We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Stephansplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stephansplatz 9, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“excellent experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel!! Great location! Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms! Friendly staff with good service! Nice breakfast! right in the middle of stephanplatz, facing the cathedral. Next to main metro station with two major lines. Next to shopping streets and many cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: nice to have a room facing the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    216
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
162
500
79
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed and I have stayed in many. Great service and a location that is unbelievably close to the church. Excellent breakfast with two types of fresh juicers.Large baths and rooms. Very comfortable and modern. Fast internet. Good coffee. Can pay for your taxi with room charges.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel was located literally right next to the underground station and the St. Stephen's cathedral. Many of the rooms have a direct (and very close up) view or side view of the cathedral. Staff was helpful, breakfast was excellent. There was also a bar menu for light food at other times of day. The room had about the best air conditioning I have found in Europe. It was effective and very adjustable, as well as being quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The room was pretty large. Bathroom was huge and had a big bathtub. There was good storage available in the room.

Our room (602) did have one small glitch. It had blinds which were external to the windows, and each morning when (I think) the wind would increase, an updraft would cause the blinds to become horizontal and the room would flood with light at around 6:30 to 7 AM, requiring us to get up to manually press the button to shut them again. This would only be a problem on our floor and the one above it. The lower floors seemed to have regular internal curtains. I think that this problem could be easily solved by either putting blinds inside the windows, or just getting rid of the blinds and putting in dark curtains.

Anyway, this was a small problem and the hotel is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: To avoid the problem with the blinds, choose a room on a lower floor (5 or below).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your fiendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

Please be sure we will discuss your constructive criticism within our next mangement meeting.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Staff are excellent, rooms are clean (if not a bit utilitarian, but hey, this is a mid-range European hotel) and of course, the location cannot be beat. The morning breakfast is great, and servers are prompt and cheerful. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Paul,

thank you very much for your positive review.

We are very happy to have made your holiday a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean with lovely views of the cathedral, and the breakfasts absolutely delicious. Thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We found that the comfort and service in Am Stephanplatz was first class. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful, and the rooms extremely well appointed. Breakfast was a treat, catering for all tastes - you can start with a glass of sparkling wine, continue with an extensive choice of fine food, finishing with a small piece of succulent cake. The location is unbeatable for access to the city centre, as you are right in it, opposite the magnificent Stephansdom. It is a little more expensive than hotels we normally stay at, but we were there with good friends to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday (which the management graciously acknowledged with a small gift), and I can say on behalf of us all that it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Robbie,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at hotel and loved it just as much as 1st. While the room we wanted was not available (room 702), hotel ensured we would have 1 of their 3 rooms with balcony facing Cathedral Stephansplatz. Lovely to sit on balcony, have a glass of wine with your special person, enjoy fantastic views of Church, square and people. Plus, hotel is in perfect location - just steps away from metro line 3.

Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Special egg dishes on request, sparkling wine, fresh fruits, fresh squeezed juice, great view of Stephansplatz square, lattes, etc. Restaurant staff very friendly speaks numerous languages, quick to respond to request.

Hotel staff super. Always willing to provide assistance. They went out of their way to ensure we would have one of their 3 rooms with a roof top balcony.

Highly recommend Hotel Am Stephansplatz and would recommend staying in room 702 (their best suite) or one of their other 2 rooms with roof top balcony. IMO, room rates are very under-priced for a hotel of this quality at such a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Room with a roof top balcony (702, 703 or 704)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Walter,

thank you very much for your wonderful and nice review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday again a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#6 Business Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a guest in the centre of Vienna - The heart of Vienna beats on the Stephansplatz. You will not be able to get closer to the pulse of this city than at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ! As a business or individual traveler, the central location in the centre of Vienna of our charming 4 star design hotel will inspire you. Opposite the St. Stephen's Cathedral, the landmark of Vienna, you stay at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ. Numerous sights such as the State Opera, Hofburg, Albertina, Parliament, Kunsthistorisches and Naturhistorischen museum can be reached within walking distance. The famous Viennese pedestrian precinct and shopping street Karntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Stephansplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.