We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to spend your honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kaiserin Elisabeth to your Saves list
Kaiserin Elisabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Lingfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A great hotel to spend your honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent our honeymoon here and proved to be a great choice. The great thing about this hotel was the gentleman on the desk, who basically acted as tour guides. From giving us tips on great restaurants, to advising on places for us to see. Where local knowledge proved to be a great advantage.
The hotel's location is a real plus, just off the high street, so within easy walk of everything. The breakfast is amazing, nice rooms and when we go back to Vienna we will be going straight back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    141
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
80
187
101
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have visited the Kaiserin Elisabeth a number of times and are surprised by the antiquity of the decor, with high ceilings, hardwood floors, and firm beds.

It was with surprise, I learned the building was 750 years old. In spite of that, with small rooms to the back we would not consider (facing adjacent structural walls, or best a fit for a single person, etc.) we stayed in one of the front rooms overlooking the street, but silent with double pane openable windows and competent air conditioning, it still was an effect of going back in time at least one century.

To top it off, by polite questioning and a smile, the warmth of the Reception staff is classic. They give honest opinions and are ready to help with any problem. Unheard of behavior in contemporary Europe.

Breakfasts are included in most programs, and make it easy to fill up before a busy day, with good food and pastries.

All this within 50-80 yards of the Stephansplatz and Cathedral...

Prices are moderate by current standards, but be careful about getting a room with no view, or a room too small. They are half the price of better rooms, but go for the history. You will love it as we do.

Room Tip: Look for rooms to the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel was great in an absolutely perfect location. The single room was small but perfectly laid out, clean and comfortable. A great value for the money spent. I would stay here again anytime I'm in Vienna. The customer service was also outstanding at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is located in the central part of the 1010 district and is right on the main shopping strip of Vienna. The foyer is majestic and many Viennese celebrities have stayed there. However, the rooms were old and the bed was slanted; hence I was rolling towards one side. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast - excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ideal location, very nice, charming hotel with a very polite and professional service. The hotel all over reflects the quality, elegance and politeness of Austrian mentality and class. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Great place to stay with your child. The hotel personal provided us a very comfortable room with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went for 3 nights to Vienna and booked this hotel as it is in a perfect location ! We had bed and breakfast which was ok but limited choice at breakfast , not what you would expect when paying so much money ..... The hotel is decorated very nice , big rooms with huge bath tub and expensive toiletries !!! the problem was the bed which was so fragile my husband was scared to sleep in bed not to brake so he slept on the floor ... when paying so much money you want to feel safe when sleeping and have a good rest ... Here you are close to everything , Vienna is beautiful , we will return but will stay in a different hotel , that offers better value for money

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location just steps off the main shopping street and by the cathedral. Rooms small, but clean and furnished with everything you need. Extremely quiet. Bed not the most comfortable I have slept in but just about OK. Breakfast buffet is restricted if you compare to the big chain hotels but perfectly adequate. Internet free but so slow it is almost unusable. For the price this is very good value. It has the feel of a friendly well run private family hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#25 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#26 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiserin Elisabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.