We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Vienna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Stadthalle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 370 hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel in Vienna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Perfect hotel, great, friendly staff, very nice nice garden, which is very unusual for a city hotel. Easily reachable by public transport. It is very nicely done. We like the environment friendly attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    162
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
85
274
54
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the good stuff:
1. Fantastic location near westbahnhof, we arrived/left by train and walked with our backpacks and baby in carrier, great local restaurants, supermarket over the road, great tram/ubahn links to central Vienna.
2. It's Eco friendly!
3. Breakfast including soya alternatives was great, claudia provided excellent service.

The not so good:
1. We really like black out curtains, they were a bit see through for us and our daughter was up with the light very early!
2. It was really hot in the room (hotter than outside!) in a stuffy not nice way, obviously this is more of a concern when you have a baby, we were told the heating was on (odd in an eco hotel i think) and to open a window, I have no problem with opening a window but we were then woken even earlier by the noises outside. Not good. I felt the staff were quite sarcastic when we enquired about the room temperatures also.
3. The shower was rubbish! And spurty! And noisy.
4. No plug in sink so couldn't bath the baby (and she was terrified by the noisy spurty shower!)
5. The tv was on standby all the time and the maid left the lights on (its an Eco hotel! Very odd!)

All in all probably better for a couple. Not a good choice for a young family. I love the concept but I found some if the staff got a bit preachy with the Eco friendly stuff which I just found enjoying!

Oh and for the price you think they could clean under the sofa! Yuck!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Dooziedoodle,
Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.com. We appreciate your feedback about your stay.

We are sorry that your room in our passive house did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

The passive house has an automatic airing system which roughly provides the same comfortable temperature in each room. When you stayed with us last week we were having improvement works done on the airing system and it had to remain switched off for a few days. I believe there must have been a misunderstanding when our staff members told you the heating was on, in fact the heating was of course switched off. But the airing system was switched off too due to the improvement works.

Thank you for your comment regarding the standby function of the TV sets. The thing is that the switching on and off the TV devices today consumes more power than letting the device run on standby. This is why some of the modern TV sets do not even have a switch off function. The standby mode however only consumes 1 watt! The lights as well as electricity in the room only work when a keycard is entered into the electricity box. Certain lights are set to switch on when the card is entered into the box, in order to provide light when one enters the room. We only use LED lights in the passive-house so the start up lights only consume 14 watt.

Most of our rooms are equipped with showers. However, we also offer a couple of rooms with a bathtub. We made a note in our system to provide you with a bathtub next time.

We assure you that we will continue to do our best to satisfy our guests’ expectations at any time and we would be very glad to welcome you in our Boutiquehotel during your next journey and convince you of our service!

Best regards,

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We returned here after about nine months and it was like coming back to stay with old friends. The staff are so friendly, and it is genuine friendliness not forced smiles and politeness. The young ladies at the reception desk are always very helpful, and the staff in the breakfast room as well as being friendly are prompt with responding to requests.

Rooms are comfortable, modern, with plenty of power outlets (unlike many hotels I have stayed in elsewhere). The zero-energy balance is highly commendable for its innovations which are unobtrusive yet when you think about it, are very sensible. The hall lights (LEDs) switch on when you approach instead of burning unnecessarily. Room lights are LEDs of the correct colour temperature for comfort ie not that horrible blue tinge so often found. Part of the front street wall is about to be covered with a green garden as an experiment by the local agricultural university to see if this helps stabilise room temperatures at comfortable levels without needing other means of heating and cooling.

Proximity to Westbahnhof is very convenient, and the 49 tram is just round the corner. There is a Billa supermarket across the street.

We hope to return to Vienna in the future and for us there is only one place to stay.

Room Tip: A garden room, at Eu10 extra per night, is better than the rooms facing the street even though Hacke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Last year we stayed at this hotel as it is convently located near Westbahnhof and great public transport into city center.
The rooms are very nice, clean and quiet and ours overlooked the green courtyard which is beautiful. The breakfast ist excellent variety. If i would improve two items that would be to have more service staff during peak breakfast times. Also due to the "green" touch of the hotel, the have no icemaker which is not a problem as it wastes indeed a lot of water.
But a good alternative for that would be to have icecubes in a freezer near the front desk. Thats not a problem to make those yourself and have them ready when a guest needs them.
Other than that a great hotel !

Room Tip: A room to the nice green backyard if you like it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Wolf,
Thank you for your positive review and your suggestions.

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your impressions about your stay with us and would like to inform you that we have ice cubes on request in our freezer at the reception.

We would be very glad to welcome you in our Boutique Hotel during your next trip!

Best regards

Stefania Aloia
Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Quite a nice place to stay. Attentive staff, nice and clean rooms. Breakfast is fine. It is just a few minutes walk from Westbahnhof. You can take a buss from the airport directly to this trainstation. Across the street from the hotel is a medium-sized supermarket. Near the hotel are two ok restaurants. The eco-friendly theme is a nice bonus!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Located on a quiet side street near Westbahnhof, with acces to both metro and regional rail services. This eco-friendly hotel offered a discount to those arriving by rail or bicycle.
The room was well appointed, warm (Dec) and quiet,
Breakfast choices were large.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

There are lots of nice things about this hotel starting with the staff. They are among the most friendly and helpful I have encountered. The rooms are small, very efficient and totally eco- friendly. The room was sparkling clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom is integrated into the bedroom, which may be an issue for some folks. But everything worked well. Th breakfast was incredible. The note is literally a 10 minute walk from the train/subway station, which is a 15 minute ride to the historic center. We really liked this hotel and we are very picky.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet street so I am not sure there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#3 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelsClick so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.