We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boltzmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boltzmann to your Saves list
Hotel Boltzmann
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boltzmanngasse 8 | 1090 Wien, Vienna 1090, Austria (Formerly Arcotel Boltzmann ) (Alservorstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nice, clean rooms, very helpful staff, excellent breakfast. Good parking. Unfortunately just one old, slow lift for all hotel and very bad service of wi-fi (even it's charged extra).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    49
    37
    5
    5
See reviews for
11
46
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We booked this hotel via expedia.com and we were satisfied, although it is not a 4 stars hotel. But, it was priced right, in a good location, clean and modern. We had no problem walking to the main sights (it takes about 20 minutes). Those who do not like to walk can get to the city centre by tram, since there is a tram station a block away from the hotel. The neighborhood is quiet and safe even for a late night walk
Our room was on the 4th floor and it was quiet (even thought it was overlooking the street) and quite large. Did not try the breakfast since the price was too high. There is a garage as well, but we parked on the street right in front of the hotel (parking on the street is free of charge on weekends).
Overall, a good value and good location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We got our room at a great price, which made our stay better. It was a good spot, short tram ride to the centre of town. Good facilities, clean and comfortable. Would recommend based on our experience, but not sure how expensive it would be without the deal. We didn't get breakfast as it was quite expensive, but overall pretty good

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I recently stayed at the Hotel Boltzmann while attending a conference at the nearby medical school. The hotel is right down the street from the US Embassy. It is small but nice. Depending on what class room you book, it can fairly roomy or pretty tight...regardless the 2 rooms I saw had the same size bed...2 twins put together for a queen size bed. My room was on the 7th floor and it was very quiet and fairly large. My colleague's room, however, on the 4th floor, overlooked the street and it was rather noisy and drafty...we later found out it was because the window in the room was falling out! The elevator is small and fairly slow...take the stairs if you can. The bathrooms are nice and plenty of hot water. No irons in the rooms and when we asked if we could get one, we were told they were not allowed in the rooms and we would have to go to the breakfast room after breakfast time (around noon) and use the maid's! Oh well.... The breakfast was a typical European hotel breakfast...plenty of choices, pastries, bacon, fruit, cold cuts and of course a variety of coffee...an American would be satisfied for sure.

The hotel is a short walk to the trams and at Christmas, you can easly walk to several of the famous Vienna Christmas markets, including the one over at the Rathaus (city hall...the biggest one)

Room Tip: go for an upper floor for a more spacious quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds & Germany
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here again for three nights with a client. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Lovely girl on reception. Had a single room for € 70 with tiny bed and tiny shower cubicle -- though very powerful -- (211) that was pretty noisy as it was next to the lift. Breakfast was fine but at €14 a bit dear. Great for trams to Schottentor and then onto the underground and if you go the other way out of the door and down the Strudlhofstiege you are just about on the D tram route which goes to Schloss Belvedere one way and to the Heurigen in Nussdorf the other. Dined in Gasthaus Wickerl in Porzellangasse and Zur Goldenen Kugel in Lazarettgasse -- both 10 mins walk max

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

The title pretty much says it all. I'm not sure what the complaints are about. We had a nice stay. The only negative was that it may be a bit stuffy if it's really warm but the windows open to let in the breeze so it wasn't a problem (and the street was quiet so you can leave the windows open all day/night). I liked that it was a bit away from the city center so we got a chance to experience a real neighborhood but not too far that you can't walk to the center (only about a 10-15 minute walk). Loved Restaurant Winter near the Vienna General Hospital (great food, staff, and prices!) and the Greek restaurant (huge menu and good prices!) near the Liechtenstein Museum (just behind the hotel--check out the cute "stair" street that leads to the back of the museum). Best sites are the City Center, Schonbrunn Palace (easy to get to via the underground), Stephanplatz, Sisi Museum and the Volks Garden. Didn't get a chance to see the other museums but Liechtenstein was OK (small exhibit but lovely building and gardens). What a beautiful city; have a great visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed three nights at Hotel Boltzmann on hot days in August. The room was comfortable without air conditioning. Hotel staff was helpful, especially the bartender who served up ice for my husband's knee after a day of sightseeing. Breakfast was very good and included two varieties of Kombucha, juices, baked goods, assorted cheeses, meats, breads, yogurt -- and excellent strong coffee. The beds are very firm (that's what I like!). The bath was small, clean, with a nice tub. Our room faced the street, so we had some traffic noise at night. We slept well and enjoyed staying here. Just a little bit away from the center of town. Enjoyed meeting locals at the neighborhood cafe.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boltzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boltzmann

Address: Boltzmanngasse 8 | 1090 Wien, Vienna 1090, Austria (Formerly Arcotel Boltzmann )
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boltzmann 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Boltzmann is a small but beautiful hotel in the heart of the elegant ninth district of Vienna. Behind the unassuming facade, the hotel offers a trendy interior, comfort, amenities and high service levels. It's friendly and relaxed atmosphere is complemented by modern facilities and comforts like flat screen TVs and cable TV, minibar and safe. Throughout the entire hotel and in all guest rooms high speed WIFI is free of charge. Modern and tastefully furnished rooms with air-conditioning, bath or shower / WC, hairdryer, telephone, wireless internet access, safe, flat screens, satellite TV and minibar invite guests to relax. At the bar guests can use a free internet terminal, printing of documents is also possible from there. The perfect start to the day is the hearty buffet breakfast, which can be enjoyed on the bamboo terrace in the summertime. The extensive breakfast buffet is of international standard. For guests arriving by car Hotel Boltzmann offers two solutions: In-house garage parking is available for small to medium sized cars, street parking for large cars. It is easy to feel comfortable in the chic and trendy environment of the hotel. Modern and classic architectural elements form a beautiful harmony. Due to its central, very quiet location in the university district, Hotel Boltzmann offers an ideal starting point for exploring Vienna. Impressive is the turn-of-the-century architecture of Servitenviertel, the Strudlhofstiege (open air staircase), which is situated directly behind the hotel, and a walk to the ring road with all its magnificent buildings takes only a few minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Boltzmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcotel Boltzmann Vienna
Arcotel Boltzmann Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boltzmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.