We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the tourist path, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Art Hotel Vienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Art Hotel Vienna to your Saves list
The Art Hotel Vienna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brandmayergasse 7-9, Vienna 1050, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Off the tourist path, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

Booked by agency for Road Scholar. 1 1/2 blocks from bus line, 10 minutes to Opera House. Front desk staff the greatest! Traced our lost luggage, helped with all needs. Cheeerful even when we stressed over lost bags. Quiet location but commerce area nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    94
    25
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
76
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Great hotel quite,away from the city noise, Very clean,best breakfast, staff always helpful,easy access to the city with bus 69,Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I thought more than a dozen times before booking the hotel, considering the mixed reviews on various sites... but went ahead finally and it was a good decision. It's a small hotel located in a small street. The staff is wonderful. We reached the hotel early morning after an onvernight train ride from Venice. The front desk executive was apologetic that no room was available at that time (9:00 am) and offered to keep our luggage in the cloak room. While we used the restroom in the lobby to freshen up, she made sure she'd called up the cleaning crew to see if something could be arranged quickly... and they did. We got a room within a few minutes and it was a nice start to our stay. The room wasn't big (similar to most European hotels), but the bathroom was quite roomy. The bed was comfortable and we didn't miss the airconditioning as during the afternoons we were mostly outdoors. There's a fan in the room which is good enough. The tram line is 10-minute walk away and there are a couple of good cafes in the square nearby. Overall a very nice stay in a quiet location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The Art Hotel is a little way out of the centre, but a bus about two minutes walk from the hotel takes you to the centre or, better still, connects with the U-Bahn, making it a very convenient place to stay. I would describe the hotel as a wee bit spartan, definitely no frills, but colourful, appealing and perfectly comfortable.
Tip for over-60s. Go direct to the hotel's website to book rather than through an online booking agency. They give very good discounts at certain times of year - including spring when Vienna is lovely. If you don't fancy going all the way back into the centre after a long day, there are a couple of decent, basically Italian, restaurants very nearby, but for a real Mom-and-Pop Viennese place frequented mainly by locals try Reinprechtsstuebe about 200 metres from the hotel - just walk across the square to the main street, turn right and keep going. No doubt reception can direct you if necessary. One last tip. Public transport in Vienna is brilliant. It's well worth buying travel cards for use on all public transport from a machine on the nearest U-Bahn station. Our 72-hour card more or less paid for itself by the middle of the second day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

we hadn't written down directions to the hotel and had some difficulty finding the place (looking it up on the internet didn't help because directions were in german), but in fact, this somewhat out-of-the-way hotel turned out to be easily accessible and interesting. a bus takes you to the opera in 10 minutes (no traffic) to 30 minutes (heavy traffic). we made it to the train station in 20 minutes mid-morning. it's in a working class (safe) neighborhood and we found hanging out fascinating. the room was comfortable and the bathroom was large for this type of facility.
breakfast was good and generous and the staff was uniformly helpful.
free wi-fi in the breakfast room and in the lobby, but they charge a 10euro fee (per stay) for in-room internet access, which is a pain.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. Close to the underground, trams and train station. Free Wifi. Breakfast good and rooms clean. No reason not to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the yellow room (bit to bright)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larnaka
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

we booked Art hotel through Booking.com in a very good price range for 4 nights beetwen 27-31/12.

it´s a small hotel located in the city of Vienna not far away from the centre. By bus is aproximately 8-10 minutes to get to the oper station which is the centre.

as far as it concerns the hotel the best thing is the huge room. it is very comfy. about the other facilities it´s just ok with free wi-fi only in the lobby. it is clean and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast is an ordinary one with the same things every day.

around the hotel you could find some decent restaurants and cafe for eating out.

it is near to the bus and the tram station. it doesnt provide a free transportation card like other hotels do but you could get your daily pass from the reception at the price of euro 5.70.

i would recomend this hotel for short stay in the city of Vienna for someone who is looking low budget holidays.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Art Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art Hotel Vienna

Address: Brandmayergasse 7-9, Vienna 1050, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#104 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Art Hotel Vienna 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Art Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Vienna
Vienna Art Hotel
Golden Tulip Vienna
Vienna Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Art Hotel Vienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.