We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Prinz Eugen

Save Saved
You added Hotel Prinz Eugen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Prinz Eugen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiedner Gurtel 14, Vienna A-1040, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 370 hotels in Vienna
Galati, Romania
1 review
“exellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

a very good hotel, 2 minutes walk to the Belvedere Palace, exelente service, very friendly staff, special thanks to Karl. Clean rooms with good sound isolation

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    217
    78
    14
    9
See reviews for
36
180
30
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Went with three friends celebrating a birthday hotel was close to metro & not far walking to different places very close to the Belvedere , yes there is building work going on over the road but didn't bother us & we didn't hear anything .
The rooms were clean & spacious , breakfast was amazing very good buffet lots to choose from . Reception very helpful , had a lovely stay no problems .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Had the feeling of really being in Austria: classic lobby. Outside horrible (grey), needing some paining and acrross the street there is a hughe constructionsite for the new Central station of Vienna. For me very convenient near the temporary Wien Sudbahnhof station from where I was travelling on. I had a single floor on a higher floor with even a nice balcony !. Very near Schonbrunn and streetcar stops all around Don't know if it noisy on lower floors due to heavy traffic. Breakfastbuffet was adequate but not so much more then that. Very reasonable rate, will surely change when the new station will be finished.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel, although across the street from a major construction project, was just great! We were a group of 8 with four rooms and the rates were excellent. Reception staff, bar and cleaning staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfasts are amazing!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms at the back of the hotel. Floors 7 and 8 have great views over the rooftops of Vien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Considering that I was dealing with a 4-stars rated hotel, I have to say that I have been quite disappointed by this hotel. Here are the reasons:

1) Entrance: I cannot even remember the last time I've seen a hotel without automatic doors at it's entrance. It's a little unpleasant when you have to open the door by yourself and also manipulate your luggage at the same time. There is no automatic door or even a doorman or whatsoever to help you. It's shameful for a 4-stars hotel which gets a lot of money for accomodating you;

2) The room: incredibily small. In the past I have stayed in 3-stars hotels with much bigger and comfortable rooms, much bigger bathrooms and much bigger wardrobes in which you could store your clothes and your trolley. The TV-set which was mounted in our room was a CRT one, not a flat one, as I would expect from a 4-stars hotel and it was having a serious crack (I believe somebody dropped it, or so), but the staff of this 4-stars rated hotel did not consider this an important issue, they were not exactly bothered by a problem by which I felt disturbed. They are, probably, used to see damaged things in the rooms of a 4-stars rated hotel. The minifridge was looking like it has been bought from some antiquities shop, but at least it was cooling our beers just well.

3) The Internet connection: the cheapest 24-hour Internet connection available costs a staggering sum of 10 EUR. There were 10 euros paid per day for an internet connection which, for many times, was not even able to load my e-mail or my facebook account. For 300 EUR/month, in my country you get the best out of the best internet connection. Nothing more to be said about this...

4) The staff: unfortunatelly, at least some of them are situated far below the meaning of the word "professional". When I asked for the painfully slow Internet connection problem to be solved, I have been told to call to some phone number. In other words, it was something like the "I don't really care about your Internet problem, solve it yourself." attitude. This is wrong, the customer should always find solutions to his accomodation-related problems by the help from the receptionist, especially when the hotel is a 4-stars rated. Also, the staff at the breakfast is having some problems which I will describe below.

5) The breakfast: the breakfast offer is very limited for a 4-stars hotel. I have stayed in 3-stars hotels which were offering much more various food: 6-7 types of bread, 9-10 types of salami and sausages, 7-8 types of cheese, 7-8 types of yoghurt and so on, and so on, and so on. The offer from the Prinz Eugen Hotel is half of the offer you get in other hotels. Another problem which I got at Prinz Eugen Hotel: one morning I have asked at the breakfast staff for some fried eggs. The first answer was: "We don't have". I was surprised by this and I said: "But you are a 4-stars hotel...". After about 10 minutes, the problem was solved but not exactly in the manner I was expecting: I got some fried eggs which were looking like they were fried by me, not by a professional cooker from a 4-stars hotel. Again, one unpleasant lack of professionalism not to be expected at a 4-star rated hotel.


All in all, it was an unpleasant experience, I will certainly try to avoid this hotel from now on and I would also advise others to avoid it, there is poor quality in exchange for a lot of money.

Room Tip: If you still want to stay at Prinz Eugen hotel, at least choose the rooms on the north side. You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, posted on behalf of Mariella Thomas, Gerneral Manager, Hotel Prinz Eugen at Hotel Prinz Eugen, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Prinz Eugen Hotel. It is our endeavour to satisfy our customers and to meet their expectations and it is regretable that so much seems to have gone wrong during your visit. I can assure you that that is not our normal standard as we regard friendliness and attentiveness to our guests to be our highest priority and the essence of an enjoyable stay.

With regard to the hotel entrance, we are aware of the fact that this may not to be to everyone’s liking, however it is the architecture of the hotel and reflects the period the hotel was built as well as being part of the historic charm of the building. Assistance with baggage is always available upon request.

It is unfortunate that our already extensive breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations as this is something which normally attracts many positive comments. However we will not be topping up our selection to offer “6-7 types of bread, 9-10 types of salami and sausages, 7-8 types of cheese, 7-8 types of yoghurt and so on, and so on, and so on.”

Constructive feedback from our guests is always appreciated and we (sincerely ?) regret that your stay fell short of the standard you were expecting.

Yours sincerely,
Mariella Thomas, General Manager, Hotel Prinz Eugen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linesville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Wife and I spent three nights at the Prinz Eugen in Vienna. We chose the superior room facing the courtyard, which offers a moderate view of the city north from the Sudbahnhof area. It's a short walk from the underground, as well as some S bahn stations. It is also a short walk from the Belvedere area.

The room was clean and spacious, the shower clean and roomy as well. Room was well taken care of every day. The included breakfast was nice, convenient, and well presented and prepared. The desk staff is helpful with directions and other travel assistance. If there's rain in the picture, they have loaner umbrellas, which is a huge plus.

The only very small drawback is the minuscule size of the lifts- barely room for two and luggage. But, if this is the only thing I could find even remotely wrong, that should not deter you from staying here. I strongly recommend this facility.

Room Tip: Construction continues on the new Sudbahnhof, so spend an extra fewdollars and take the courtyard-fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed at the Prinz Eugen for 5 days for a conference in Vienna. Overall it was quite good, and in terms of costs it was considerably cheaper than the hotels recommended by the conference organizers.

The good: price, location, cleanliness, complimentary breakfast

The bad: TV, wifi

Prinz Eugen is one of the cheaper hotels in Vienna and great for those who don't need all the bells and whistles of the Hilton or Marriott. It's only a 5-10 min walk away from a large U-Bahn subway station (Sudtiroler Platz) which is also connected to the S-Bahn network of trains that will take you to the airport. Coming from the airport it was pretty easy and cheap getting to the hotel. The ride cost less than 5 euros whereas a taxi would cost 40-50. The room was on the small side but quite clean, as was the bathroom. The bed was really firm but I usually prefer firmer beds anyway, but someone else may not find it completely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great. Eggs, sausage, bacon, and a variety of bread, fruits, cheeses, and lots of coffee. It was definitely one of the better free hotel breakfast servings I've seen.

There really wasn't a lot to complain about. The TV was quite old and looked like something from the 1980's. There were only 2 English channels so you are better off finding entertainment elsewhere. The hotel wifi was atrocious, unfortunately. There is free wifi in the lobby but you are only given access one hour at a time via passcodes. After an hour you will have to speak to reception again to get on again. In-room wifi is available for something like 9 euros per 24 hrs but DO NOT GET THIS. The signal was almost unusable. It took me 50 minutes, I kid you not, to check in for my flight on my ipad, and this is using the low-bandwidth mobile website. You are much better off just going downstairs to the lobby and get it done there.

Recommended, especially for those traveling without kids.

Room Tip: Choose as high as possible to avoid noise since there is construction on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Prinz Eugen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prinz Eugen

Address: Wiedner Gurtel 14, Vienna A-1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#87 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Prinz Eugen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in Embassy District, opposite city air terminal & 100 meters Sudbahnhof train station, near Belvedere Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Prinz Eugen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinz Eugen Hotel
Prinz Eugen Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Prinz Eugen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.