We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but incompitent lying stuff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vienna Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Vienna Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Vienna Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parkring 12a, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #94 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but incompitent lying stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

we stayed just one night and had no reservation which entitles you to pay almost a double of online prices (we paid 499 euro per room!, and not 280 online rate). At first we asked for a superior room with garden view, which is more expensive but should be more spacious and obviously has a better view over the city park. When we entered the room, it looked like a renovated shoe box that has a small window in the middle and a ceiling that a little higher than 2m! I called the reception and asked to change the room. However, the receptionist told me that all rooms in the hotel have the same size windows and same hight ceilings. After 2 more calls we managed to change the room and the receptionist said that someone was gonna come up right away and help us with the laguagge and show us to the new room, we waited for 15-20 min and no one came! Thus we went downstairs to the reception to ask for the key, which was lying on the reception desk still and the lady was kind of rude! Our other room was a standard one and had a normal sized window and was alright (all this after we'd been told 10 times that all rooms are the same, if of course we dont want to change for a suite!)

Just to double check we went outside and it is clearly visible on the hotel's facade that only 2 rooms have such small windows!

Moreover, while we had a dinner in the hall restaurant, a bag was stolen from a lady dinning 1 table away from us, which doesnt give a plus to the hotel security!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    431
    155
    37
    13
See reviews for
317
321
62
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

First of all: you are met by a very attentive and service minded staff. However, upon our arrival they did not find all our names - so, to some extend, I became quite nervous aolut our reservation, but they found the rest of the party in their system and we all enjoyed our stay, which was as expected.
Rooms old fashioned; be aware, you have to pay for tv (actually, quite expensive, but you will find it on your bill as communication services!?!?
An idea to f & b mgmt: we all were retirees and found your breakfast choice very expensive (bare in mind, we had no company to pay for us) - we enjoyed our breakfasts at some of the most charming Wiener Cafés at much more affordable conditions - may be you should have a similiar breakfast offer for your elder target groups.
Another suggestion is: when trying to take a shower in the mens room in your swimming pool area - it smells awfull, and you will agree that more than plain housekeeping is needed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Very comfortable rooms. Even though the hotel is out of the city, it is right next to a metro stop (which is very easy to take) and thus easy to get to Vienna's sites.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We stayed in the hotel at the end of July with my husband, my sister and little one. The room was in typical Marriott style, clean and ok size and very comfortable bed. Location was great, just across the road from the Stadtpark, short walk to St.Stepen's cathedral and square. Also there is a tram stop just in front of the hotel, so you just can catch a tram to go to downtown. We had a room on the executive floor with the access to the executive lounge which was quite nice. We could go there any time to have a cup of coffee or take a coiple of bottles of juice or water to the room. They serve nice afternoon snacks (pies), hot meal is so so but would recommend going there for breakfast as the choice is limited. It is better to go to the restaurant dowstairs which is given as a choice for breakfast included in the price. But i found the choice and the quality of the food not that great. So if your room is not B&B and you intend paying for the breakfast in the hotel, go somewhere else.

Once we were woken up by some construction work upstairs and after complaining at the reception we had our room service charge removed from our bill which was nice from their side.

The main reason we chose this hotel for our stay in Vienna is that we needed two double beds in the room and not many hotels in Vienna could offer that. So overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would definetely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

Close to attractions, great, helpful staff, nice spa area, even close to the direct train to Schwechat airport. A bit expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

I enjoyed this Marriott very much. The executive lounge was very good and it included free wi-fi in our room, too. The rooms were comfortable and the location was great. Service was outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

The room overlooked Stadt park and was sufficient. Not a big room, but a great bathroom, very clean and plenty of closet space. Parkring restaurant was delicious and the staff very accomodating. Walk right out the door to take the transportation - very easy! Or walk into the heart of Vienna for shopping and/or taking in the museums. Wish we had more time to see everything - a week was too short!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vienna Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vienna Marriott Hotel

Address: Parkring 12a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Vienna
#60 Family Hotel in Vienna
#70 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#83 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vienna Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home. The Vienna Marriott Hotel awaits you with warm Viennese geniality in an inviting and international atmosphere. Being situated in the heart of Vienna, all of the city's major attractions lie within walking distance and can easily be reached by foot. St. Stephen's Cathedral, the State Opera, theaters and numerous of the famous museums reveal themselves while you are strolling the elegant Ring Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Vienna Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Vienna
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vienna Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.