We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“less is more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Allegro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Allegro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matzleinsdorferplatz 1 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria (Formerly Amarante Hotel) (Margareten)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #174 of 368 Hotels in Vienna
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“less is more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We spent 3 nights in the hotel (business trip). it is a nice, clean, comfortable hotel.
The Staff were very kind and helpful.
Good breakfast.
is very wel connected with public transport.l
In Matzleinsdorferplatz you can find all transportation lines and it is very important.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for your positive review here on Tripadvisor. Hope to welcome you "some more" soon here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
26
34
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is not an ideal place to stay at all. The only good thing was the location as it was directly across from a train station that connected by one stop to the central station. The first room we were sent to was boiling hot and the airconditioning was broken. I told the staff and they gave me a new room key to go check for myself rather than checking it for us. We moved our things down to the first floor to a room with one bed instead of a double and king single so we assumed we must have been downgraded. When I asked the girl at reception about the different rooms and asked if they were different prices, she rolled her eyes in front of me and said "no".

Both rooms had scratch marks and paint chips on the walls, The second room we we're put into had a "working aircon" yet we put it on 5 degrees all night and it was just a normal cool temperature. The "sound reducing" windows must have been approved before cars were around as we could not only hear the cars, every horn and frequent sirens go past, but we could even hear the car tyres going over a bump in the road.

I was so happy to only be staying there for two restless nights. On departure it was a new staff member on the desk, unfortunately I didn't get his name but he had long dark hair and was the first very nice staff we encountered. I asked him about the different room sizes compared to what we had booked for and he said "oh you got an upgrade from room 208 to room 107. 107 is the superior room due to its size being bigger". I then explained that we had originally booked and paid for the superior anyway, so if we were upgraded it means we were originally put in a cheaper room. He was apologetic and even offered for us to have breakfast at the buffet before we left. Unfortunately we had an early train we were leaving for but it would have been lovely if the first woman was kind enough to have offered us something like this on our first morning there. Instead we just seemed to be annoying her by having an issue with thinking we weren't getting what we paid for.

I am glad it has only been the one bad experience during our very expensive overseas trip.

Room Tip: If you must stay here I would ask for a top level room to try to escape the loud street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for your critical feedback here on Tripadvisor. Please be aware that all our rooms have noise prevention windows BUT the hotel is located on one of Viennas most important transport hub. As the new owner (Hotel adopted in July 2013) is constantly improving the environment the Hotel will have a fresh new look in the upcoming weeks. We hope to welcome you again here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City and prove all the improvements on your next stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed at allegro for 3 nights. Natalia the receptionist was absolutely wonderful, warm and almost like a family friend. Helped us answer all our questions tirelessly. Excellent breakfast quality, only wish there was some variety. Located perfectly close to the tram station at matzleindorfer plata which is linked to all key places in Vienna center.
All in all we had a pleasurable and memorable experience!!!

Room Tip: Room 214 is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for your positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to welcome you soon again here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel rooms are large and spacious. Quite clean rooms and linen and with the classic feel of the older non-chain hotels. The receptionists are good and quite helpful.
Breakfast is a large spread but limited in the changes. The croissants were the best I've had in a long time. No sliced bread and no toaster. ....
It is located conveniently near the tram and metro stations so going to the city centre is a breeze. Take the upper floor rooms to cut out noise from the traffic. The air conditioning was a let down, and caused lots of tossing and turning in bed!
All in all. .....a decent low cost hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. As the Hotel was adopted in 2013 there are a lot of improvements going on. Hope to welcome you soon in our Hotel Allegro Vienna City, next time in shiny new armour. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel is quite basic and straightforward, and for the low price I paid that's exactly what I expected so it met my expectations. The room was adequately furnished, the bathroom was fine and the staff were polite. The location is excellent too as it's a 1 minute walk from the train/tube station.
If you need a no-frills hotel to accommodate you while you explore the city then this is ideal. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning on spending their days out and about and just needs a place to get a good, quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for your positive review on Tripadvisor. As our improvements continues we hope to welcome you soon again here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City and get a "Beautiful, clean & well-situated" rating. Best regards from Vienna,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Very spacious rooms and extremely well kept. The linen is spotless and white beds are comfortable specially the types to give you a great sleep after a long day of sightseeing. The staff is ever helpful and accommodating happy to help you with a smile. A must stay hotel when travelling with family

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. Hope to welcome you soon again here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is quite simple yet cozy, checking-in was a breeze. Our room is spacious, clean & Wifi is strong. Upon our arrival, there was a small problem because there is no hot water available, I guess there was an electrical problem or something but the next day it is already fixed. Another thing that I loved on this hotel is their breakfast buffet. Food is overflowing and there is plenty to choose from, their sausage is the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,
vielen Dank für Ihre positive Bewertung auf Tripadvisor. Wir freuen uns, Sie recht bald wieder bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.
Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro

Address: Matzleinsdorferplatz 1 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria (Formerly Amarante Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#89 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allegro 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Austrian Hospitality at its best in this ideally situated eco-friendly hotel in Vienna. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City features 72 extra SPACIOUS, lovingly appointed rooms with free High-Speed W-LAN for multiple devices. All rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower/bath, toilet (mostly separate), flat-screen satellite TV and aircondition. In addition to the spacious rooms with free W-LAN Hotel Allegro offers spacious apartments, some of which are two-storied with terrace and a wonderful view out across Vienna. The breakfast is prepared with love to the local organic fresh products, freshly brewed espresso, and great variety of pastry and other delicassies. Not to forget a selection of healthy specialities. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City is the first hotel in Vienna to use eco-friendly Öko-Strom electricity in the hotel. This is one of the few measuirements the hotel has taken in order to be more sustainable.Families love the hotel due to the extra spacious rooms and kids-friendly staff. We plan to add some toys in the rooms in the near future so come back and see. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City offers naturally a 24-hour friendly service and strives to showcase real authentic Austrian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Allegro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.