We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location.Locaton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Das Opernring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Das Opernring Hotel to your Saves list
Das Opernring Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Opernring 11, Vienna A-1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location. Location.Locaton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

What could be better than staying right across the street from the Opera house? Quick walk to the magical streets of Vienna. Hotel service, rooms and free breakfast a real treat. Extra benefit: WiFi!! Price was also right! For a laugh, check out their special black box near free coffee shelf.

Room Tip: We were on the Mezzanine, heard no outside noise and had marvelous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    76
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
90
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Needed a central hotel to wander through Vienna, and this met the bill. Room was quite dated, but very large. Enjoyed just looking out the window at the hustle and bustle of the Ringstrasse. But still quiet at night. Small, ancient elevator. Front desk clerks were more than helpful, from map overview to suggestions for dinner. One wonderful gentleman even escorted me and my 80 year old mother directly to the restaurant a few blocks away just to make sure she could walk the whole way. So sweet. Able to walk everywhere in Vienna (we even did a Segway tour). At the end of the trip, we could have easily walked to the city airport train station, but we needed a taxi to take us with our luggage (remember 80 year old mother). Unfortunately, the taxi that was called for us chose to extend the drive to try to get way too much money out of us. But we saw what was happening and asked to stop and get out. One of the perils of being a tourist and getting ripped off, but that happens everywhere, so nothing bad to say about Vienna.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

admittedly i only had a standard room but it was on the avenue in front of hotel. The location is very good but what a dusty grimy dump. bathrooms have been updated and the lights are bright only cheerful part of this room.
No air condition filthy old carpets no cosy chair to sit in i think this is what hourly hotel rooms may look like A BED BASTA!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Das_Opernring, Manager at Das Opernring Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear guest, we are very sorry your stay at our hotel didn´t satisfy your expectations. As you can see from other reviews other guest were very content with our hardware and service. So I´m sure we could have done something to make your stay more comfortable like serving you with another room. But unfortunately you didnt mention anything during your stay. We are refurbishing one room after the other. For this reason the rooms are equipped differently.
Our building was classified as an historic monument, which in one way saves the old substance, but also makes any new constructional changes or adjustments to the building nearly impossible. For this reason not all our rooms are equipped with air-condition, but we assist with ventilators at request. This information is available at our website, so no surprise.
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you couldn´t enjoy your hours at our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Party of 5. Took 3 rooms. The group's review: A perfect place if you plan to explore the riches of Vienna. Large airy clean rooms with modern layout. No a/c but we did not need it at the time. Complimentary mineral water, chocs, coffee making facilities, proper bathroom, Wifi, room safe ... the works. View from balcony was a bonus. The real gem of the place is the man behind the reception who went out of his way help us make our short stay memorable, very approachable and with a genuine smile. Very reasonable rates.
Would not accept a room on the 3rd floor when I go again, though. Felt strange leaving your room to step directly into the breakfast room in the morning.
Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Room with a balcony. The street noise is part of the bustle (heart) of Vienna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel for Vienna. We kept extending our stay - but finally had to leave :( 1 block from the opera house, Ubahn and trams right out front. Rooms were very comfortable and unexpectedly quiet. Beautiful breakfast room with lots of choices.
Unfortunately had a bad experience with our complimentary glass of wine at the restaurant downstairs, but our second attempt at that went much better.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotes D'armor, France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Actually, we were booked in by the Tourism desk at Wien airport- good service from them, with a list of possibilities, all too expensive for 2 nights. When the girl said "on the OperaRing" we thought for sure that it would be way too high but we paid 119 euros per night for a good-sized room, huge , well-glazed windows, nice bathroom and reasonable bed---plus breakfast, which was an excellent buffet in a lovely, light, large room. The only snag was scaffolding outside the window- but actually, the workmen were super-quiet on a top floor, perhaps? and it made not much difference to the view. There was an excellent tea/coffee facility, with beautiful china etc., and the mini-bar contents were reasonably priced. Michael on the reception MUST be mentioned- always pleasant, smiling, helpful, with the odd joke and seemingly genuine interest in one's happenings during the day. To be honest, even if it was a bit more expensive, we'd still like to stay here for its location - so VERY CENTRAL- and the above comments.

Room Tip: O.K. there was a snag- Thursday/Friday/Saturday nights there is a club (in the basement?) and if one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We are staying for 2 nights. The hotel staff provided us with instructions on how to reach the hotel via public transport from the airport- it was so quick and easy. The location of the hotel is PERFECT! It's right in the old city within walking distance of everything. The room is great- spacious, comfortable, and clean. We are overlooking the street which I love- you can hear the city a bit but I find that a charming part of the experience! Above everything else, the staff is FANTASTIC! They helped us arrange the next leg of our trip and where to go. I am so thankful to have such great people in the hotel- they truly improved the quality of our stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Das Opernring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Opernring Hotel

Address: Opernring 11, Vienna A-1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#84 Family Hotel in Vienna
#96 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Das Opernring Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Das Opernring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Opernring Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Das Opernring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.