We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice budget hotel, great for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tabor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tabor to your Saves list
Hotel Tabor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taborstrasse 25, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #292 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel, great for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

I travelled here on business in April 2007. The hotel is quite 'worn', but the rooms are clean and well appointed. Good access to the tram, although you can easily walk into the centre in under 15 minutes.

The hotel is good value for business/budget travellers, although if I was to visit for leisure I would probably spend more money and upgrade to a higher star hotel.

The surrounding area is quiet at night, so no worries getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    51
    68
    29
    20
See reviews for
30
53
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gavle, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in june 2010 for a work/pleasure trip with 8 colleauges.
Room was surprisingly large as was the bathroom. Beds were ok.
Breakfast was good for this parts of the world.
Location was also good. 10 minutes walk to Schwedenplatz and the "Bermuda triangle" and there is shops, U-bahn and some restaurants nearby.
Cant really judge the price vs value as i dont know what we payed but after checking rates online i guess its quite good.
Reception was very friendly as they helped us arrange taxis, tours and lunches with great success.
The hotel is perfectly allright for its three stars and for anyone who needs fair priced accomodation that can accept less than perfect wallpaper!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My booking was made via a conference booking scheme, but the rate was still a bit high for what we got. The rooms were certainly functional but the décor was tired and very dated and still featured an ashtray despite the hotel being "smoke-free". The bathroom was fine apart from the very dim lighting. The bed was very comfortable but the room was ridiculously stuffy, even with the window open, but, although the street was noisy, my earplugs meant this was not a problem. The breakfast was ok, a typical continental affair, the only hot food being boiled eggs. The breakfast room was even more stuffy than the bedrooms! It must have been around 30 °C. The staff did their job well and responded to a lot of requests but not always with a smile. However, the hotel manager was certainly very bubbly and seemed keen to please. Finally, in this day and age I cannot fathom why hotels cannot provide free wireless internet. It costed €7 for one day or €10 for the week. Opting for the latter, I found the signal to be very poor. The connection was slow and periodically disconnected. Not what you want when you're trying to check in for your flight online. All in all it wasn't that bad, but I would consider going back again if they got aircon in the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Tabor for 3 nights in early August. Our room was overlooking Tabor Stasse which was noisy from 5 AM to 2 AM with street cars, traffic and shouting people. With no air conditioning, the only way the room was bearable was to leave the one window open all night. While the location is good, if you can't get any sleep you don't feel like doing much during the day. The only way I would consider staying at this hotel in the future would be during the cool part of the year and if I were guaranteed a room overlooking the interior alley/court or the side street.

Stayed August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed five nights at the Hotel Tabor and were pleased by our experience. Yes, the decor is outdated and there is no air conditioning (as advertized). We wanted a place to sleep with breakfast included, and this hotel was ideal for us. We walked everywhere, and this hotel was only 10 minutes from the main plaza by foot. Also, it is a 20 minute walk to the train station that serves the airport (the CAT train) so we were able to buy 10 euro tickets to get to our flights, rather than take an expensive taxi. The hotel is close enough to the main tourist attractions that we went back around 4pm each day for a siesta before heading out for dinner and evening sightseeing. The breakfasts had ample choices (fruit, rolls, cereal, juices, cold cuts, cheese, coffee). We did not pay for internet at the hotel, as there was a shop down the Taborstrasse that charged one euro for thirty minutes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

My husband, mother and were to stay here for 2 nights.

I ended up hating Vienna (albeit unfairly) because of this hotel.

I don't mind paying for the internet, even expensive as it was, even when they say I will have 70% signal rate. My signal rate of 70% was only if I sat in the bathroom. To be fair there was a decent bar downstairs where there were no problems with the signal, but this is the only compliment I give this place (along with the Ibuffet breakfast which was pretty good with lots of choices). We left a day early because I hated it.

As trivial as this may be my bigger disappointment was that in this day and age that a hotel (no matter the age) can be renovated, but there are no power points in the room. The only power point was for the TV and one in the bathroom. I could not charge my phone or laptop or anything else unless I did everything in the bathroom.

There was no air con, the room got the afternoon sun and you had to open all of the windows as it was stifling.

Renovation has been minimal, it is musty the carpets are old and the cupboards in the room were creepy.

It didn't help when a group of 40 Spanish teenagers turned up to stay at the hotel, the noise was unbearable.

The staff weren't rude, but they weren't friendly. Everything was matter of fact.

Never again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

First of all, I and colleagues went to this hotel as it was recommended by the travel agency responsible for the arrangements of the Conference we attended. As other meetings, we thought that the price charged was a special tariff but no, we paid almost more 80,50 € per/night.
Despite the high price charged, I may say that the hotel was awful:
Room:
- the face towels and Body&Hair shower gel in the bathroom were inexistent;
- no air conditioning. We had to open the window and the street was noisy;
- The carpet was too old;
General Services:
- the breakfast had the minimum; Sometimes the bread was from the day before; the place was terrible;
- the staff was really antipathetic and sometimes very rude;
- Internet is not for free and you have to pay a lot. In the rooms the signal is very low.

General appreciation: We were extremely disappointed with this hotel and especially after the price charged per night.

The only advantage is the location.

If you want my advice, don’t go there. Try to find another hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tabor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tabor

Address: Taborstrasse 25, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tabor 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tabor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabor Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tabor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.