We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ARCOTEL Wimberger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added ARCOTEL Wimberger to your Saves list
ARCOTEL Wimberger
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neubaugurtel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria (Neubau)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were quite pleased with our room - it was clean and comfortable. We also got decent pillows there, for which we were grateful. However, the hotel has its weak points:

(1) Location. This was the choice of Globus, so we had no say in the matter. It wasn't bad (on the west side of the broad boulevard that separates the 7th district from the 15th. But, it is a very long walk to the central part of the city and one really needs to get a 24 hour transit pass if one is staying at the Wimberger. Fortunately, one can get the pass at the front desk for 6.70 euros (currently). We took the subway from Westbahnhof into Stephansplatz and back on our full day in Vienna, but later the #49 tram near the hotel to get to our restaurant that evening.

(2) The breakfast buffet was chaotic and poorly organized, in our view. There was ample selection and the food was ok, but the buffet should be better set up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    179
    75
    21
    21
See reviews for
62
161
38
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tipperary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Arcotel Wimberger Vienna for 6 nights. I have to say that I everything about the hotel was first class. Our room was spacious and well equipped. The hotel is bright and airy and the staff were all more than helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a huge choice of foods. The only negative thing I found was that the jaccuzzi was out of order while we were there and we were looking forward to relaxing after long days sightseeing.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard facing room which we found to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at ARCOTEL Wimberger, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We would like to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger and we are glad that you enjoyed our service.
We are very sorry that there were some technical issues with the jaccuzzi during your stay but we hope that we can welcome you again at ARCOTEL Wimberger and that you can also enjoy our jaccuzzi at your next stay.
Kind regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a one night stay in the hotel. The rooms are nice and spacious, but quite basic. The staff are friendly.
Hotel is clean, but requires renovation. Breakfast is extraordinary good.
The hotel is located in a central spot

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Front Office Manager at ARCOTEL Wimberger, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear guest, thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad, that you enjoyed your stay in our ARCOTEL Wimberger. We also wanted to tell you that there will be some renovations within the next weeks. It would be great to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind Regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights in August. Wouldn't rate it four star. We had reserved a double bed room. Luckily we got upgraded to a better room because of unavailability, but the room were only ok for a 4 star hotel. Even though the rooms had air con, the room was still hot. So the staff provided us a fan. Bathroom was good and spacious. Breakfast and wifi is free. Excellent and wide choice in breakfast. The hotel is in a good location,there mite be few "clubs" nearby,but it did not bother us in anyway. Its a 10 - 15 mins walk from the railway station. Limited restaurants and shops near to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Manager at ARCOTEL Wimberger, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very sorry that there were some technical issues with the air condition which we already managed to clearify.
Our hotel is located centrally and in five minutes walking distance to the railway station "Westbahnhof" and Austria´s biggest shopping street "Mariahilferstraße" .
We would like to thank you for your stay at ARCOTEL Wimberger and hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards, your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August 2012. Though we had specially requested for an early check in, we didnt get the room and had to pay extra to get a superior room. The room is a bit hot though the air condition is working. But the hotel staff was kind enough to provide a fan in the room. Moreover, they also provided a baby cot for my son. The breakfast is very good. There was a wide variety of choices. The room is neat and the hotel is close to the station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARCOTELWimbergerWien, Manager at ARCOTEL Wimberger, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear guest, first of all we would like to thank you for your feedback.
Check in is is from 2:00 p.m.. We gladly provide the possibility to check in at a prior time but when we are fully booked on the day before, it might be not possible to get in the room earlier.
We are glad that you enjoyed our service and it would be great to welcome you again at ARCOTEL Wimberger. Your ARCOTEL Wimberger team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are large with good sleeping quality and good furniture, just the carpet is very outdated. Hotel is clean and breakfast is excelent! A lot of variety, good products and a good service.
There is some reviews that say that the hotel is located in bad area. There are a few "clubs" nearby but it doesn't mean that is bad located, I always felt safe and I even walked to the city center at night (took me around 20 minutes). You can also take the metro downtown, city center is only a couple stations away and there is one right across the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The Arcotel is clean, fairly good quality and good for a short stay. WiFi is available but frustratingly slow. Beds v comfortable and bathroom nice. We paid €50 for one night which is well below the going rate so were happy with what we had. Hotel is a 10min walk from the Westbahnhof and area isn't great - bit rundown, some sex shops and girls in windows, however this didn't particularly bother us.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ARCOTEL Wimberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARCOTEL Wimberger

Address: Neubaugurtel 34-36, Vienna 1070, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau , Schottenfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#111 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ARCOTEL Wimberger 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ARCOTEL Wimberger is located in Vienna’s vibrant 7th district and is a charismatic hotel with 225 rooms. A legend in Vienna since 1871 the hotel remains a popular place for celebrities, artists and cosmopolitan types to stay.The hotel’s central location makes it perfect for fans of art and culture as well as those who love to shop. Close by are Vienna’s main shopping boulevard, the Mariahilfer Straße, the Wiener Stadthalle, the city’s major concert venue, and numerous galleries and boutiques. The city’s museum quarter is also just a few minutes away either on foot or by public transport.The hotel has its own restaurant, the Restaurant WIMBERGERs wia z'Haus which serves traditional Viennese dishes and also boasts the most famous brunch anywhere in the city - WIMBERGERs Jazzbrunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your ARCOTEL Wimberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Wimberger Vienna
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ARCOTEL Wimberger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.