We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I would recommend to others...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bellevue Hotel to your Saves list
Bellevue Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Althanstrasse 5, Vienna 1091, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
San Diego
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not sure I would recommend to others...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were on a Contiki Tour, so I have no idea what the room rate was however:

The location is rather off the beaten path. Yes, you can get to public transport, but there's really not much in the area.

The hotel itself is magnificent. A relic from a bygone era, it's has a very historic facade, and I'm sure it has an interesting history. The staircase is breath-taking - literally and figuratively, as our room was on the 4th floor, and we really weren't too keen on taking the tiny/slow/ancient elevators.

The rooms were okay. They were a decent size, and they did have airconditioners, but the AC units were programmed to reset and turn off every hour. It was rather warm and stuffy as the windows did not open. For a couple, our "king" bed was really just two double beds pushed together, and I ended up getting wedged in the ditch each night.

The hotel has a breakfast buffet that was decent, and the staff that we interacted with were all courteous. WiFi is available, but it was horrible. Incredibly slow and frustrating - often useless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    180
    99
    29
    18
See reviews for
45
175
19
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The beds were very comfortable (we've stayed in many hotels in Europe, and a comfortable bed is not always guaranteed!). The air conditioner worked well, the room and facilities were clean, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Although not in the main tourist part of the city, it does have a good location - there's a Billa grocery store and a McDonald's right across the street (located in the Franz Josef Bahnhof plaza), and you can jump on the tram and be within walking distance to Stephensplatz in just a few minutes. One bummer -wifi costs extra...but I guess that's why we walked over to McDonald's...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear David,
thank you very much for your comment. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and especially at our Hotel Bellevue. For future reference: you can reach the most famous sights with tram number D, which stop is only 3 min away walking distance.
The Wifi in the lobby and the restaurant and the bar is free of charge. Maybe you enjoy a typical "Wiener Melange" whilst checking your emails.
I hope this wasn't your last trip to our beautiful city, so please don't hesitate to contact me perswonally next time.

Best regards, Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights. I thought the interior and exterior of the building were pretty nice. The room was fairly large and clean. The hotel staff was nice and friendly. The best part is it is about 5 minutes from the tram and less than 10 minutes from the metro. Very easy to get into the city center. I did have one small issue with the shower stall. The door did not close properly and water leaked out onto the floor. However, for the money, I think this is a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Bellevue Hotel is a nice place to stay for some nights...I spent 3 nights in total in this hotel. Location is not the best in town but still you are not in a bad location. I walked twice downtown taking the nice stroll along the river ...took me around 25-30 min. Rooms are large and comfy. Bathroom was pleasent.
Breakfast room is nice and very normal. No big issues. They had little parking possibilities so if you arrive late you might need to park on the road and that is not easy....and you will have to move the car early in the morning again.....

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Th hotel is one of e oldest and has nice older decor, e lifts are tiny and very slow, the shower is in the bath which is very high, no coffee facilities. It is located near a railway station, and is also within about 35 minutes walk of Vienna. The guy on reception was rude, not sure if this was because he wasn't speaking his native language or he was just rude. The bar staff were great. The breakfast was awful with very little choice, bread but no toaster, the buffet wasn't restocked much, but the staff were very prompt with clearing dirty plates. We had included breakfast but after the first, we went into town and paid for breakfast. It was part of a tour so I am not sure about the price and value, but I wouldn't choose to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

If not for the location and the size, this hotel would truly suck. Last time we were there, the wifi connection was truly lagging (third world slow) and only 1hr per day was free per room. (from what i remember) Our room for 3 people was Huge, musty and needed renovations. Corridors were a bit scary too. at least the shower was decent.

Happy to report that there's a Billa and Bipa store right in front, most conveniences also nearby, food and what not but nothing worth remembering, metro is also quite near.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As in so many European hotels, the air conditioning wasn't working and yet the room was very hot. This is a frequent issue I think with hotels. The hotel is rather jaded and in need of a renovation. The room itself was comfortable, with a pleasant bathroom, but the pillows need replacing. The breakfast buffet was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Address: Althanstrasse 5, Vienna 1091, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Hotel, located near Franz Joseph station, convenient to West Bahnhof station; 3 km to West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.