We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best room ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #132 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Great Falls, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best room ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed in the new building in a corner room on the possibly the 3rd floor overlooking the street. This could have easily been a presidential style/wedding suite in many hotels. Top of the line, huge and so beautiful. A sea of windows with the most beautiful drapes. They had great executive services with free breakfast buffet, wine, cappuccino and cake in the middle of the day and all you can drink/eat in the evening......all included! A beautiful pool......A ten block walk to the main center of town. Very safe in the evening. Vienna is extremely clean and low crime. An amazing place to travel to....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    412
    202
    66
    22
See reviews for
176
372
49
268
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The hotel's location is a bit far from the city centre and you should take a taxi to get there. Not a lot of restaurants in the area that are typical Austrian, but we did find a nice one close to the hotel. The hotel had a small menu and was a bit over priced.
We did not like the fact that internet costs .23 Euro cents a minute, and that if you did not belong the the imperial club, a glass a wine was 7,00 Euro each. As other have said in 2010 and to be competitive in global market cetain ammenities should be included. I prefer to spend 50 euro more a night, but not be hassled with loosing time to check with the front desk for everything.

Breakfast was complete and very good, even if they seemed confused as if it was included or not. I had to show my reservation 2 times that indicated that breakfast was included in our room rate, or we would have been charged 27,00 Euro a person for just breakfast.

The rooms are small and we were on the 6th floor and very last room on the that floor room 634. One day our keys did not work and since no phones are located on the floors had to walk down to the front desk to reset the keys. I found that no phone located on the floor and that you need a card to operate the elevator was not safe in case of an emergency.

There is "air conditioning" but the rooms are very hot and windows open on little for security purposes, and are stuffy and a bit musty as well.

Being a 4 star hotel, there were too many carpets and would be much more sanitary if they had hardwood floors or ceramic tiles. They had no original paintings as the hotel had very large prints of Austrain Battles close the restaurant, but looked very cheap. For a hotel of this standard even a copy but an oil painting in common areas would have been much classier.

We were there for a business convention and the hotel was not choosen by our company. Should I organize a convention for my customers I would choose another hotel that is closer to the center, with more professional service that reflects a real 4 star hotel in all ways.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Very nice stay, wonderful room, cleaned and spacious. Amazing bed. We enjoyed the Imperial Club with breakfast and daily snacks. Staff very kind. Hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Nice hotel in a calm area with garden. 20 minutes nice walking into city center,
Very good beds, nice breakfast , but omulette frying in brakfastroom without any ventlation poluted the air every day. Your clothes did smell for many hours.
The system with "imperial club" class seems rather ridiculous. We are in europe in year 2010. Maybe this appeals to some prehistoric wanabees or some russians, but not to modern people of 2010. And the worse, no free wifi - why should we have to pay for internet accees in 2010. wake up. !!, But the hotel have potential if thy make some changes.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel on our vacation, but it seemed like almost everyone else at the hotel was there on business. And you could tell from the hotel services and atmosphere that it was geared more toward business executives with big bank accounts. The hotel itself is beautiful and situated right in front of a beautiful Russian church. The location is also pretty convenient. It's about a block away from the Rennweg S Bahn station, which you can reach directly from the airport with the S7. It's also pretty close to the Belvedere palace. You can walk to it or take the Bahn at the stoplight one stop.

The beds are very comfortable and fluffy, and you get three pillows on your bed. The rooms themselves aren't terribly big. You get a table with one chair, and a desk. The hotel has a restaurant, but the food didn't look very delicious and has weird English translations. The prices are not as bad as I thought they'd be--around 10 Euro, but the desserts cost about the same as a dinner. We didn't end up eating there. The best part of the hotel was the ice machine. It was the only place on our entire 10 day trip where we were able to get ice.

The largest setback of the hotel was that they charged you for everything. Walking around in my jeans made me feel like I was unworthy to be in the expensive hotel. Haha. They do take your luggage up to the room, so you have to tip the bell boy. They have a computerized minibar in the rooms, so don't touch anything in the fridge because it will automatically think you're taking things out. That's what happened to us. Also, they have a LAN cable in the room for internet, but it costs something like 27 cents per minute. You also have to use your key card to activate the elevator, which was a little annoying. The staff spoke English, but they seemed a little colder and more business-like than some of the other hotels we stayed at. Overall, I don't think I'd stay at this hotel again. It was a nice hotel, but you can only enjoy its extras if you're willing to pay through the nose. Also, I would've like to stay near a Bahn station with more lines than just the S Bahn. But if you're a business person with a big expense account, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Reasonably spacious bedrooms, but coffee/tea kettle would be a benefit.
Reception staff very helpful. Recognised at check in that when viewing the passport that it was a birthday treat and sent a complementary gift to the room. Excellent breakfast.
30 minutes stroll to city centre. Great for us but too far out if you dont like walking. Belveder House is just around the corner. Unergroud is easy way to travel in Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

This was the first hotel we stayed at on a four week holiday in Europe and made it a difficult benchmark for later hotels to reach. We had chosen a club room and for a little extra cost, I highly recommend it. The club rooms are in a new building across from the main hotel which you need a security card to enter. Our room was huge, much larger than it looked in the photo with and equally large bathroom. The rooms are clean, comfortable with one of the best beds I slept in on the whole trip. In the club room we received at no additional cost, buffet breakfast daily, afternoon tea and evening drinks all served in the club lounge. In addition we were able to access free internet in the hotel business centre and were provided with fresh fruit and bottled water daily in the room as well as a complimentary mini bar.
The hotel is a reasonable walk to the city centre but there is a tram stop a few minutes walk which runs regularly.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the front desk well manned to deal with the large amount of people passing through the hotel. This was certainly a great experience and a wonderful way to start our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel

Address: Ungargasse 60, Vienna 1030, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in Vienna
#89 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#93 Business Hotel in Vienna
#99 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former military riding school from 1850, the neo-classical Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel is located conveniently to public transportation, the airport and famous attractions. The baroque Belvedere Palace with its impressive Klimt collection is just a short walk away. All guest rooms were renovated in 2013 and feature elegant design details, air-conditioning, high-speed Internet access, a large work space, 24-hour room service, a flat-screen TV and bed dressed with fluffy pillows, down duvets and crisp linens. This hotel offers numerous dining options throughout the day. Enjoy a full American breakfast buffet, sample traditional Austrian dishes and seasonal specialties at the rustic Arsenal; or sip cocktails late into the night at the Lobby Bar. The City Garden is host to the hotel's popular City Barbecue, where diners can enjoy chef favorites, grill on their own or just relax in the lounge. Both business and leisure guests will enjoy the indoor pool with adjacent sunbathing-area and the fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vienna
Vienna Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Riding School Renaissance Vienna Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.