We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matzleinsdorferplatz 1 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria (Formerly Amarante Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
1 review
“Great times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I booked this hotel because it had a very good offer for 2 nights including breakfast and vienna card and as the price for an extra night was still good we booked for a total of three nights. It sounded too good to be true but it actually was! I was there with my partner and my 18 months old twins, we had a very spacious room that they LOVED. They could run around like they would at home. We asked for cots and despite the fact that we had only one for the first night, we had a very comfy single bed in our room as well so it worked perfectly anyway. For the other two nights the staff organised the second cot too. Breakfast was sooooo good even for myself as I am not a breakfast person really. The room faced a big intersection and it was a bit loud with windows open but my kids loved to look out the window as there was so much too see all the time. The hotel is very well connected with public transport.
We really enjoyed our stay and we would definetely stay at the Hotel Allegro again.
MB

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,
many thanks for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. Hope to welcome you soon again here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City, for more great times.
In the meantime, best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    26
    9
    2
See reviews for
33
48
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fair prices, excellent location next to train station but without any disturbance because of the trains, 4 stops from Vienna centre, excellent personnel, especially the Greek-Brazilian receptionist with the black hair, comfortable rooms, very clean with terrific breakfast. I strongly recommend it for everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Foreign L,

wow, just wow! Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We will forward your compliments to our receptionist. Great that you also enjoyed our very large rooms. Hope to welcome you soon here at Hotel Allegro Vienna City. Best regards from VIenna, Team Allegro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is in perfect location if your arrive by train to wein meilding. You only have to catch the S train back one station and the hotel is right across the street. If you have a eurail you ride the S train for free which is awesome as well. The hotel rooms were a great size and we had great internet connection. The only issue we had was that our shower flooded so we had to change rooms and there wasn't really nice hot water in either shower. The staff were really nice and gave us great directions to the city center. We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinas251, Director of Sales at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear SK,

many thanks for your wonderful review. Hope to welcome you again soon at Hotel Allegro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I had originally planned to spend all 4 nights at this hotel but before I could confirm my booking , the hotel was already fully booked . I am glad that I did not stay at the hotel .However I spent my last night on my return trip to South Africa .Although the hotel is across from the metro station , it is not within easy access to the Vienna central station . I did not notice any trams close by . The hotel is clean and tidy but you feel as though you are entering a dormitory . it is not located in the best part of Vienna if one looks at all the graffiti outside . Rooms are large - we got no coffee / tea or any toiletries and fortunately I carried my own soap . There was no bar fridge and the safe did not lock properly to my shock . Although we got a warm welcome , the rooms were a disappointment . My son became ill and we tried to access his room using the key given to us by the hotel at 11.50
am . However we were barred from entering the room as the key was disarmed . My daughter and I had to plead with the receptionist to l grant us access to his room . Both my husband and I are lawyers which made us feel extremely upset .. What is worse is that we had prepaid for the room in full through our travel agent . I am unsure if this hotel has problems with guests
checking out but a nice touch might be to get some information about your guests before you start classifying them - through small talk or a little survey form . We were allocated 2 standard rooms at the very corner of a large un- carpeted passage . It appeared as though the room was
not properly prepared for us as there was no liquid soap in the containers .Guests should be informed in advance to carry toiletries .The standard fare in many 3 stars is to give you basic toiletries- soap , shampoo , toilet rolls and shower gel and you can assume that this hotel will also give you complementary toiletries .Breakfast was just ok . The lifts were
smelly . We have travelled extensively throughout the world this is not a hotel recommended for a family or any professional on business ..Might suit a backpacking student or an overnight stay if you are in transit to another country .

The room was so cold and there were no additional blankets. We literally slept with a jersey.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

As for the rooms they were pretty comfortable. The staff was affable too. But I was told there was wi-fi connection, but was some reasons i could find it nowhere (i had explored the whole hotel, trust me). Also there were some problems of finding parking and getting to the nearest subway station (although there was a tram stop nearby). There was some noise outside because of the nearest tram tracks, but it's just my opinion. Anyway, the price for staying was not very expensive.

Room Tip: You had better stay in the new corps (the rooms are much more comfortable there)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hi there,

Quite a good response :) Sorry about the WiFi - we have no idea why it did not work for you, we haven't heard any other complaints. The free WiFi is available in the entire hotel. In addition we give out free iPads at the reception for the use of our guests. Anyway sorry about that. We look forwward to welcoming you soon again at the hotel. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

As the title suggests, the Hotel Allegro is in need of a makeover; paint, carpets and possibly even the bed are a bit worn but surprisingly this was not so distracting. A good friend stayed with me in one of the rooms for 4 nights in September 2013. The check in was delightful in that the desk staff was able to accommodate our special needs. The breakfast was one of the best with a large variety of cold cuts, cereals, yogurts and fruit and oh, on demand espresso coffee drinks. It was perfect. The location was also a bonus, 1 minute walk away from Sbahn, directly across the street. This provided easy access to the whole city and in 10 min we were in the city center. What makes this place worth it is the staff. Even though its run down a bit, the price point was about right, positive helpful staff made up for the difference.

Room Tip: It wouldn't hurt to take a look at a few rooms before accepting what you request. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Harmonyeternal, thanks very much for your positive comments, we truly appreciate it. In regards to the worn down interior etc. yes we are going to renew the whole FF&E in the rooms by 2014, hence providing our guests a modern and more design-orientated atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the hotel. Many greetings from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent 4 nights with a friend. At first sight it looks as it is in a bad shape, 20 meters from S Bahn station Matzleinsdorfer. But it is clean, with very polite personnel, ready to help you at all times. Very good quality of the breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious, but the whole hotel needs renovation to improve. In general it is a hotel I would recommend. It might not be down town, but it definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niko V, Manager at Hotel Allegro, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Konstantinos P,

Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. You are absolutely right, the hotel needs refurbishment - and we are working on it. We are just about to finalize our plans, and start taking action toward refurbishing and relaunching this hotel as an urban-lifestyle-design type of hotel. When you come back next time, which we hope, you will be positively surprised. But do expect to pay a bit more as well... ;) Many greetings to Greece!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro

Address: Matzleinsdorferplatz 1 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria (Formerly Amarante Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Vienna
#131 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Allegro 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Austrian Hospitality at its best in this ideally situated eco-friendly hotel in Vienna. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City features 72 extra SPACIOUS, lovingly appointed rooms with free High-Speed W-LAN for multiple devices. All rooms are equipped with bathroom with shower/bath, toilet (mostly separate), flat-screen satellite TV and aircondition. In addition to the spacious rooms with free W-LAN Hotel Allegro offers spacious apartments, some of which are two-storied with terrace and a wonderful view out across Vienna. The breakfast is prepared with love to the local organic fresh products, freshly brewed espresso, and great variety of pastry and other delicassies. Not to forget a selection of healthy specialities. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City is the first hotel in Vienna to use eco-friendly Öko-Strom electricity in the hotel. This is one of the few measuirements the hotel has taken in order to be more sustainable.Families love the hotel due to the extra spacious rooms and kids-friendly staff. We plan to add some toys in the rooms in the near future so come back and see. Hotel Allegro, Vienna City offers naturally a 24-hour friendly service and strives to showcase real authentic Austrian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Allegro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegro Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.