We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good breakfast, a bit noisy street” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Johann Strauss

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Johann Strauss to your Saves list
Hotel Johann Strauss
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Favoritenstrasse 12 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria (Wieden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Szada, Pest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location, good breakfast, a bit noisy street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel with or 8 years old daughter. Location is perfect, close to Karlsplatz and the Naschmarkt. Our room was spacious and clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only bad surprise was the traffic on the Favoritensrasse during the whole night, which made our sleep a bit hard...
But the grand breakfast in the morning woke us up totally.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for choosing our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As our Hotel is downtown there is some noise during the night as everywhere in a town. We hope you will join us soon again!
Your Kremslehner family and the Johann Strauss team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    115
    40
    8
    1
See reviews for
40
79
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel Johann Strauss is highly recommended for the value.

The room was simply decorated with everything clean, fresh, and in good working order, including the immaculate bathroom. Same as in the lobby, bar, and breakfast area. This isn't a "luxury" property like the Hotel Sacher, but it definitely isn't a roadside property, either.

The location is perfect - it is in a somewhat quiet neigborhood, but within easy walk to the Ringstrasse and just steps away from the U-bahn if you're feeling lazy after a long week of sightseeing.

What really sets Johann Strauss apart is the quality of the staff. They are friendly, caring, and proactive. For example, I was staying here for a week under two different reservations (half work/half pleasure) and they realized to keep me in the same room even before I asked. Like most people in the main areas of Vienna, they spoke nearly perfect English but were also patient with my high-school level German from 10 years ago.

Breakfast, included in the rate, was impressive, and truly featured something for everyone. The best espresso drinks I've ever had from an automated machine, juices, yogurt, cereals, various fruits, hot scrambled eggs, bacon, and sausage, a lovely array of breads, cold meats, cheeses, jams, pickles, tomato & mozzerella ... and always some sweets including Guglhupf.

If I am able to return to Vienna, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Chriskebob!
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay at our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are glad to hear you did enjoy your stay with us and will pass on your kind words to our staff. It is a great pleasure for us to know that our efforts to make our guests feel at home are effective. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Johann Strauss team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff -- particularly Monika (who greeted us at reception upon arrival) -- was very friendly, helpful and efficient. I had a problem with wifi reception in my room, so they immediately switched me to another room where wifi reception was better (some rooms apparently don't get wifi reception as well as others, so if this is important to you -- which it was to me, as a business traveller -- make sure to ask in advance for a room that gets good reception). The hotel staff was always willing to give advice/assistance when asked. Breakfast was great -- there was a little of everything (including warm food -- bacon, eggs, sausages -- and fruits, vegetables, cereals, cheeses, etc.). Good coffee also (espresso/cappuccino, not the type you usually get in hotels for breakfast). The price was very reasonable, and rooms have air conditioning -- MANY hotels in the area, including more expensive ones, don't! Very practical for getting around -- just a few steps away from a U-bahn (subway) station, which can then get you to anywhere in Vienna very quickly (subway trains usually come by every 3-5 minutes). Also very close to the city center by foot. All in all, a very good hotel experience.

Room Tip: If wifi is important, ask for a room that gets good reception. On the 1st floor, rooms closer to 101...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear igal27, thank you very much for taking the time to write this lovely comment about our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are glad to hear that you felt at home at our Hotel and we will pass on your nice words especially to Monika. Thank you for letting us know about the W-LAN - we will check the connection again and we will try to optimize the connection in all our rooms.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again - Your Kremslehner family and the Johann Strauss team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I got what I expected at the Johann Strauss--a basic hotel in an older building in a reasonably convenient neighborhood with helpful staff.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is in an older building and probably the rooms have not been renovated recently or else they went with antique. The hallways do have a stale smell (smoke?), perhaps the carpeting or other fittings were not replaced when the hotel went nonsmoking or perhaps it is mold or other eventual problems.

I agreed to be downgraded. I had booked a double room for single use, thinking I could use the extra rooms for my stay of several nights and with a special that reduced the rate. The staff offered me a corner double, saying it was an upgrade from my single (huh?)--so it overlooked both the main and side street above the bar. The room looked fine, but the location was awful for me, a light sleeper. The only other room they had was a single on the first floor facing the side street, which I took. My friend later took the similarly placed corner on a higher floor and experienced road noise.

As others have mentioned, first floor is very revealing to the people on the sidewalk, so I had to keep my curtains (with interesting holes in them) closed most of the time. With the weak air conditioning turned on (sufficient for the temp), I heard little road noise.

Bed was OK, usual hard. English language TV channels. Sufficient electrical outlets. Frig. Bath was fine. Wifi did not work in my room and was slow in the bar.

Breakfast buffet extensive.

Close to metro station.

Staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Manager at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Metwo 3!
Thank your very much for letting us know about your stay at our Hotel Johann Strauss. We are sorry to hear that you had to change room because of the street noise. All our hotels are located downtown and therefore noise is inevitable. The rooms on our first floor are facing a quiet side street but are (as you mentioned) single rooms. We are very sorry to hear that you could smell smoke - we changed the Hotel into a non-smoking Hotel and at the same time changed all the carpets - so the only response could be that a guest has smoked in your room before for what we want to aplogise.
We are glad to hear that you felt well treated by our staff and that you liked our breakfast buffet.
We would be very glad to welcome you back again in the future.
Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Johann Strauss team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We (me and my sister) stayed here for four days, and found the location ideal to get out and explore the city - there is a U Bahn station almost on the doorstep, otherwise it's a short walk to the city centre and the nearest Citibike station. The breakfast buffet had plenty of different options available and was well stocked despite there being quite a few guests coming and going. Staff were always friendly and helpful. We had a very spacious room on the fourth floor, facing a side street, so very quiet and only a little bit of "noise" in the morning when the horse and traps were heading into the city :-)
All in all we felt very comfortable at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone visiting Vienna for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest Inselaffe 83,

thank you very much for taking the time to send your valuable review about your stay in our Hotel Johann Strauss.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by staff. Looking forward to welcoming you soon back again.

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ptuj, Slovenia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we spend two nights at hotel.Very close to Metro - 40 m, also close to the Stephansplatz - 15 min walk or 2 Metro stations. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. Rooms a little bit out of date but who cares.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest Ondre,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Johann Strauss, especially the location and the service provided by our staff. We would be very happy to welcoming you again next time you visit Vienna.

Kind regards

Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in January 2013 and had the best time!
The main aspect that stood out as being outstanding was the breakfast at the hotel. It was a buffet style. There was lots of choice both hot and cold such as smoked salmon and meats and even champagne!
Our room was spacious, always cleaned properly and had a view over the snowy rooftops of Vienna.
The staff were very helpful and the location was good walking distance to all the hotspots.
Overall adored Vienna, a very romantic city (even at -4C!!) very good value for money and the breakfast was amazing!!
We are both desperate to go back and would 100% stay at the Johann Strauss again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valimatzi, Owner at Hotel Johann Strauss, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest Molly B,

thank you for choosing our Hotel Johann Strauss for you recent stay in Vienna and for the very nice review posted at TripAdvisor!

We are delighted to hear that you loved your stay in our hotel and appreciated the service proposed by our staff.

Thank you again! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards
Eva Kremslehner
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Johann Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Johann Strauss

Address: Favoritenstrasse 12 | 1040 Vienna, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#120 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Johann Strauss 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Johann Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johann Strauss Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Johann Strauss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.