We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of K+K Hotel Maria Theresia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added K+K Hotel Maria Theresia to your Saves list
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchberggasse 6-8, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Fantastic location, great service and amazing buffet breakfast! Stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every minute! Decor is slightly dated but overall great experience.
Walking distance to all the main sights but away from the noisy street.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the 6th floor with great views of the city and MQ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    396
    46
    10
    2
See reviews for
232
613
62
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in June 2013. As with many hotels there were positives and negatives about the experience.

The hotel is located right next to the Mariahilferstrasse which is a large shopping street preferred by local Viennese. So it was handy for groceries and shops. Note that the hotel was NOT in the Innerstadt which is where in future, I would want to stay if I visited Vienna again. Although the hotel was only a couple of train stops from the city this was ultimately a bit of a hassle and in my opinion, a hotel in the Innerstadt is preferable.

I purchased a special package deal straight from the hotels own website so got a great price however this did not make up for the inconvenience of not being in the Innerstadt.

Everything that has been said about this hotel’s stunning breakfast buffet is true – it was magnificent. It is also a buffet that other hotels might charge 30 Euros for so this is something to bear in mind when weighing up this property. It really was outstanding.

My first impression of the hotel’s physical appearance is that it looked very dated and tired; it is in need of a renovation. Additionally the hotel has some sound insulation problems. The rooms are NOT soundproofed so you can hear comings and goings in the corridors and if you are a light sleeper this could be an issue. I asked to be moved to a quieter room and was, and had no problems after that.

While in Vienna do take the opportunity to visit the amazing and world renowned cafes in the Innerstadt for coffee and cake. I went to a different cafe every day. My favourites were Cafe Oberlaa and Gerstner. I didn’t bother with the Cafe Sacher as the queues were too long and it looked like a tourist trap. Demel’s was good even if the staff had a bit too much attitude; be aware that there is a large seating area upstairs that is not visible when you walk in. Do take the time to go into Julius Meiner the foodie department store – it was magnificent.

Make sure you visit Schönbrunn Palace. It is breathtakingly beautiful when you first see it - truly magnificent. I arrived at about 11am which was fine. Still plenty of time to see and do everything. Make sure you do the Grand Tour as it is worth the extra money and the Gloriette is a must see – it’s worth the trek to the top of the hill and the view of Vienna from the top of it is fantastic.

To save money buy food at the gourmet supermarkets in the Innerstadt including lunch if you are on the move. The Merkur Hoher Markt in the Innerstadt is particularly impressive round the corner from the Stephansdom.

I am a big fan of Vapiano’s – this is an affordable italian eatery where they make pastas in front of you according to your particular taste. I went to the branch in the Innerstadt and also Mariahilferstrasse and liked both of them.

The hotel (as at the time of my stay in June 2013) really needed a renovation and they also need to address internal sound insulation issues when they renovate. However given the relatively cheap price I paid I had an ok stay, but I would try and find a more centrally located hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelMariaTheresia, Manager at K+K Hotel Maria Theresia, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying in our hotel last summer, and for your recent review.
We are very sorry to hear that we were unable to fulfil all your expectations in all points.
For fairness sake, however, I'd like to remark on some of the points you make which are difficult to relate to.
Our hotel is located in the centre of Vienna, directly in front of the Museum Quarter, a few steps from the Art History Museum and 5 minutes on foot from the Winter Palace.
St. Stephen’s Cathedral can be comfortably reached by tube in 2 stops, or within 15 minutes of pleasant strolling through the Palace Garden and the main pedestrian avenues.
As a private hotel chain, we are continuously in the process of refurbishing the hotels. Last year all rugs in the public rooms and all carpets in the hotels rooms and corridors were changed, new wooden floors were put in the breakfast-room, the mattresses and beddings, cushions and curtains, as well as, the latest TV flat screen in all guest rooms are brand new. The interior design is timeless, with a classical colour scheme. We only use very high quality material throughout the hotel.
Should you decide to visit our beautiful city again, we would be very pleased to be given the opportunity to make a more favourable impression on you. I am at your disposal for any further enquiries.
With kindest regards from Vienna
Gabriele Volsansky / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a very special charm and atmosphere. The location is very convenient, the equipment of the rooms very decent, the staff very friendly. Highly recommended and I would gladly return. The TOP was the breakfast which offers you in a great atmosphere everything you could possibly desire. Very well run city hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Based upon all the awesome reviews, I actually expected something that had a "wow-factor".. Not, not saying this is not a bad hotel, bc it's not. In my opinion, this is stilll a good hotel and a viable choice with coming to Vienna. It's nice. And it's reasonably priced. I would equate it to a Holiday Inn (US) - priced reasonably.

Breakfast Buffet: (European style - Self-Service - eggs, croissants, cereals, meats, cheeses.) Coffee & espresso
Location - 5 minute walk from Museum Quarter.
Underground Access - Close to the "U Volkistheater" metro stop.
Restaurants close by.
On Premesis: Bar
Wifi and Internet access
Comfortable Beds &
Fully equipped bathroom w/ Hairdryer. Tub/Shower Combo & Pedestal Sink
Mini Fridge
Safe in Room
A/C
TV

Would I come back to this hotel again if I were traveling here? Sure, but I might look and see what else is out there at the same price too....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Comfortable, quiet hotel which is on the edge of the Innere Stadt, well placed for the Museums Quartier & the public transport system (U-bahn & tram)(all less than 5 minute walk). At first I was slightly concerted by the amount of graffiti on Kirchberggasse but it’s more urban chic than inner city squalor. We had a good sized room with a comfortable queen sized bed, excellent AC & under floor heating in the en-suite. The staff were helpful (everyone spoke good english) but reserved in that austrian way. The buffet breakfasts were of a good standard with a reasonable selection of chooses.

Room Tip: Room 211 by the stairs was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Just back after 5 nights.
Good points - good helpful pleasant staff. Good location.
Bad points - Hotel and bed rooms need updating.Lack of dining room for evening meal, bar meals only available. Hot breakfast only warm at best never mind hot (big problem) and don't like self service breakfast idea. Lacks many facilities normally associated with supossed 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Look before you buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKHotelMariaTheresia, Manager at K+K Hotel Maria Theresia, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that our hotel has not come up to your expectations in some points.
The K+K Hotel Maria Theresia is an elegant 4-Star Boutique-Hotel with 132 rooms, bar & bistro, wellness-area (with sauna, fitness and massage), business-lounge, internet-corners (with printers, incl. iPad/Phone printer) and meeting/conference facilities.
Our buffet-breakfast offers a big range of high-quality food & beverage products; we serve coffee/tea and other dishes on request.
As a privately owned hotel we are doing ongoing renovation work; for example all carpets in the rooms and floors this winter, quality mattresses last summer, larger flat-screen TV’s and chairs in the rooms this month.
I very much hope you will give us another chance to show you that we at K+K Hotels truly offer quality. To this end please contact me personally when you are next planning to come to Vienna again.
Best regards from Vienna
Gabriele Volsansky / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
597 helpful votes 597 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I chose this hotel mainly because of the Tripadvisor reviews and the fact that their rate included breakfast and was the most reasonable for a good hotel near my preferred area in Vienna. It is very convenient to the subway yet also walking distance to many museums, Hofburg, shopping on Mariahilferstrasse, etc. Easy to reach from Westbahnhof if you arrive by train there as I did.

The room itself was on the smallish side for 2 people, but was very clean, had adequate storage space and a large bathroom. Nothing to make you say "wow" but perfectly nice. The bed was comfortable and there was also free wifi in the room which was great to have. A few quibbles - they need to invest in key cards rather than the awkward system they have now that includes the old-fashioned "drop off your key every time you leave the hotel" policy; the room was uncomfortably warm in the evening and there was no way to get air circulation other than opening the window (which led to street noise); very small and outdated tv that didn't get the best reception; shower did not drain particularly well.

The included breakfast was good and the servers were very friendly and efficient with replenishing supplies. Choice of meats/cheeses/fruits/breads and full English breakfast. Eggs could be ordered on demand as well. There was also a free internet corner off the lobby and a small bar.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay and found it a pleasant place to stay. The room itself was fine but average for this price point, however the location along with the free breakfast and internet definitely added value and pushed it into the "very good" category.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to K+K Hotel Maria Theresia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K+K Hotel Maria Theresia

Address: Kirchberggasse 6-8, Vienna 1070, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#16 Business Hotel in Vienna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — K+K Hotel Maria Theresia 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Bohemian district of Spittelberg – directly in the centre of Vienna and yet still a quiet location – you will find the urbane and intimate K+K Hotel Maria Theresia. Distinguished ambiance, individual service and Austrian hospitality set our luxury hotel in Vienna apart. The exquisite living quarters as well as the fresh and modern atmosphere make your stay at the Vienna K+K Hotel Maria Theresia especially enjoyable. Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public area. Free access to the Internet Lounge (PCs, printer and international newspapers). Free access to the Wellness Area with gym and sauna. Complimentary coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, K&K Management GMBH, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your K+K Hotel Maria Theresia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Hotel Maria Theresia
k Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage K+K Hotel Maria Theresia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.