We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Stephansplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stephansplatz 9, Vienna 1010, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have not even left hotel yet but as still upset after first 2 days need to put my feelings in writing. This was a very special trip for us ( birthday, anniversary and new year). This was our last hotel before heading back to Australia. We had had wonderful service and a brilliant time till now.
Positives
Lovely room. Well appointed and staff try and help. Porter excellent .
Negatives
We booked and paid in full 8 months in advance it was New Year's Eve and we had room looking into court yard and other guests rooms.
We are aware we did not pay for a superior room and when we offered to pay more for any view were sadly told none available. Our complaint is we were never told what to expect prior to arriving and some of the rooms in our category do have external views. Staff did try for us and did say to ask again on New Year's Day but if course that was too late.
We are an older couple and it would have been wonderful to watch the outside festivities from our room when we became a little nervous to be outside , it was rather wild!
Instead we watched the inner courtyard and it was upsetting to note all the rooms with outside views seemed to be in darkness.
Was not the New Year's Eve we hoped for and we were very very upset.
On top of this despite the high costs they closed public facilities in the hotel to PAYING guests where we may have had a view for a private function. No prior warning before booking or in prior 8 months after paying .... Very poor form.
Having said all this it is a hotel we would stay in again as other than being way too hot inside ,we opened windows so at least heard ongoing festivities, it was a nice place we would just be alot wiser next time and not assume that booking early makes any difference or to be notified so we can make alternative arrangements .

Room Tip: Be aware of what you are really getting before you pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephansplatz, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Pamela,

thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel with us.
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with all our services.

As explained to you personally on site, we have various room categories and need to honor bookings made for specific categories such as >superior< rooms with view to the cathedral.
Before booking through our website, the different categories are explained in detail. Our superior rooms were aready sold out over New Year, also our rooms with view to the side street. Therefore, we could not upgrade your room.

We appreciate that you were satisfied with the hotel itself and our friendly staff and could recommend it to your guests. Your input however helps us to work on our guest services.

Dear Pamela, we really hope to welcome you soon again as our guest! Please address your upcoming reservation to me directly.

For any further details please do not hesitate to contact us.

Jutta Postl
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    767
    216
    30
    3
    4
See reviews for
162
500
79
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I knew it was going to be good because of all the great reviews on tripadvisor but it was even better than i expected. The photos do not do the rooms justice. The location could not have been better, the rooms were huge, modern and clean with an amazing view. And the breakfast.... i would just go back for the breakfast.. It was amazing... You would be silly not to stay here..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your positive feedback!

We are delighted to read that you were fully satisfied and well serviced. These reviews let us keep on track and try our best every day.

We hope to welcome you back in the centre of Vienna.

Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What could I say?! It's opposite to the St. Stephen's Church!!!!!!! It explains it all!
Anyway, despite being centrally located, it's really quiet inside the hotel, breakfast is nice, with view over St.Stephen's. There is freshly squeezed orange juice, which I first encountered outside hotels in Southeast Asia.
Rooms are very clean, staff are reasonably helpful.
One main problem is the bed, it's really small and the duvet is really small, merely enough to cover myself, considering myself being UK size 8-10 only.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A wonderful experience. The hotel was right in front of St Stephen cathedral and is at the crossroads of several pedestrian walkways. Subway station (U bahn) is around the corner from the hotel's entrance. Breakfast was also great and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

1. Very convenience. It's just right at the exit of the Stephansplatz metro station.The metro station is the interchange between 2 Metro lines U1 and U3, 5-6 stops from West Bahnhof (Train station) and 2 stops to Wien Mitte ( further Train to Airport).

2. The hotel is central. All the must-see attractions are in walking distance from 3-15 minutes by walk. Brand names and shopping are around the area as well.

3. The hotel is very clean and lively. The room looks new. Nice coffee shop where you can take breakfast in the morning as well. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

4. It's worth to pay a little bit more for getting a bigger room and getting the room facing the Church.

5. The hotel is totally in non smoking property.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We are just reaching the end of a four-night stay over Christmas. We couldn't have asked for more on our first trip to this beautiful city (even in cold rain and mist). Friendly, helpful staff organised an affordable pick-up service from the airport, and Christmas dinner at a really good local restaurant. There is a big bath to revive in at the end of active days and the quality of the breakfast beats anything we've had so far, and keeps you going until dinner! Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but apart from that, the comfort and perfect location have made our stay great value.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel was right in front of St Stephen.
We had 2 rooms - a family room on the 4th floor and a suite (due to a free upgrade) on the 7th floor. The 7th floor suite faces St Stephen and had a large balcony with wonderful views.
Breakfast was also great, where you can actually order eggs (omelette, sunny side, etc) and even an orange press for fresh juice.
The bathroom floor was heated and the kids loved that in the cold weather.
A wonderful experience for the family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#6 Business Hotel in Vienna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#8 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a guest in the centre of Vienna - The heart of Vienna beats on the Stephansplatz. You will not be able to get closer to the pulse of this city than at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ! As a business or individual traveler, the central location in the centre of Vienna of our charming 4 star design hotel will inspire you. Opposite the St. Stephen's Cathedral, the landmark of Vienna, you stay at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ. Numerous sights such as the State Opera, Hofburg, Albertina, Parliament, Kunsthistorisches and Naturhistorischen museum can be reached within walking distance. The famous Viennese pedestrian precinct and shopping street Karntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt are at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Orbitz, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Stephansplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.