We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinz Eugen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Prinz Eugen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Prinz Eugen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Gurtel 14, Vienna A-1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location of the hotel doesn't look great, but it is about 5 minutes walk to Sudtiroler Platz on the U1 metro line, opposite a rail way station and about 5 minutes walk from the front gardens of Belevedere Palace. There are a few restaurants near by.
The rooms were clean, basic but comfortable. Our bedroom faced the main road but traffic could not be heard as there were two doors to the balcony. Also, we had a bath tub as well as shower in our bathroom but another member of our party in the next room only had a shower.
The Buffet breakfast included continental breakfast foods, some warm foods, fruit and cakes - it seemed to be the same selection on the two days we were there.
The staff were very helpful, answering all our questions and gave recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    198
    75
    15
    9
See reviews for
42
194
32
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and polite. Room exceeded my expectations, I had amazing view of Vienna skyline. Very comfortable bed which was single however not small single bed but single and half bed. Super clean bathroom. Great location close to metro station and train station. Both receptionists spoke fluent English and were very helpful.

I would only recommend maybe bigger variety of food for breakfast, more veggies and fruits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor and with a city view. The skyline of Vienna at night is beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

There are so many things to praise about this hotel. We stayed at there during our four day stay in Vienna and were very happy with our stay. The rooms were very clean and even though it was facing a busy street, we still slept very well because the windows were soundproof. The nearest subway station is a four minute walk away (The Vienna subway is also very efficient). This station is called Sudtirroler Platz and is 2 stations away from Karlsplatz and 3 from the center of the old town. We also loved the breakfast and the coffee was very good. On our last day, we were taking the plane at 7 am and the staff made us a lunch bag for our journey. One last word concerning the staff at the entrance: they were very helpful and polite. We will most definitely be back. Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My friend and I chose a double room rather than two single rooms (which we would have preferred) because our travel agent said both types of rooms charge the same. We did not want to pay double just to have a bit more privacy. As it turned out, we realized why the rates for both single and double rooms were the same - the "double room" was simply a small single room with two single beds crammed into it. The room was pretty disappointing - with just two beds, two bedside tables and one table on which the 18-inch old-style TV set was placed. There was very little space between the few pieces of furniture, and we could only put our suitcases beside our own beds. Besides a few towels and some soap liquid, nothing else was provided. The toilet was just as small, and of course there was no bathtub. What frustrated us most was the attitude of the staff at the counter. They were impatient, not very helpful, and above all, unwelcoming - when we checked in we felt like we were talking to some officer. Access to Wifi was limited to 30 minutes sharp, and only at the lobby and breakfast area. When 30 minutes is up, you have to go to the counter, get another password and login again. The check-out time is 12:00 sharp, and don't expect leniency there either. My friend and I got locked out as we got back 7 minutes late to claim our luggage. The only thing that went for this place is its proximity to the Belvedere Garden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had booked a room from July 19th to 22nd, in this hotel, mainly for its location to the public transport, Sudbanholf. read that it can be noisy because of the work going on to the station. But first disappointment was the room size. its not the size they advertised. and also from outside it doesn't look anything like the picture. It is very convenient for the location but at night very isolated and far from any city activities. when we wanted a bigger room we had to pay extra for the next category room size at the present rate. So all the advantage of early booking was gone.there are many good points of the hotel the girls at the front desk was very helpful, which made our stay a success, the breakfast was nice , and the A.C was working perfectly in this hot summer. so my only request is to state the proper room size, and little upliftment of the hotel, it feels a bit dated

Room Tip: try the courtyard side rooms because of the construction work of the station opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 nights, and it was excellent. In my opinion, the price was good, around 65 euros a night (but maybe I'm influenced by a very expensive week in London right before going to Vienna). Location is great: 1 block away from the Belvedere and 3 subway stations from the Historic Centre. Clean and confortable rooms - only downside was the fridge that wasn't working well. Free wifi at the lobby. The best things: the breakfast with 2 kinds of juice, 4 varieties of cereal, more than 10 kinds of tea, 3 breads, 4 kinds of cheese, 6 jams, coffee, milk, eggs, etc; and other great thing is the service and reception. Always kind, friendly and efficient. No complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Got a double room through a last minute deal on Hotwire… fabulous! The hotel is in a great location, walking distance from Sudbanhof (train station), Sudtirolerplatz (subway), several streetcar lines, and Belvedere palace. Grocery store is a three-minute walk, there's a fabulous kebab shop just around the corner at Sudtirolerplatz if you want some delish street meat for dinner. Bed was lovely, breakfast was fabulous!! Set in a beautiful room with endless trays of smoked fish, sliced meats and cheeses, different buns and spreads, bacon, sausages, eggs (both scrambled and hard-boiled), muesli with all the fixings, cereal, yogurt, fruit… lovely tea in sweet white teapots, hot delicious coffee in sparkly silver carafes that you can take to your table… a fantastic way to start the day! The women at the desk were usually very busy but I had endless questions about directions and nearby amenities and they made sure to make time for the annoying Canadian which I thought was very kind. Also had a power adapter for us to borrow as my husband had forgotten the one for his iphone.

Sure, the view of the construction at the train station isn't spectacular, but YOU'RE IN VIENNA. Are you really going to be sitting in your hotel room all day staring out the window?! I certainly hope not. If so, that's a huge waste of an airplane ticket. Stop complaining and go sit in Volksgarten for awhile, you whiners.

We loved our stay here!!! You should stay here too!

Room Tip: Like everyone else said, a room at the front faces construction and a busy street. But like I said a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Mariella Thomas, General Manager at Hotel Prinz Eugen, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for having chosen the hotel Prinz Eugen and for your outstanding and detailed review on Tripadvisor.
The team and myself highly appreciate to hear that you and your husband really enjoyed
your stay at our hotel as well as your visit to Vienna. For your next stay, we will offer you a Superior room, facing the inner-courtyard, overlooking Vienna.
Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future reservation.
We very much look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel and remain,
with best regards, Mariella Thomas and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Prinz Eugen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz Eugen

Address: Wiedner Gurtel 14, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#126 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinz Eugen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in Embassy District, opposite city air terminal & 100 meters Sudbahnhof train station, near Belvedere Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Prinz Eugen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinz Eugen Hotel
Prinz Eugen Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinz Eugen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.