We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Stephansplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Activity tickets
Ranked #6 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Hanover, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent 8 days in Vienna; the location and appearance of the hotel are excellent, the rooms well-maintained. There are well over a dozen restaurants within easy walking distance.

The staff were universally helpful, and well-informed. They seemed to be delighted to help out with such things as discovering train schedules.

My only reservation is that the restaurant is over-loaded, as are the wait staff. Items exhausted from the breakfast buffet were not promptly replaced. I would suggest closing down the (hardly used) smoking breakfast room and reopening it as a general breakfast room.

Room Tip: If you want to face the church, you must sleep with your windows tight shut at all times, since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for your nice review and also for your constructive criticism concerning our breakfast. Please be sure that we will discuss this topic in our upcoming operations meeting as it´s always very important to us to keep a high service standard and offer perfect quality at all points.

We are very happy to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    242
    31
    3
    4
See reviews for
183
574
94
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I were only going to spend one night in Vienna, this was the perfect place to splurge on a hotel. There is nothing like coming into the room and opening the drapes to see that fantastic cathedral within spitting distance. I loved that one of the windows opened so you could literally hang out of it and watch everyone in the square. I could barely tear myself away to go sightseeing. I spent a lot of time meditating in the cathedral itself. It was Palm Sunday and stalls were set up outside selling pussy willow branches. Then I was able to participate in a procession through the streets with the Cardinal, priest in their vestments and the crowd of children and adults.

The service at the hotel was very good as was the restaurant where I had my free breakfast and my free cake and coffee the night before. You can use the computer in the lobby to print out boarding passes. As has been mentioned the location is perfect, close to the underground and many nice little places within walking distances. I needed a couple to extra hours before my flight and had to pay extra to extend my checkout. Most hotels would do that for no extra charge if the hotel is not full. That is my only complaint. Otherwise, I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Loved everything about the hotel. Perfect for the sightseeing, next to the gorgeous cathedral, Xmas markets at every step, walking distance to the main attractions, quite cheap taxi fares to more distant ones (like Belvedere).
Very good breakfast, nice receptionist who made reservations for dinners on Xmas eve and Xmas day at lovely restaurants.
No need to go any further when looking for your perfect hotel in Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We are very happy to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The second we walked in to the hotel I knew the stay would be excellent. And it was. The staff in reception was so friendly and helpful. Rooms we had were opposite to the cathedral and they were good in size and very clean, bathrooms with shower and tub - thats so nice! Beds were so good that it's hard to sleep in my own now. You couldn't here any noice from the square or from other rooms and I'm easy to wake at noice.
Breakfast was varied, even kids found so much to eat there! We had dinner in the bar and it was also very good. Nothing special but good enough.
And the location, it is absolutely fantastic! If we ever go back to Vienna, and I'm pretty sure we will, we are definitely staying in this hotel!

Room Tip: opposite to the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to have made your familiy´s holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location right opposite the cathedral. Rooms we're clean and comfortable with great amenities. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and high quality and desk staff very friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to recommend or stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Martin,

Thank you very much for your very nice review.

We are very happy to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.
At this point we would also like to thank you for your nice comment concerning our new guest amenities - we give a high focus on fair trade and sustainability.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and hope to welcome you back soon at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA., USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The location is unbeatable. We popped up from the stairs at the subway station for the Stephanplatz, searched for which way to walk, and instantly saw our hotel. No guessing, no wandering, you are right in the center of this beautiful city and on the pedestrian plaza that is delightful to walk, and browse, and just enjoy.

Our room looked *directly* at the huge cathedral directly across the street, and was so delightful to see after dark because of the subtle but colorful lighting of the cathedral and plaza. You are near everything and directly next to the subway too. None of our other hotels in Europe were of this quality, even if they had an excellent location. Breakfast were outstanding and fed us for lunch too.

We, like many others, thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Vienna.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the cathedral if at all possible, or have friends with you and have just one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your great review.

We are pleased to have made your holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel am Stephansplatz for 3 days during a business trip to Vienna. The hotel I usually stay was fully booked so I decided to try out Hotel am Stephansplatz. The location of the hotel is excellent being right in the center of the city in a pedestrian zone. It is walking distance to all the major sights in Vienna. The hotel does not have an own garage but has a contract with a garage nearby which includes a valet service. I was greeted by a very nice receptionist who gave me an upgrade to a superior room overlooking the St. Stephans Cathedral. The room was quite big with a huge bathroom (shower and tub) and a lot of closet space. Even though the room was facing the square, the windows were completely soundproof. The room provides all the amenities of a 4 star hotel and the quality of sleep was great.The breakfast was included in the price and was very good providing a lot of choice. It is served in the restaurant on the first floor which has a view of the Cathedral. Wifi was provided free of charge in the hotel and room. The staff was very friendly and I have to say that I can only recommend this hotel for a great stay in Vienna. I will certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the St. Stephens Cathedral. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are delighted to have made your business trip a special and hopefully successful one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#6 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#7 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a guest in the centre of Vienna - The heart of Vienna beats on the Stephansplatz. You will not be able to get closer to the pulse of this city than at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ! As a business or individual traveler, the central location in the centre of Vienna of our charming 4 star design hotel will inspire you. Opposite the St. Stephen's Cathedral, the landmark of Vienna, you stay at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ. Numerous sights such as the State Opera, Hofburg, Albertina, Parliament, Kunsthistorisches and Naturhistorischen museum can be reached within walking distance. The famous Viennese pedestrian precinct and shopping street Karntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Stephansplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.