We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great front desk staff, excellent room... breakfast improved on third night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Vienna City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Vienna City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria (Margareten)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #72 of 364 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff, excellent room... breakfast improved on third night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had two nights then a further night triple share. Would have liked to give this hotel a better rating as the welcome and assistance on every occasion from the front desk was simply A1…and they smile at you. The room one of the best triple share rooms I have had with a little divider to a living space…almost like a suite. Hooks for coats, lots of hangers, good reading lights, two tvs although only news channels in English. No shampoo or conditioner. Good linen and pillows. Sleep quality certainly better on our third night with inward facing room. No noise from deliveries and traffic which we had from our outward facing room. Internet was a little hit and miss and could improve.
Staff assisted with our bicycle hire, metro tickets and airport transfer, advice on Shonbrunn Easter Market...and were able to charge everything to our room bill. Excellent team at the desk including Fr Grefer the first night who gave us great advice regarding a restaurant and good check in service. But really everyone on the desk was great.
Everything looking like a 4 or 5 star review though, until we got to breakfast. First day no milk for cereal, no eggs, in fact very little of anything left on the buffet and it was before 9am. Took 15 minutes to replace eggs and asked twice. Watched many guests continually check the buffet and walk away. This was the morning there was no hot water in hotel and guests looked unhappy. Ok maybe just a bad day…the second day was worse. Every table dirty and no staff to clean them. Had to ask then wait for a table to be cleared. Inadequate single coffee machine kept running out of everything, took more than 5 minutes to get a coffee. No egg or bacon this morning. Expected more from a Holiday Inn especially after excellent first impression.
On our return from Salzburg three days later, things had changed.. at least an extra staff member at breakfast, everything was full, a new toaster which we did not spot the first 2 nights and special orders taken for eggs which we also did not notice the first 2 days..more fruit and good croissants....big improvement so hopefully it is a permanent change for the better.

Room Tip: Inward facing is quiet if the ocurtyard is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    309
    78
    15
    10
See reviews for
144
252
64
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Had a quick top over in Vienna for around a day and the hotel was worth the price it had to offer.

The city centre and all major sight seeing points like the Museum and Parliament are at a walking distance of around 12-15 mins from the hotel. Breakfast spread is quite good, though you need to be careful for dinners. The hotel takes the last order for food at 10 pm which is quite early according to my standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a spacious room which was wonderful. The staff at the front desk were really top notch. They assisted us with getting a taxi multiple times, and provided great information about the city as well. The location was really nice, easy to get to everywhere we needed to be. Despite the construction, the service and comfort did not suffer. Limited underground parking. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

To spend a quick night on a business trip, great place.
I am not interested in being close to the city center.
If you need to be, this is not the hotel for you.
Was given a very nice room with ample space.
Oldish bathroom but acceptable.
Had breakfast included and was offered a nice spread.
Fully deserved 4 points!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a room on the ground floor off the garden. It was a beautiful room, very spacious and it offered great light and views! The room had 4 floor to ceiling windows and I think, if I'm not mistaken, two might have been french doors that lead out to the court yard. The room was very clean and modern and much more than I expected in a European country, where rooms tend to be smaller.

The hotel was a little far from the closet metro. After spending the whole day sightseeing, the 7 min walk back to your hotel room can feel the equivalent of climbing Mount Everest. So close yet so far away!! Overall, we were very pleased with the room!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The hotel is located close to the Kettenbrückengasse Metro station, in the centre of the city. Even the Opera House can be reached on foot.
They provide underground parking. There is renovation going on, so the main entrance is locked, but can be reached from a side street.
The rooms were spacious and light. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A few years since I visited and the staff just remembered me! A great location super value for central position and around 400 metre walk to the metro then 2 stops to St Stephens Cathedral. Is currently undergoing refurbishment but that will not stop you from receiving a warm friendly welcome :-) Great job Herr A WIMMER always a pleasure to stay with you and I so look forward to the next time!
Danke :-)

Room Tip: 5th floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Vienna
#55 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#58 Business Hotel in Vienna
#65 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vienna City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.