We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in center of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlight Suiten I Salzgries

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Starlight Suiten I Salzgries to your Saves list
Starlight Suiten I Salzgries
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Salzgries 12, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in center of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

One of the best hotels in big cities I've ever stayed in. The rooms are very clean, spacious en comfortable. The bedroom combined with a separete living room and kitchenette is perfect. Parking garage of the hotel in the street, very friendly staff always willing to give information etc. Breakfast buffet is good and gives a nice start of the day. We booked our rooms through the tour operator and had a very nice deal, paying only 90 euros a night a room, breakfast included. Restaurant Toni is nice to have diner close by to the hotel. The streets are somewhat noisy at night in combination with a warm airco, not the most quiet way to spend the night....But, all in all a great hotel to spend a few days in! Worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    106
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
29
102
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
delhi, india
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

We are a family of five and stayed here last summer. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean. So were the bathrooms. The staff was courteous and helpful. The location is also excellent. All in all, awesome!! Only the laptop internet didnt seem to work, and they were unable to fix it. But then, dont know if the problem was in our laptop or the connection!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

the taxi had a heck of a time trying to find this hotel. it is located on a one way street so we found that the taxi would be circling the block many times to get on the correct road.

all the staff seemed to be in their mid-late twenties, which was nice whan inquiring about restauarants and nightlife. we had a problem with the hot water, they didn't seem to be very helpful or considerate then

the place was very trendy and also very clean. the bathroom was very large and had great lighting. we stayed for three nights and not once did we have hot water for more than five minutes.. that is probably the only reason i wouldn't go back.

we called the front desk inquiring about a bath robe, half an hour later someone showed up at the door with just a towel. there were no face clothes either so i would suggest bringing your own if you need one.

the rooms were very spacious and the bed's extremely comfortable. the television did not offer nay pay per view movies and the only channel in english was CNN. a concern we had with the television was that there was porn on about 5 different channels at all times of the day! we would be flicking through and there it would be every time. we were traveling with two other couples who both had children so they had to keep the remotes hidden during the whole stay.

the breakfast was decent. lotts of option but all the hot food at the buffet was cool to warm in temperature. the coffeee was terrible! luckily we found a starbucks a few blocks down. we found the mini bar to be very over priced so we took a trip up the street to the spar grocery store and stocked up on munchies and drinks ourselves.

the hotel was in a good location as far as sight seeing went and with the underground right near by as well as many tram stops we didn't find it a problem to get around.. well minus the taxi ;)

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colnbrook
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

The hotel receptionist provides a warm welcoming greeting. There is only lift to this 6 level hotel. The room is very spacious for the price you pay, it looks a little bland - but still not bad.
The hotel location is fairly central, within a 10 minute walk you're in the city centre.
However I did have my fair share of issues.
Firstly the bed - the pillows were limp and had very little volume - it was near impossible to sleep.
The shower was okay for about 5 minutes and then for now reason would turn cold.
The weekend I stayed at the hotel - their wi-fi went down - there was nothing the hotel could do to fix the problem - they apologised profusely, and left numerous messages for the wi-fi provider to fix the problem - but nothing happened.
The gym is a little misleading - it is a small room with 2 exercise bikes and 1 rowing machine, there is also a sauna there.
Again - nothing strikingly wrong with the hotel - but a series of issues makes me give the hotel a thumbs down.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The internet service went down and nothing could be done to repair it
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

We (two adults and two older teenage girls) have just had an excellent 4 nights in Vienna staying in two suites at the Starlight Salzgries.

We chose this hotel based upon its position and the reviews on this site and Venere which noted the room size. It is indeed excellently positioned just outside a busy area and within 15 minutes walk of the rest of the Inner Ring.

We were delighted with the hotel staff and with our rooms which were on the second floor facing the street. The suites were as advertised, clean, spacious and with very comfortable beds. The AC worked well and although there was some street noise it was not obtrusive. All the furnishings were in excellent condition and as soon as we requested extra pillows they were provided.
The staff spoke excellent English and were always very helpful and friendly; both on the desk and in the breakfast room.

As others have noted, the included continental breakfast was fine and quite sufficient and, from what we could see, the buffet breakfast was not worth the extra money.

Overall we found the hotel to be just what we needed for a sightseeing trip and very well priced for what was provided in terms of facilities and position. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Liked — the space and the comfortable bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Hotel. I strongly recommend it due to its position-just minutes walk from bus to airport, subway and city center. It is in a quiet spot within a walking distance to everything and its sauna was an oasis for our tiring bodies after a day walking from museum to museum.
Rooms very big with 2 tv sets-drawback here was that it had about 40 German speaking chanels but only CNN and Eurosport in English- very clean and bathroom and showers spotless and running fine. Add to these a very pleasant reception and breakfast staff left nothing more to be asked for.
Will certainly visit again

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

I stayed here together with my spouse for 3 nights. It is in an ideal place, if you would like to enjoy the beautiful city of vienna. Just 10 minutes walking distance to the big stephansdom, and all major sightseeing activities. Also very close to nice restaurants and metro. The room was very big , almost like an appartment, with a small kitchen, a very big bathroom and a living room. Almost not necessary, as we entered the room only in the evening to get sleep. However very clean, kind staff. Breakfast is well. Although in the center of bars and entertainment, quite. We paid 140Euro per night, which I think is fair for a 4-star hotel and a decent stay.

  • Liked — vicinity to the city
  • Disliked — no view from the windows.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlight Suiten I Salzgries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Suiten I Salzgries

Address: Am Salzgries 12, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Vienna
#75 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#84 Family Hotel in Vienna
#113 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Starlight Suiten I Salzgries 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Starlight Suiten I Salzgries reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlight Suiten i Salzgries Hotel Vienna
Starlight Suiten i Salzgries Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlight Suiten I Salzgries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.