We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph to your Saves list
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sieveringerstrasse 4, Vienna 1190, Austria (Dobling)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Messingham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quiet & Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a two night stay as part of a package tour and there was nothing we could complain about. The rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet & well maintained with a nice balcony overlooking pleasant gardens. The bathroom large enough with toiletries & nice fluffy towels.
The hotel has a restaurant which serves very good food with a good choice that will suite most palates. There is of course some nearby restaurants which are easy to walk to so you don't have to eat in the hotel.
As we were on a tour we didn't have to buy breakfast which was a typical continental style. Cheese, Ham, Fruits, cereals, bread, pastries etc' there is scrambled egg & some dodgy looking sausages but no Toaster so I couldn't have my usual scrambled egg on toast! A previous reviewer has said it cost 13 euros for breakfast 8 euros would be better value but you can always go to a café which are plentiful. Staff very helpful & friendly some with excellent English, wish I could speak German as well.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    108
    65
    24
    18
See reviews for
43
84
21
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here for location. If you have no business in 19. district, I don't see how this hotel can convince you. Breakfast is a 13€ rip-off, rooms are not very clean. The good thing is Spar Gourmet is close by so you can get something to eat there. The bar is open every night, and there are restaurants nearby. But you can get much better in Vienna for the same money unless this particular location has unprecedented benefits for you.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I know Vienna very well but this was my first stay here. I had a large clean room at the back (quiet) with a balcony, free internet, a couple of fee drinks from the mini-bar, excellent and copious breakfast. The location was perfect for my purposes, with all kinds of public transportation across the street and around the corner. My only tiny weeny issue was a narrow shower door that I literally had to wriggle through.

Room Tip: I expect the back rooms to be quieter because the main street has a tram line
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sophia Antipolis, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is on the edge of Vienna, towards the wine village of Grinzing. Rooms are small (single bed) but quiet and with good wifi. Breakfast is good. Staff at the reception is welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Google Translation
Sehr geehrte Frau Sophia Antipolis,
wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie sich in unserem Hotel wohlgefühlt haben. Ihr Kompliment leiten wie selbstverständlich an unsere Mitarbeiter weiter. Haben Sie lieben Dank für die sehr gute Bewertung.
Mit den besten Grüßen
Iris Marie Diersch, Ass.Generall Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Tirane, Albania
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Actually i have been here for 3 months last year and I have been very pleased with the service. But this time i cant say the same. i had an accident inside the room at the kitchen area,a considerate piece of wood fall onto my face hurting my nose and eye and when I went to the reception asking for a bandage and ice and told them the damage to my face was because of their shelf, I just saw a surprised face and a low "i'm sorry". I think it would be more human to check if the person is really ok, since her nose is bleeding, maybe she is under shock or something... And the day later at the check out not a word if I was feeling better.... I think that customer care on the human level is more than just offering the ice and the bandage...

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

As usual it was a pleasant stay in a well situated hotel.We enjoyed the good public services (line 38) to the center and the commercli oppurtunities in Oberdoebling!At least i chose the hotel be cause its near to the apartment of m mother and the price was rather opportune.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

nice to read that the public transportation is quite easy to use and of corse than it is a great time near your mom. Thank you very much for your feedback and hopefully see you soon- back in Vienna.
Best regards Iris Marie Diersch, Ass General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Having lived in Vienna and traveled there often, this is our favorite hotel in Vienna for the money. The breakfast is on par with those in five star hotels in this beautiful city. The beds are single beds but with wonderful crisp bedding, beautiful warm comforters, and the environmental control units in the room are great in winter and summer--ask for a room on the inside and you will hear no traffic whatsoever! We stayed there twice in September and had both an inside and outside room. We had the outside room the day we arrived from the US and we were right above the tour buses arriving and departing and that's why we asked for an inside room the night before flying home. Still it wasn't too loud on the outside, just enough that it was memorable. The shower is good and bathroom fine. Each room has a small kitchenette and there is a fine grocery store next door if you are staying a few days. There is a trolley stop on the 38 line just 250 meters away and an S-bahn (fast train) just around the corner. If you want the center of the city--pay top dollar and stay there if you want the best deal for the money, stay here. This hotel is a long but wonderful walk to the wine district of Grinzing which is one of our favorite areas of this beautiful city! In addition, one of the best runs in Vienna is from this hotel up into the hills of the Vienna woods just a few blocks (mile or so) beyond the hotel. Enjoy and remember to take a crisp apple from the reception desk and the fresh cucumber or lemon water in the nice salon room beyond the reception desk.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, Manager at Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear guest,

what a wonderful exlanation about our hotel and the area around.
So thank you very much for your feedback and of corse the reasons you descriped are the best why our longstayguests be here- and stay. If you like come back please do not hesitate to contact our reception concerning a bigger bed. We have different rooms and mybe we will have one available that you have more space and comfort at night. Best regard
Iris Marie Diersch
Ass. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph

Address: Sieveringerstrasse 4, Vienna 1190, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Dobling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#111 Family Hotel in Vienna
#128 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph 4*
Number of rooms: 439
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiser Franz Joseph Vienna
Kaiser Franz Joseph Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.