We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Save Saved
You added Boutique Hotel Stadthalle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Stadthalle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 370 hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is simply a wonderful modern boutique hotel which includes a lovely courtyard garden area and outstandingly helpful staff on reception.

Our classic double room was spotlessly clean, had modern furnishings with an extremely comfortable bed and efficient free Wi-Fi. Whilst the room was not overly large, the clever design of the room was able to make the most of the space, thereby making the room size feel more than adequate, with the result that space was certainly not a problem and overall the room had an extremely “nice feel”. Whilst our room was located on the road side, the road is not busy and noise was definitely not an issue (providing one keeps the windows closed).

As we had a car, secure parking was provided and conveniently located virtually directly opposite the hotel at a cost of 14 euros per day.

The hotel (whilst outside the actual city centre) is in an ideal location, being within a 5 minute walk of the Westbahnhof underground rail station, then approximately a 10 minute train trip into the city centre. Trains run every 5 minutes (non - peak period) and every 2 minutes during peak times. The neighbourhood where the hotel is located is extremely safe and also has a Billa Supermarket located opposite and a range of restaurants and cafes near the station area.

The buffet breakfast was very good in terms of the large variety on offer which included the choice of hot and cold dishes, whilst the overall quality of the food could not be faulted.

It is also worth mentioning that at the time of booking, my major concern was that the rooms were not air-conditioned, however, seeing we were visiting in mid - October, we decided to gamble on the weather not being too warm, which fortunately proved to be the case. The lack of air-conditioning (in my opinion) is the only potential negative for this hotel and therefore believe that management should look at addressing this issue, as I certainly would not stay in any European hotel during the warmer months (having been caught out previously) that does not have air-conditioning.

Notwithstanding the above comment in respect of air-conditioning, our stay could not be faulted and based upon the overall quality of the hotel and excellent staff service, believe Boutique Hotel Stadthalle represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefania A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Ms. Bowoodforest,
Thank you for posting your very detailed comments on tripadvisor.com.We are really glad to read that you were satisfied with our service and that you had a nice time in Vienna.

We appreciate your comments regarding the air-condition. If we installed an air-condition, it would be impossible to keep the zero-energy-balance of our hotel. But we are aware that the ventilation leaves room for improvements on very hot summer days. Therefore, we are currently investigating new options to improve the system for next summer.
Please, let us clarify that a parking lot in our garage is available at a cost of €12,00 per day.

We hope we may offer you our hospitality again soon and would be more than happy to assist you personally with your reservation.

Best regards,
Stefania Aloia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    162
    21
    13
    1
See reviews for
85
273
54
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a very, very good hotel. Truly.
Pluses: Clean room and great common areas, comfortably and newly decorated (no tired old upholstered chairs here). Good, solid breakfast. Sweet receptionists, all shifts. Very helpful and patient too.
Possible drawback: Distance from the city. Can't walk it under 45 minutes down crowded streets and while the subway was quick and convenient, it was still another 'step' when you went out. Easy walking distance from the train and subway.
The bathroom was a 'modular' that took up 1/5 of the room and was not too comfortable, though more than adequate. My husband called the shower the 'phone booth' and I called the toilet the 'latrine'. It was like stepping into a closet. Odd, and the plastic walls don't look like they will hold up over time. I guess time will tell. No exhaust fan.
Noisy street late at night and in pre-dawn when grocery store across the street has deliveries. We had a sound machine but had to keep windows open a little for some air, even in October.
Still, we liked the feel of the place very much. It's a conundrum for sure! Worth the rating simply because the people were so nice (which isn't always the case in Vienna for sure!) and because we were comfortable despite the drawbacks.
**If you need to get a taxi and ask reception to order one, specify a NON-SMOKING taxi. Ours was fog-like it was so smoky. Cold out but I had to have windows down. It made for a miserable 35 minute, 40euro drive to airport!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 30bliss,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sorry the style of your bathroom did not meet your expectations. Our hotel offers both, rooms with a modern bathroom integrated in the room and rooms with a classic bathroom located behind an ordinary door that you can close:-). If you send us an email, we will note down in your file that you prefer a classic bathroom for future bookings.

All the bathrooms, modern or classic, have some sort of exhaust fan. In your case it was a room in our passive house. These rooms have an automatic airing system. Fresh air is constantly blown into the room (on the outside of the bathroom modular) while the "used" air is constantly taken from the room (located on the ceiling of the shower and the toilet). This goes without much of a noise, unlike the ordinary exhaust fans where you always get to hear whether it's switched on or not. We would like to apologise for the noise of the supermarket delivery.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the friendliness of our team, which we have already passed on to everyone. We hope we may welcome you again some time and wish you all the best for your future travels!;-)

Claudia Plot, Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a small, well maintained, environmentally friendly "boutique" hotel. Generally friendly staff and within easy walking distance to a very large metro station complex with a multitude of shops. Also reasonably close to restaurants and major shopping areas (again walking). A very small hotel room with an equally small toilet, shower and wash basin area. No bar fridge to keep your own drink in which probably isn't too much of a problem were it not for the totally ineffectual airconditioning!! We stayed during a period when the temperature was high 20s/low30s C which made the room unbearable to sleep in. We also heard a number of other guests complain about this. Open the windows and not much changes temperature wise, except for the outside noise level which is also a problem. The small desk fan was a nice gesture but really of no benefit. Bottom line - a nice small hotel, but really unliveable without any effective aircon in summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Stadthalle1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Prado123,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. We apologise that the temperature in your room was too warm during your stay. The last week of August and the first few days of September were very hot in Vienna and our passive house sometimes had difficulties to provide the ideal temperature in the rooms. This was due to the low level of ground water in our well during this period, which we need to provide a proper temperature in the room. We are aware that the situation was not ideal and we are currently studying improvements for next summer.

Regarding the mini bar we would like to mention that we are a zero-energy-balance hotel and that minibars do not quite fit the concept:-). The fact that we do not have minibars saves 21024kg CO2 per year. Drinks are available at our reception 24-7.

We hope we may welcome you again some other time, so you can check on our improvements:-)

Kind regards,
Claudia Plot - Quality management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a great hotel!

Located conveniently near a major train station and directly opposite a grocery store, this was a great place to stay in Vienna.
A city that is notoriously expensive, this hotel was worth every bit. Yes - its a little bit different, and has some very random features and decorations, but it all comes together very well in a hotel that is working towards zero emissions and being carbon friendly.

From our arrival very late at night, we were greeted by friendly smiles and laid back, helpful attitude. And that same friendly service was there every day of our 5 day stay.

We stayed in the "new" part of the hotel which is designed differently from the "old" part. The room was compact, but functional and the big windows were a real plus.
Decoration was great - nice and fun, without being ugly. Full block out curtains were great!
Beds were super comfy - I slept great every night.

Bathroom is an interesting "pod" in the room. The frosted glass doors mean its not 100% private, but its not see through at all - so don't worry.
The amenities were all good quality and eco-friendly too!

Breakfast is amazing! One of the best breakfasts I've ever seen in a hotel - and a large selection is also organic too! Real teas, home made spreads, fruit, and full continental spread. I really loved getting up for breakfast here.

Hotel is also built around a lovely central courtyard which was nice and cool in summer and stayed open late at night.
Add to that the free wifi and this is an excellent base in Vienna.

Only negatives - the supermarket across the road gets its deliveries early in the morning, so there was a brief period of being woken up by that noise each morning. Not a huge issue.
Only other thing - there is no fridge / mini-bar. Obviously, as an enviro conscious hotel, its makes sense to not do it, but I really like having a fridge to keep a beer in!

Don't waste your money staying in the centre of the old city. Stay here instead - it's great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous (free) breakfast, great rooms, comfy beds, wonderfully helpful staff. The hotel is a short walk from the train station, but taking public transit was easy if you're used to it (from a big city.) The neighborhood around the train station had some nice restaurants and cafes. The grocery store across from the hotel was super convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Vienna is an expensive place for hotels, but this was worth every penny. Gorgeous rooms and the best breakfast we've ever had in a hotel - a selection of teas, fruits, cereals, breads etc all lovely and locally sourced. Normally we stick to B&Bs but this was all the friendly service and lovely food of a B&B but in a city hotel. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Reached Vienna after cycling from Passau and stayed at this hotel. Location is great and staff and facilities great. A bonus was 10% reduction for arriving by bicycle. Security of bicycle very good. The breakfast was excellent, even had real tea insteadf tea bags. Highly recommend.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boutique Hotel Stadthalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Stadthalle

Address: Hackengasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly Minotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Vienna
#3 Business Hotel in Vienna
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel Stadthalle 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A trendsetting combination of sustainability, design, and a touch of luxury: the world’s first hotel with a net zero energy balance is located in the heart of Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Boutique Hotel Stadthalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutiquehotel Stadthalle Hotel Vienna
Boutique Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boutique Hotel Stadthalle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.