We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kaiserin Elisabeth to your Saves list
Kaiserin Elisabeth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great location and breakfast buffet. Service was good and the location is perfect for sightseeing. My room was pretty basic and the maid service was skimpy on shower soap. The front desk had access to excellent symphony and opera tickets. They were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    141
    22
    10
    5
See reviews for
81
187
101
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In late September 2012 we stayed at the Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna for 3 nights, it was the tail end of the peak season, we paid Euro 216 per night (room 204) which included breakfast for 2. The windows open right up and and you can watch the goings on in the street below. Our room was large with high ceilings, bathroom was massive, housekeeping was spotless.
Wifi internet was free and fast. Modern appliances, TV, bar fridge, etc.
The hotel is near the corner of Karntner Strasse which is the main pedestrian shopping mall / promenade. At the back of the hotel is a Billa Supermarket, cafes and restaurants are all around.

Two outstanding features of the Kaiserin are;
1/ The breakfast buffet and the ladies who run it, great selection of hot/cold dishes, fast service, professional and friendly, worth every cent.
2/ The hotel's central location, right in the middle of the old Innerin Stadt (Inner City) just off Stephansplatz, near the Stephansdorm Cathedral. The Cathedral spire is a great reference point to find your way back to the hotel if you get a bit lost, just find a clear view and look up.

The hotel is only a few paces from the Stephansplatz U1/U3 underground rail station and a short walk to the trams. Suggest you also buy a 24 hour ticket for 9 Euros for the Yellow Ring Tram and take advantage of the hop on/off feature to see where all of the museums, galleries, mansions, palaces, theatres, etc, are. Many articles reckon Vienna has the best public transport in the world, we would agree but the plain clothes ticket inspectors are everywhere, buy the right ticket and validate at the gate or vending machine prior to use.

The central location of the hotel also means it is close to some great places to eat and drink.
We liked, 12 Apostle Keller (great wine, ancient underground cellars), Aida Konditorei (sensational cafe, cakes, chocolates), Renthalers Beisl (Traditional Austrian pub), 1516 Brewing Company (fresh beer, modern menu). For a breakfast or lunch meal try the Naschmarkt, this market is above the Kettenbruckengasse U4 station not far away. Don't forget to try a Wurstl Stand in the street, buy a sausage and beer and stand up at the counter with the locals, there are several near the hotel.

One down side of our stay was some bad advice we received from a hotel concierge, we asked for some specific directions and transport advice to a particular outer suburb/town, showed him or 3 day ticket, he advised us "Your ticket is good for everything but the horses!" based on that, we hopped on a outer suburban bus with the wrong ticket, got nabbed by a plain clothes inspector, got fined 100 Euro. Worst thing was the concierge later denied giving us that advice. Once again, beware of the transport inspectors.
Hope this helps.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were staying three days in this small traditional hotel (superior room for EUR 250) and enjoyed every day. Although located in the very center, the spacious room was absolutely quiet, the complimentary continental breakfast was fine (personnel always remembering our special requests); WiFi was rather slow, but at least reliably working; and it was free, what is not frequently found in hotels of this category.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

After not being able to get into our first few choices of hotels, another hotel recommended Kaiserin Elisabeth. It look nice on the website and had mostly favorable reviews. We enjoyed our stay here very much both from the convenience of location, friendliness of staff and comfort of the rooms. We had a very spacious bath and everything was spotless. Breakfast was served in a comfortable room and was quite good. The only problems we encountered were a lot of noise in the early morning hours from our room overlooking the small pedestrian alley (my choice and we liked the room so much we never asked to change) and some difficulty in trying to drive up to the entrance which was located in a pedestrian zone. (yes, you can drive up to the door to unload your luggage!) Suggest if you want a quiet room, ask for an interior view but you will be missing the flavor of Vienna!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth for a short romantic holiday. The hotel is situated at a perfect location, right in the heart of the city center. Very good service, the staff was very attentive. We were there with our own car. The parking garage is a few blocks away, but the hotel took care of bringing our car away and back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Even if also Vienna is undergoing innovations which gradually spoil its charm of taste and culture, there still are occasions to enjoy its traditional “Gemütlichkeit”. One is the hotel Kaiserin Elisabeth, in the very center of the city. Small and cosy, one feels home there, not just a “number”, like in the huge modern resorts. I’ve been going there with my wife since about twenty years, and we think we would eventually quit Vienna if this hotel wouldn’t be there anymore. Amiable and highly professional personnel is always ready to help, supply assistance, and also to entertain with pleasant conversation, if you wish, and solve problems. In other words, really a special place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We enjoyed a spacious, clean, comfortable room with well appointed furnishings. The front desk was helpful and friendly. Certainly the location of this hotel has to be one of the best available, with its central proximity. Our overall experience in staying here four nights was very good and we would indeed stay here again. Kaiserin Elisabeth is an excellent hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#22 Business Hotel in Vienna
#26 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaiserin Elisabeth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.