We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Save Saved
You added Hotel Stefanie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 369 hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

There is no doubt that there are a plethora of excellent places to stay in Vienna, and the Hotel Stefanie is no exception. It is an old hotel that has been tastefully updated for comfort without losing any of it's old world charm. The staff were friendly and very helpful with anything we needed, from information to assistance in bookings.
Our room, number 412, was on a corner, so it has only one connecting wall with the adjacent rooms. It opens to the courtyard, which was actually just the top of a building. I recommend this, as it was quiet with no road noise. The queen sized bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large and modern. As other reviews have said, this hotel is in an excellent location for subways, shopping, and local restaurants.
The restaurant for breakfast was good, with ample choices for any appetite. The dinning area is large and comfortable. We visited in the winter so unfortunately couldn't enjoy their courtyard. They have a cozy bar with very friendly staff and reasonably priced drinks and snacks.
The only thing I will add is don't forget to put your "do not disturb" sign on your door as the maid service starts early.
When we return to Vienna, we would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Stefanie.

Room Tip: As with most hotels in Europe, pay for the larger room, stay on the upper floors to avoid street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear frodo4,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn about your stay with us and appreciate your nice comments.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in a warmer month so you can sit and enjoy a cool drink in our beautiful courtyard.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    154
    44
    8
    2
See reviews for
61
175
49
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

the location of the hotel is in the city center few minutes from the shopping area,the hotel is the oldest hnotel in the city may be 400 years old so that the history smell in every corner of the hotel so may be for the people who are looking for luxury will not be the best choice i liked the resturant it is very big hall took me to the old era of emperiors.
the team is great and all of them are very cooperative.

Room Tip: it is better to have a room on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear HaniHadidi,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. With pleasure we learn that you enjoyed the atmosphere of our Hotel Stefanie which, with its more than four hundred years of history, ranks among Vienna’s hotels richest in tradition.

We appreciate your compliments and wish you a nice winter continuation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

An all round excellent hotel. Stayed 4 nights in Feb and cannot fault it. We paid 372 euros for 4 nights room and breakfast in a very large double room. I suspect we were upgraded without being told because there were smaller rooms. The buffet breakfast was the best we have ever had. An amazing choice of good quality food and drink including ' champagne' to make Buck's Fizz.
The staff were both courteous and helpful...obviously well trained.
It's a 10 minute stroll to the Stephansdom ( centre of the old inner town) so well placed. Tram, bus and underground stops are a couple of minutes walk away.
I would certainly recommend this well appointed hotel and if you get it for the price we paid it's a steal.

Room Tip: There are smoking and non smoking rooms/corridors so ask for your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Bristo,

thank you for your nice review.

We are delighted to read about your experience and thank you for your recommendation.

We hope you had a safe journey home and remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is very nice. The room was smart, clean, quiet and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was good. The breakfasts were amazing. The minibar and wifi worked well. The location of the hotel near Schwedenplatz and the canal is perfect. The only negative was that the staff at breakfast seemed badly trained to me, snatching plates before they were finished (efficiency bordered on rudeness on several occasions). This did not make us feel welcome or comfortable. It was a good experience overall but given the relatively high price I'll probably choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear funkylittlefrog,

With interest we read your review about your recent stay and are happy that our offer convinced you.

Unfortunately you missed the friendliness during the breakfast service what detract significantly your comfort factor. Please do accept our sincere excuses. Be assured that the
well-being of our guests is very important to us. Your critic has already been forwarded.

We hope you will give us a further chance to fully convince you about our customer-focused service. In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We've just returned from a great stay at the Hotel Stefanie, the staff were polite & friendly, the room was clean & well equipped (though a little small) & good value for Vienna. The location is ideal - approx 3-4min walk from Schwedenplatz & the Innere Stadt. Breakfast was excellent though there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Ringarosie,

Thank you for posting your experience and letting us know your impressions. We are happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Stefanie and thank you for your compliments.

The tea and coffee making facilities are available upon request. Do not hesitate to contact our reception for any emerging issue or needed information. The colleagues will be pleased to help.

Wishing you a nice winter continuation, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

From an older age of grand hotels, but this is not too large. Service is excellent. Location is good, just over the Danube from the exciting City centre. The rooms are a little old fashioned but it all works very well. My second time here.

Room Tip: there are long corridors tot he rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear StevenE117,

Thank you for choosing again to stay at our Hotel Stefanie: which, with its more than four hundred years of history, ranks among Vienna’s hotels richest in tradition.

Looking for the third time, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel was luxurious from start to finish, but not with the luxurious price tag. Our room was not only spacious, but we got a rather large bath! Beautifully fluffy towels. Breakfast was a real treat, and one morning we had our champagne breakfast. The buffet certainly outranked the usual European fare, and the wait staff were ready to attend to our every need. Close to the city centre, after a short walk, but this was welcome after all the Viennese schnitzels we had consumed! Well worth a recommendation, and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear JoBrazaitis1971,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your Vienna stay and appreciate your compliments.

We hope you had a nice journey back to Australia and send you our best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Vienna
#26 Family Hotel in Vienna
#27 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#33 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#64 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 300 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest 4-star hotel in Vienna. Today, the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the 1st District - presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 122 stylish rooms with air conditioning and high-speed internet, three conference rooms, as well as the restaurant "Kronprinz Rudolph" form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stefanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.