We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel! Will be staying again someday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art Hotel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Art Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
The Art Hotel Vienna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brandmayergasse 7-9, Vienna 1050, Austria (Margareten)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hotel! Will be staying again someday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Found The Art Hotel through livingsocial.com. We got a top floor suite which was brilliant. Room was well heated and even had underfloor heating in the bathroom! The suite was huge with a queen size bed which was very very comfortable indeed and skylights that gave a good view of the skyline. The breakfast was also very good and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that I would say is that if you are on the top floor when the rain is heavy, it makes a very loud sound on the skylight. Not the hotel's fault but worth noting if the weather is bad. I will be staying again!

Room Tip: 7th floor suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    103
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
87
20
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at The Art Hotel for one night on a stopover coming and departing by train. We arrived early to the train station and took a cab to the hotel as it's not right around the corner. When we dropped our bags, the staff were cordial, but not overly friendly and seemed interested in getting us on our way. This was the same at check-out, too. We ventured out on the metro - which is a bit of a walk away. After returning for the day, we got to our room and discovered that the shower was a bit leaky.

The good is that the morning breakfast was really nicely put together, the rooms were updated, it was great to have a computer for guest use in the lobby and the price was reasonable. If we were to have stayed for more than a day, we would probably try to find somewhere with more dining options and attractions nearby. We did not have the same "friendly staff" experience that others did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Booked by agency for Road Scholar. 1 1/2 blocks from bus line, 10 minutes to Opera House. Front desk staff the greatest! Traced our lost luggage, helped with all needs. Cheeerful even when we stressed over lost bags. Quiet location but commerce area nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Great hotel quite,away from the city noise, Very clean,best breakfast, staff always helpful,easy access to the city with bus 69,Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I thought more than a dozen times before booking the hotel, considering the mixed reviews on various sites... but went ahead finally and it was a good decision. It's a small hotel located in a small street. The staff is wonderful. We reached the hotel early morning after an onvernight train ride from Venice. The front desk executive was apologetic that no room was available at that time (9:00 am) and offered to keep our luggage in the cloak room. While we used the restroom in the lobby to freshen up, she made sure she'd called up the cleaning crew to see if something could be arranged quickly... and they did. We got a room within a few minutes and it was a nice start to our stay. The room wasn't big (similar to most European hotels), but the bathroom was quite roomy. The bed was comfortable and we didn't miss the airconditioning as during the afternoons we were mostly outdoors. There's a fan in the room which is good enough. The tram line is 10-minute walk away and there are a couple of good cafes in the square nearby. Overall a very nice stay in a quiet location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Art Hotel is a little way out of the centre, but a bus about two minutes walk from the hotel takes you to the centre or, better still, connects with the U-Bahn, making it a very convenient place to stay. I would describe the hotel as a wee bit spartan, definitely no frills, but colourful, appealing and perfectly comfortable.
Tip for over-60s. Go direct to the hotel's website to book rather than through an online booking agency. They give very good discounts at certain times of year - including spring when Vienna is lovely. If you don't fancy going all the way back into the centre after a long day, there are a couple of decent, basically Italian, restaurants very nearby, but for a real Mom-and-Pop Viennese place frequented mainly by locals try Reinprechtsstuebe about 200 metres from the hotel - just walk across the square to the main street, turn right and keep going. No doubt reception can direct you if necessary. One last tip. Public transport in Vienna is brilliant. It's well worth buying travel cards for use on all public transport from a machine on the nearest U-Bahn station. Our 72-hour card more or less paid for itself by the middle of the second day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

we hadn't written down directions to the hotel and had some difficulty finding the place (looking it up on the internet didn't help because directions were in german), but in fact, this somewhat out-of-the-way hotel turned out to be easily accessible and interesting. a bus takes you to the opera in 10 minutes (no traffic) to 30 minutes (heavy traffic). we made it to the train station in 20 minutes mid-morning. it's in a working class (safe) neighborhood and we found hanging out fascinating. the room was comfortable and the bathroom was large for this type of facility.
breakfast was good and generous and the staff was uniformly helpful.
free wi-fi in the breakfast room and in the lobby, but they charge a 10euro fee (per stay) for in-room internet access, which is a pain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Art Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art Hotel Vienna

Address: Brandmayergasse 7-9, Vienna 1050, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#112 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Art Hotel Vienna 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Hotel Vienna is a modern, innovative hotel with very well trained and experienced operators. Our guests appreciate the very family and informal atmosphere and the attention of our team. We have both standard double or single rooms as well as family rooms, studios with kitchenette and fully equipped apartments. Throughout the house you can see that our hotel is dedicated to the painting. On the floors, rooms and public areas hang pictures of different art forms. From time to time, in the lobby, you can watch austrian students at their work and admire the creation of new works of art. We monthly change the pictures in the breakfast and conference room. Also our garage (with 8 parking sites) was elaborately decorated and can be used for a surcharge. Our 24-hour front desk also manages the on-site bar, can be consumed at the round-the-clock beverages. For the smokers among our guests in our hotel lounge invites a wine cellar. The rich breackfast buffet scores with a wide selection, selected tea specialties and excellent coffee machine. Convince yourself! We look forward to you glad to welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your The Art Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Vienna
Vienna Art Hotel
Golden Tulip Vienna
Vienna Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.