We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, good value in overpriced Wien, but not a 4-stars” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Attache Hotel Pension

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Attache Hotel Pension to your Saves list
Attache Hotel Pension
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Hauptstrasse 71, Vienna 1040, Austria (Wieden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
Chicago
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old hotel, good value in overpriced Wien, but not a 4-stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Easy to reach by public transportation; only 3-4 stops to downtown.
Extensive breakfast with broad selection of food items and drinks.
Overall good visual impression of the room with some individual touch.
Nice, helpful and knowledgeable front staff with fluent good English.

Rooms are old and have faint and persistent smell of the "antique" shop: why not to use some deodorant? Actually, the smell was coming from carpet only.
BTW, our room was never vacuum cleaned during my 3 nights stay.
Ancient CRT TV (even not a flat panel) had a very poor signal-
it was impossible to watch any program because of noise.
Broken wall outlet and a tangle of extension cords - it's a real hazard.
No AC at all, even in early May it was getting very hot in the afternoon:
fortunately our room was on a north side and looking into garden - so by
opening the window at night we could achieve a comfort level.
The shower glass door is not tightly closed; after every shower we had a lake on a floor.
The towels are paper thin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank igorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not quite worthy of 4 stars, the hotel is somewhat dated. It is however very clean and comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful. The room was a good size with comfortable beds and a decent sized bathroom with shower and bath. A buffet breakfast was included and it was very good with a nice selection of hot and cold items and drinks. The only downside was that when we stayed the weather was warm and there is no air con in the rooms. If you have a street-side room and open the windows at night the noise (people, trams etc) is loud - sleep was a bit hit and miss.

Room Tip: Request a 'quiet room'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeaneAOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

this hotel had good simple rooms, clean and quiet and convenient to my meetings. It was also close enough to the city centre that one could walk to the centre of things in 20 minutes. It was not expensive and they treated me well. it was of a good enough size as was the bathroom, which is often not the case in small european hotels.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back on the first floor (in N. America this would be the second floor) are at groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you ever choose a room, pay extra for an inner court one, especially during summer months. I've stayed in both standard rooms (facing the street) and the inner court ones. Difference is huge. When it's cold, facing street is ok since windows are closed but in summer, the only "quiet" time slot is between midnight and 6 in the morning.
Breakfast is ok but if you stay longer than a day or two, variety is very limited meaning you eat the same thing every day.
Rooms are generally clean but very cheaply furnished and especially bathrooms are quite poor.
I wouldn't recommend in any case unless there's no other alternative.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin03102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Astana, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

The room was decent enough for a (very) short term stay. Good selection of TV channels incl. English ones. The breakfast (included in the price) was adequate and not too skimpy. Overall, however, we found the hotel frightfully overpriced considering: what it looked like inside (decidedly a cheap two star), its confusing labyrinthine layout without signposts, the attitude and "look" of the staff (somewhat devil-may-care dressed-down part-timers), its nondescript location, and its paper-thin walls letting in outside noise.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the internal courtyard has everyone else looking in - privacy was a big concern. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasparus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Early August 2011, we stayed again at Hotel Attaché, because of its convenience: easy access to downtown, close to relatives in the area. This time, we got a room facing the inner courtyard... very pleasant, very quiet. The only trouble was that thought we specified a "double bed" room, it truly was a "double bed" set-up: two single beds shoved together. I am tall and easily, in my sleep, move my legs to the other bed... well, here, that resulted in a gap between the beds because they were not connected. Kind of annoying. Particularly, if you want to become intimate with your better half, that gap between beds really becomes irritating. We heard that the Hotel is catering mainly for business travelers. But for a romantic stay, you better select another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFAvJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The positive - it is convenient, with tram and buses near by, nice neighborhood in the city.
The negative - the buses and trams are right outside your window, and you will hear them all night.

Positive - they have internet access. Negative - it doesn't work in your room. Only the lobby.

They shower has shampoo provided. In a single use paper sachet. Single ply toilet paper. adequate but not great breakfast.

I'd stay again. Because I like the location not the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Austria Trend Hotel Beim Theresianum
Mariahilf
Bella Vienna City Hotel
Bella Vienna City Hotel
#281 of 368 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Ottakring
A&O Wien Stadthalle
A&O Wien Stadthalle
#283 of 368 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#70 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Margareten
The Art Hotel Vienna
The Art Hotel Vienna
#148 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Hotel Kolbeck
#175 of 368 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Attache Hotel Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Attache Hotel Pension

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 71, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Attache Hotel Pension 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Attache Hotel Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Attache Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing