We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent front desk service and clean bathrooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Congress Hotel to your Saves list
Congress Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Gurtel 34-36, Vienna 1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent front desk service and clean bathrooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was travelling solo around Europe and stayed at Congress Hotel in Vienna on August 27 and 28. I found the front desk gentlemen very nice and helpful.
The room was reasonable with clean bathroom. Water in shower was scarce. I stayed in the 4th floor at the back and with the windows closed, it was quiet but with the windows open at night I heard people talking full volume.
Weidner Gurtel metro station was just around the corner of the building, takes you to Karlzplat (State Opera House) in 5 minutes (2.10 Euros).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    53
    13
    11
See reviews for
18
42
29
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was clean but very small and uncomfortable because I went on summer and there was no a/c. This place is good only for overnighters. Breakfast is ok--nothing special. Poor wifi connection, can't barely connect at all. No parking and street parking is quite a walk. However accessible to train station for commute if not driving.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
240 hotel reviews
Reviews in 225 cities Reviews in 225 cities
359 helpful votes 359 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Really TA has some bad press and how none can describe this dump as better than awful beggars belief the only mitigating factors are the possibility of cheap prior bookings and e friendly receptionists. The stench in the rooms their sall size, the noise and paper thin walks, the crummy breakfast, the noisy doors , where can I end. Opposite a building site which in 20 years will be Vienna main station, he'll on earth and he nearby restaurants little bet than getting something from supermarket and constructing your own picnic. Not her good point free Internet connection but with just one pillow, har bed, fireworks outside, lift clinging,guests chattering, if you got you for more than 20 euros you have been one

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs cheapness is no saving without some substance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were taking a train from Vienna's Westbahnhoff early in the morning, and the Congress location made it very easy to get to the station with a 3-minute walk. Breakfast was good with a nice variety of foods. Our room was comfortable and roomy enough for 3 adults, and everything was very clean and neat. The wireless internet connection worked fine in our room too. We also appreciated the reasonable rate, especially compared to other more expensive Vienna hotels. The only negative was no air conditioning, but the fan provided in the room helped a lot, so we slept well.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back of the hotel, facing an enclosed courtyard area, so it was quiet for sleepi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel is about 30 minutes from the center of old town Vienna. That is a problem for someone especially the old people...In front of the hotel there is Train station which is under construction. The rooms don't have air conditions... My room was inside of the built and you can see the other room as the oppossite...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We arrved at the hotel in the evening by taxi from the airport.The reception clerk welcommed us nicely and explained to us about the hotel.
We received our room promptly and after receiving our key we went to our room which looked fine.
The only problem was that the window curtain was torn from the curtain rails and we had to improvise by putting a chair against it so it would hold the curtains so that we could have some privacy.
The bathroom was very basic.The next day we had the hotel breakfast which was quite good.
The hotel is next door to the metro line U1 and 3 stops to St.Stephan Square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rooms were clean, comfortable and well heated. There is a TV & safe in the room, along with a table fan (if it gets too warm). The room does not have a kettle (need to request hot water from reception) or iron (need to use the iron in the laundry room). Free wifi is available throughout the hotel. Staff were friendly and very helpful. I booked a single room, but received a free upgrade to a double. Reception was manned 24 hours. The buffet breakfast was basic, but satisfying - consisting of bacon/sausage, eggs, a selection of good breads and cheeses as well as cereal. Hotel location is also good, near an underground and tram station. The city center is only 2 or 3 stops away by underground. There is a decent selection of diners and stores in the vicinity.

Room Tip: The hotel faces a main road and also the construction site of a large, new railway station. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Congress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel

Address: Wiedner Gurtel 34-36, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Congress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Congress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Congress Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.