We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - excellent staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinz Eugen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Prinz Eugen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Prinz Eugen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Gurtel 14, Vienna A-1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 369 hotels in Vienna
Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location - excellent staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked this hotel through British Airways when arranging a flight.

The reasons for doing so were the location of this hotel close to the centre of the city and the facilities we expect of a 4 star hotel.

There is a breakfast room but no dining room. But, as there are plenty of local restaurants and cafes this presents little problem.

The bedroom was a good size and the on-suite bathroom was (mostly) clean. The shower is in the bath and there is no bidet.

The rooms facing the front of the hotel have small balconies, but the Wiedner Gurtel road is often quite busy and the view is of a major construction project (the new main railway station for Vienna). So, unless you are oblivious to road noise and dust, a balcony is not a major consideration. The sound-proofing of the French widows is very good and our sleep was not disturbed by any noise from the outside. Enthusiastic love-making from the room on the floor above was very audible, however.

This hotel is ideally situated for a visit to the city.

The Sudtiroler Platz Ubahn on the U1 line is a couple of blocks away. Buses and trams pass by. The Belvedere Palace is on the doorstep. The Schweizergarten and the Arsenal with its Heeresgeschichtliches Museum (the Austrian equivalent of the Imperial War Museum) is over the road.

The city centre is a 15 minute downhill stroll.

The hotel is located in a residential area.

There are plenty of cafes and restaurants close to the hotel, which is necessary as the hotel does not have a restaurant, and only serves breakfast. The hotel has a small bar, with a very knowledgeable barman, Stephen, who helpfully suggested things to do and see.

There are lots of shops nearby to cater for the needs of the residents of the apartment blocks, including small supermarkets. For those wanting late night entertainment, there is the Piccolo Bar a few doors along Wiedner Gurtel from the hotel entrance. It is apparently open between 2000hrs to 0500hrs, and its website suggests the ambience and the entertainment provided will not suit all tastes!

There is splendid traditional restaurant, Sperl, which is a couple of minutes walk away, and is mostly patronised by locals. Sperl is like one of the heuriger inns of Grinzing transplanted to the city. The courtyard dining area has vines and 150 years of history. The beef tartare there is really excellent. All the dishes are large and filling, so we found that one course was enough for supper. We found it to be excellent value, friendly and authentic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    217
    78
    14
    9
See reviews for
36
180
30
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iasi, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although located very near to Central Station construction site, the Prinz Eugen Hotel has some very strong points when choosing:
- very close (2-3 min) to Belvedere Palace
- very close means of transportation (tram, train, subway)
- friendly and professional staff
- a few local restaurants nearby
- clean rooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location of the hotel doesn't look great, but it is about 5 minutes walk to Sudtiroler Platz on the U1 metro line, opposite a rail way station and about 5 minutes walk from the front gardens of Belevedere Palace. There are a few restaurants near by.
The rooms were clean, basic but comfortable. Our bedroom faced the main road but traffic could not be heard as there were two doors to the balcony. Also, we had a bath tub as well as shower in our bathroom but another member of our party in the next room only had a shower.
The Buffet breakfast included continental breakfast foods, some warm foods, fruit and cakes - it seemed to be the same selection on the two days we were there.
The staff were very helpful, answering all our questions and gave recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and polite. Room exceeded my expectations, I had amazing view of Vienna skyline. Very comfortable bed which was single however not small single bed but single and half bed. Super clean bathroom. Great location close to metro station and train station. Both receptionists spoke fluent English and were very helpful.

I would only recommend maybe bigger variety of food for breakfast, more veggies and fruits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor and with a city view. The skyline of Vienna at night is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are so many things to praise about this hotel. We stayed at there during our four day stay in Vienna and were very happy with our stay. The rooms were very clean and even though it was facing a busy street, we still slept very well because the windows were soundproof. The nearest subway station is a four minute walk away (The Vienna subway is also very efficient). This station is called Sudtirroler Platz and is 2 stations away from Karlsplatz and 3 from the center of the old town. We also loved the breakfast and the coffee was very good. On our last day, we were taking the plane at 7 am and the staff made us a lunch bag for our journey. One last word concerning the staff at the entrance: they were very helpful and polite. We will most definitely be back. Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friend and I chose a double room rather than two single rooms (which we would have preferred) because our travel agent said both types of rooms charge the same. We did not want to pay double just to have a bit more privacy. As it turned out, we realized why the rates for both single and double rooms were the same - the "double room" was simply a small single room with two single beds crammed into it. The room was pretty disappointing - with just two beds, two bedside tables and one table on which the 18-inch old-style TV set was placed. There was very little space between the few pieces of furniture, and we could only put our suitcases beside our own beds. Besides a few towels and some soap liquid, nothing else was provided. The toilet was just as small, and of course there was no bathtub. What frustrated us most was the attitude of the staff at the counter. They were impatient, not very helpful, and above all, unwelcoming - when we checked in we felt like we were talking to some officer. Access to Wifi was limited to 30 minutes sharp, and only at the lobby and breakfast area. When 30 minutes is up, you have to go to the counter, get another password and login again. The check-out time is 12:00 sharp, and don't expect leniency there either. My friend and I got locked out as we got back 7 minutes late to claim our luggage. The only thing that went for this place is its proximity to the Belvedere Garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had booked a room from July 19th to 22nd, in this hotel, mainly for its location to the public transport, Sudbanholf. read that it can be noisy because of the work going on to the station. But first disappointment was the room size. its not the size they advertised. and also from outside it doesn't look anything like the picture. It is very convenient for the location but at night very isolated and far from any city activities. when we wanted a bigger room we had to pay extra for the next category room size at the present rate. So all the advantage of early booking was gone.there are many good points of the hotel the girls at the front desk was very helpful, which made our stay a success, the breakfast was nice , and the A.C was working perfectly in this hot summer. so my only request is to state the proper room size, and little upliftment of the hotel, it feels a bit dated

Room Tip: try the courtyard side rooms because of the construction work of the station opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Prinz Eugen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz Eugen

Address: Wiedner Gurtel 14, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#87 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinz Eugen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in Embassy District, opposite city air terminal & 100 meters Sudbahnhof train station, near Belvedere Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Prinz Eugen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinz Eugen Hotel
Prinz Eugen Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinz Eugen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.