We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy rooms, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Vienna City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Vienna City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #69 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Comfy rooms, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Well located just five minutes away from metro, this is a nice city hotel. The rooms are somewhat smaller, however the bathroom has a full bathtub. Breakfast is great, large variety of both hot and cold options. Parking may be scarce at peak times, you´ll be then left to a third-party parking house some three blocks away. Weekend rates may be a great deal, rack rates much less so - beware of booking blunders ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    286
    72
    15
    9
See reviews for
127
236
63
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited Vienna for four days during the 2013 Christmas holiday season. We got a family room for four people. We expected two beds, but we got three, each big enough for two people. The room was partitioned, and it had two TVs, a desk, refrigerator, etc. The sheets and towels were changed daily, and the room and bathroom were clean and warm. The room overlooked a back courtyard, so it was very quiet. Breakfast was included, and it had a wide range of food: fruit, bread, meat, eggs, fish, etc. The employees were friendly and helpful. The hotel is also on a quiet street, and only about 10 minutes on foot from the museum quarter. It was very easy to reach tourist sights and transportation from the hotel. Note: You have to tip servers in Vienna, including those at the hotel (lunch and dinner, not breakfast), and it's about 10 percent. At restaurant, servers expect to be paid in cash, as credit card payments go to the restaurant, and the servers then have to get their tips back from the restaurants.

Room Tip: The beds come with heavy comforters. If you are not used to using a comforter, ask the hotel to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We emailed the hotel the day prior to our arrival and inquired about an upgrade. Based on our Platinum status we were advised an upgrade had been assigned. Check in was posted as 2:00 PM and we arrived at 2:30 PM. Unfortunately, our room was not available and we decided to wait in the lounge area. At 3:00 PM the very nice receptionist brought our room key over and we were then able to check in. Recognition at check in for Platinum status was acknowledged and a welcome gift was provided (points or drink voucher). The room was adequate with a separate sitting area by a window overlooking the garden. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. One issue with the room is that the flat screen television is wall mounted above the work desk. If someone is sitting at the desk it is difficult to view the television. We used room service and the food arrived in about twenty minutes and was great. The hotel has an underground parking garage and has less than twenty spaces. The parking is very close but did not really pose a problem. When we first arrived we could not locate the parking garage entrance. I stepped in the lobby and asked someone wearing a name badge that read Holiday Inn where the garage entrance was located. He said I would need to speak with the receptionist to get that information. My initial reaction was a language problem but then realized he understood my question and his response was very clear. I was very disappointed that he could not assist me. The hotel is located within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. A Spar supermarket is close by and we used this to pick up a few things after arriving. A bus line runs in front of the hotel and is easily accessed. We did enjoy our stay but it could have been rated higher if the check in experience (including the parking directions) had been better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear TravelnurseUSA ,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is wonderful to know you liked the location of our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had with the service you received and the television. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel deserves a recommendation. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent, as shown in the pictures of the hotel. The staff is friendly, willing to give you information about the city, book a restaurant, etc.. If you like market place be sure to visit Naschmarkt which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Spent five days in this hotel from the 23rd to the 28th December. On Christmas eve we asked at reception if there was anywhere we could go to eat as the hotel only had
the one dish of goose on the menu or a vegatarian dish despite menus being displayed in the lift and in the room. This was the only meal available. There was no room service. We asked reception if there were any restaurants in the are the receptionist said there was but they were all closed or fully booked and wouldnt give us a list so we could decide for ourselves. How she managed to know every restaurant in the vicinity wad fully booked is beyond me. She is obviously blessed with supernatural powers and is clearly wasted at the desk in the holiday inn. We then said oh so we wobt eat tonight then and the staff didnt seem bothered. Christmas day like wise no food at the inn christmas lunch room service was limited to margerita pizza or a baguette. It appears to me that the hotel is geared aroubd the staff and not in accomodating the paying guests. I am appalled that at Christmas the hotel could not rustle up a meal
of some description on
either day. Needless to say this has coloured our view of vienna and we will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndiLienz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear ljs12345,
Thank you for informing me about your recent experience. It is true that our restaurant is only open between 6 until 9.30 p.m. During the other times we alternatively offer a snack menu.
I am surprised thought by how you experienced the handling at the front desk. I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused in this matter. Already 2 weeks before Christmas our front desk team had prepared a list of restaurants being open on the 24th of December, as this evening in Vienna is difficult. By the time you asked for other restaurant options they had already called all of these restaurants on the list in the neighborhood and knew that they were fully booked. Then they offered you to reserve a table at “Piaristenkeller” which you did not accept because it seemed too far away for you.
Dear ljs12345, I very much regret that you did not feel taken care of. It seems that this is due to the general policy of many Viennese restaurants to stay close on this evening. The options are therefore limited. I would be delighted to welcome you again to prove you that we do take care of our guests – with passion!

Yours sincerely,

Andrej Wimmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We felt welcome as soon as we arrived, the rooms we small but very clean and tidy, the location was excellent only a short walk to the city centre. The breakfasts were excellent. The pubs close by also had great meals

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Location of the hotel is 5 mins walk from Kettenbruckengasse metro station. Helpful staff. These were the few positive aspects of the hotels. Rooms are pretty tidy but our bathroom had issues with the wash basin drains being choked up and the air conditioner was not working efficiently making the room stuffy. Since we stayed only for two nights it didn't bother us too much. Pretty old property and not up to the holiday Inn standards.

Room Tip: Do not compare it to other holiday inn properties. Take the rooms on higher floors for a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Tourist191989,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is pleasing to know you found our location convenient for your activities and staff helpful. I am sorry the bathroom facility did not live up to your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience encountered. We are always working to be the best we can be and improve on our level of service and products. The feedback we received from our guests, like you will help us to accomplish this.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. We do hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#50 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vienna City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.