We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with friendly, welcoming staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stefanie to your Saves list
Hotel Stefanie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 363 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel with friendly, welcoming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is excellent for a business traveller. Although some of the bedrooms are small, everything else about the hotel is excellent - the staff, the cleanliness, the decor, the breakfast, the location. I can't fault the hotel on any of these. I had a highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear GChis,

We are very happy to learn that you had a highly enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your nice compliments.

We will be pleased to advise you at the time of your next reservation in order to find a suitable room offer.

In the meantime, we remain,

with sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    183
    46
    10
    3
See reviews for
75
204
55
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms, good breakfasts - lots of choice. Only issue was room got a bit warm as the heated towel rail wouldn't turn off, so had to open the window. Wifi included, easy to use. Really is only a couple of minutes walk from Schwedensplatz underground station - and easy to find.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear EFord98,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor and praising our rooms and the breakfast offer.

We read that you had problems with the towel rail; this should actually easily be turned off by a fixed regulator. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff during your stay. The colleagues will be pleased to help.

We wish you a nice spring and send be regards to Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blumenau, SC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The building is very beautiful and so is inside the hotel . But the rooms!!! The single room is really
single. It has a very small bed, small bathroom, small space. If you are a big person, forget it! In the bathroom the amenities are fixed on the wall, and there is not hair conditioner or lotions. It's not really a good hotel room.
The staff is very nice, friendly and helpful. The cleaness is fine, and breakfast is very good, with many options of breads, colds and juice. The location is ok, you are going to walk a few blocks and get to touristic points and good shops and restaurants.
It is a good hotel but they really should get more spacious rooms!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Marianne S,

Thank you for informing us about your impressions.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel building itself, the staff as well as the cleanliness and our breakfast offer.

Unfortunately you were not satisfied with the assigned single room and therefore you could not fully enjoy your holidays.

Please be informed that we offer different room categories and sizes. Upon availability and with a surcharge we also offer the possibility to book a double room for single occupancy.
With pleasure we will advise you at the time of your next reservation.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel with an excellent location and very helpful friendly stuff. I love this nice stuff, the flowers' arrangement and the antics. The breakfast is full of varieties. It was a great stay with my husband I hoped to stay longer. I'll probably back in July with my husband and my kids.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Ayten12,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

We are very happy to learn about your experience and we appreciate your compliments.

With pleasure we look forward to welcome you back with your family and wish you, in the meanwhile, a very nice spring.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hospitality, nice room, quiet (room 414) and comfortable bed. One of the best stays for a long time. Incredible breakfast btw! I had difficult time to think of something negative for this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 414 was great and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear marcel-broumels,

Thank you for your positive review. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your holidays in Vienna and thank you for choosing our Hotel Stefanie as your accommodation.

Wishing you a nice spring, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed for 5 days with my partner. Very disappointed with the unfriendly staff. The housekeeper was lovely but the reception & breakfast staff were unhelpful & surly. We checked out & weren't asked if our stay was good or any problems during our stay. No 'have a safe journey!' or thank you & good bye! Our room was at the front, the Hotel sign & street lights shone brightly through our flimsy ill fitting curtains that were too narrow to pull across the window. Traffic noisy too. The corridor smelt strong of cigarette smoke.
Now the good bits...The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice. Good location too. In our opinion this hotel is overpriced. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear annan03,

thank you for writing us your experience.

We appreciate your compliments for the breakfast buffet and the hotel location.

Be assured that we want to offer our guests a pleasant stay and very much regret that you have gained a negative impression. Please do accept our sincere excuses.

We hope to get a further chance to convince you about our service awareness and remain,

with best regards from Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely a very good size and clean. The breakfast was wonderful and we even had champagne one morning. The breakfast room is very large and lovely. The location is great for walking into the center of Vienna. We had a lovely time in Vienna and really enjoyed the schtinzel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear tarasmithNewcastle,

Your entire review is a big compliment for all the team. Thank you.

We are happy to have offered you a lovely time in Vienna and hope you will visit our city, soon again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vienna
#18 Family Hotel in Vienna
#31 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#42 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 300 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest 4-star hotel in Vienna. Today, the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the 1st District - presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 122 stylish rooms with air conditioning and high-speed internet, three conference rooms, as well as the restaurant "Kronprinz Rudolph" form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stefanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.