We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a disaster!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Graumanngasse 16-18, Vienna A-1150, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SAVE UP TO 20%
Ranked #286 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Riga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It was a disaster!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Totally unacceptable stay, not compatible with BEST WESTERN name.
Could not get the dinner at the restaurant,only drink, because they had not a chef.(not hotel guests problem). The room was not cleaned enough- the lid of the empty shampoo bottle was left and the switches of electricity was dusty. But the worst experience was with the breakfast: at 6.30 a.m. there was not even coffee made, nothing to eat at all, only 3 days old bread only OK for toasting. Fresh bread was delivered at 7.30, when I was already checking out. I went to the breakfast at 6.30am in case to avoid Vienna traffic jam, but I left breakfast room without breakfast because of lack of food.
From Hotel"s webpage: We serve our guests different sorts of coffee, tea and chocolate.Typical Viennes cakes like "Sachertorte", "Apfelstrudel" and
daily fresh pancakes.You also find a choice of warm and cold
sausages, healthy fruits, juices and a wide range of
special dark breda and rolls."
NOTHING of mentioned was available from 6.30-7.30am. I left the hotel very, very dissapointed and will NEVER come back and will suggest my friends not to stay at this hotel. Nothing of BEST WESTERN standarts ..... and surely not 4 star hotel, 2 stars maximum. So I left Vienna without trying famous Sachartorte.....Still angry....
Wireless was also a disaster......slower than snail....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    31
    10
    12
See reviews for
11
44
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2005

I came here via Prague, and the drive into the hotel neighbourhood wasn't pleasant...the area is okay, and close to everything via the underground (four stops to Karlsplatz and Opera House). I loved staying here, great service, lovely food and the rooms were spacious and spotless. The only problem I would have staying here again would be the location, which is fine by day, but a little unnerving at night if you are a woman travelling alone. I was with my husband and found the metro a bit offputting in the dark, as the way back to the hotel is via a highway and down a very deserted street (less than a ten minute walk though). Other than that, and bearing in mind nobody paid us any attention, I would heartily recommend this very friendly hotel to anyone, it was one of the nicest places I stayed on my trip.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2004

Staying here is more like staying at your favorite Aunt's house. The staff (almost all part of the Reither Family -- there are three Reither Brothers that man the front desk) is very, very accommodating. When you ask for something (a map, directions, suggestions for a restaurant), they literally jump to provide it to you. Any question of ours that began with: "Would it be possible to..." was responded to with "Of course, right away".

It's a relatively small hotel and has a pension/Inn kind of feel. The buffet breakfast was quite elaborate including a "jam/jelly bar" and chocolate bundt cake (yum!). Every morning you were greeted as you entered the restaurant (that had a no smoking area) with a cheery Good Morning (in English or German).

We had a suite that was really cool. One room had two beds and the other had the possibility of having 1,2 or 3 beds by converting chairs into beds (amazing!). The suite had 2 baths though the second bath had only cold water.

Being a best western, you can book this hotel without having to pay for it in advance (which paid off for us as we changed our itinerary right before arriving there and had no penalty and, in fact, saved some money.

The only negative to the hotel is that it is literally on the edge of the city center. There are 3 metro stops within 2 blocks of the hotel. One takes you to the westbahnhof rail station (2 minutes), one takes you to city center (10 minutes) and one to Shoenbrun Palace (10 minutes). The neighborhood around the hotel, however is a mix of industrial, residential, a tacky looking nearby hotel and a little residential neighborhood with a couple of interesting restaurants. If you want to be in the middle of the city center, this isn't the hotel for you, but if you want an immaculate place with friendly service and great metro access (and a pool and sauna in the basement that was also immaculate), then stay at the Hotel Reither!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither

Address: Graumanngasse 16-18, Vienna A-1150, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Reither offers genuine traditional Austrian hospitality. Family Heydari runs the hotel since may 2010.Constant improvements and renovations have made our house into what it is today - quality 4-star hotel with all modern comforts to meet the demands of a discerning city traveller.Our hotel is located between Karlsplatz and the Schönbrunn Palace. Just one step to the famous musical theatre "Raimundtheater".The historical old town of Vienna with the St. Stephan Cathedral, the Vienna Opera, the Spanish Riding School, the famous museums and the Palace of Schönbrunn are within 10 minutes (by underground).Our rooms are tastefully decorated and have been partially renovated in 2005.A majority of our rooms are non smoking rooms. Our guests have the choice between normal single rooms, double rooms, small suites or family apartments for 5 persons.All rooms are equipped with bathroom and separate toilet, minibar, SAT-TV, safe, desk, wireless LAN. On the walls of the room you will find pictures of a young artist, which gives each room a personal touch.You will feel right at home here. Take our word for it. Welcome at the Best Western Hotel Reither in Vienna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.