We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Hesitate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Graben Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Graben Hotel to your Saves list
Graben Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't Hesitate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just before I left the UK I unfortunately read some reviews which said the Graben was 'terrible'. The people who wrote those reviews should be ashamed of themselves. The Graben is a delightful, small, old, but beautifully clean hotel in a perfect location only yards from the UBahn of Stephensplatz and within 10 minutes walking distance of all the sights. My room was spotlessly clean and comfortably air conditioned. The staff (especially Georg) at the desk and in the restaurant could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. The desk staff will book any excursions you wish to go on and will ensure you have the correct ticket for your excursions. For the money I paid, I submit that the Graben was excellent value. The Graben has a wonderful vintage atmosphere about it in modern clean surroundings. Please pay no attention to the really bad reviews they may put you off staying at a delightful hotel. I would most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your really kind review!

Because of guest like you we love our job!

We are delighted to hear that you appreciated your stay at Graben Hotel and especially our customer service. We always try to do our best to satisfy all guest requests and are very pleased that you spend some pleasant days with us.

Thank you again for posting your feedback at TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you soon again in Vienna.

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    193
    52
    24
    20
See reviews for
60
142
62
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a week in the Graben Hotel. Our hotel room was a good size, nicely appointed and so quiet,even though we fronted onto the street. It was air conditioned but also had windows that opened. The housekeeping staff were fast and efficient.
The breakfasts were excellent, lots of choice and the ladies who served us were so friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel could not be better. It is right in the middle of the city and close to so many places of interest.
The reception staff were also very helpful. My husband needed a doctor and one was called straight away, even though it was late evening. The doctor was there in within half an hour and a member of the reception staff went out straight away for the prescription and brought it to our room. What great service.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Vienna and we will stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor which was also a non smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guests! Thank you for your nice words regarding you stay at our Graben Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us even in the case that you needed a doctor. We will pass on your kind words to our team and are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in our Graben Hotel. Your Kremslehner family and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We couldn't fault the staff or the location of this excellent small hotel. Like a lot of European hotels, it didn't have in-room tea & coffee making facilities, but the staff were always very happy to help satisfy our needs in that direction. The restaurant was perfect for those times when we were too tired to go out. On the other hand, there was an amazing range of restaurants within a few steps of the hotel door ! As for the other attractions, so many within walking distance, and we found the underground rail system remarkably easy to use.
Very easy & pleasant to spend a week or so in the Graben Hotel, Vienna.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest Margaret C,

thank you for your nice review, we really appreciate it!
Especially for mentioning our great customer service. Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very centrally located to the Opera House, Museums, Churches, shopping and excellent restaurants. Its a very romantic hotel on a very European street. Truly enjoyed the stay as the staff was wonderful(Thank you Vanessa) and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. Coffee as strong as I like it. Thank you b'fast ladies for accommodating my early coffee cravings.
Loved that we could walk everywhere and return to our room as easily, as everything was walking distance. Decided to travel to Salzburg for the day and the hotel arranged a nice small van with just 7 people to take us through some of the most beautiful lake side towns into Salzburg. Mike the tour guide was so knowledgeable and friendly. Nice size room, quiet and clean. Thank you for the AC in the 90 degree heat. Wein was charming. Tip-carry water but the fountain water is delicious-sweet almost. Skip on the bottle water. Eat pasteries, suasages and visit Demel and graze and indulge in the yummies. if you like perfume as I do lots of little boutiques around the hotel. Wonderful location right next to Trzesniewski, Albertina, Stephansdom all the must see/do places. Recommend. No complains.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your very nice review about our Graben Hotel. We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay at Vienna, especially in our Graben Hotel which you would recommend to everybody!

Thank you also for complimenting our friendly staff, we will pass your nice words on to them. And thank you for mentioning our great breakfast buffet. Again: thank you – for everything! Please come back soon. We would be very happy to welcome you again in our Graben Hotel!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is real in the hart of Vienna. You can go anywer you want on foot or with metro or tram! The breakfast was very good and the Italian restoran it was the same. The rooms it was quite larg and very clean. Generally a pretty good hotel at a good price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest Athanasios,

thank you for your really nice feedback.

We are delighted to hear, that you enjoyed your stay at our Graben Hotel, especially the central location of our Hotel, our rooms, the great breakfast buffet and our Ristorante Settimo Cielo under Vienna’s roofs.

Again, thank you for posting your feedback!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Graben at the end of May 2013 for 8 nights. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and nothing too much trouble. I found the hotel very clean and as for its location, it could not have been better. Central to sightseeing and entertainment. It was located within a very short walk to the Opera House, Imperial Palace and St Stephens amongst many other sights. It was also very close to transport links for trams and buses. Whilst shopping is not my favourite pastime, the location for those who do enjoy it, was very good. For a nice change whilst staying at hotels, I found this hotel very quiet at night and was not disturbed by doors banging or people talking in the corridors. For anyone travelling to Vienna I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Maria 186229,

thank you so much for taking the time to write your very kind review about our Graben Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the central location and the services provided by our staff.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again with us.

Best regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have stayed at the hotel last weekend. The stuff at the front desk were very helpful as well as the ladies who served the breakfast. The breakfast was great. We would like to mention the porter guy Edwin Castillo who was very helpful, nice and ready to help when ever you needed something. The room was a bit tiny but very clean. You can not bit the location of this Hotel, just around the corner of Graben and St, Stephan. Perfect choice for a short stint in Vienna.
We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Graben Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest Amit2506,

thank you so much for your very nice review.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Graben Hotel and we would be really very happy to welcome you again, next time you come to Vienna. Thank you again!

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Graben Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Graben Hotel

Address: Dorotheergasse 3 | 1010 Wien, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#79 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#105 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Graben Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Graben Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graben Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Graben Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.