefshof Wien

Address: Josefsgasse 4-6, Vienna 1080, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Business Hotel in Vienna
#95 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#109 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Josefshof Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated hotel in the centre of Vienna, very close to Ringstrasse. The hotel offers 121 rooms, including 111 non smoking rooms, a breakfast room, garden terrace, bar and meeting rooms.The hotel is located in a small lane in the historic citycentre and most of the rooms face the quiet, leafy courtyard. Not far from Rathausplatz and Stephansplatz Squares, Parliament, museums, Museumsquartier cultural complex, Hofburg Castle and Mariahilferstrasse. Daily breakfast buffet served until 12 noon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Josefshof Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Josefshof Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Josefshof Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Josefshof Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.