We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and clean rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stefanie to your Saves list
Hotel Stefanie
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
GreenLeadersBronze level
US
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great location and clean rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

this hotel is in an AWESOME location. close to the airplane bus and all things vienna. most definitely a good buy if you get a very low room rate. the rooms are noisy due to the staff constantly cleaning in the hallways. perfect if you are not looking for a little rest and relaxation along with your world wind visit to vienna. if you want to relax and enjoy some services (the room, spa, room service, other) AND the city. i suggest one of the other numerous hotels in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear psuedofrog,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you were very satisfied with our offer and thank you for your compliments.

We noticed your critic regarding the noise in the hallways and kindly ask you to accept our excuses. We already forwarded this important information to the housekeeping department.

Wishing you a nice winter continuation, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    176
    46
    9
    3
See reviews for
71
198
54
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent a lovely week in Vienna over the Christmas period and the choice of our hotel was the cherry on the cake. We asked for a non-smoking quiet room so we got one at the back. Nothing fancy but very comfortable and a good size too. It also had a big bathroom with large bath. We got a kettle in our room because we asked for it at no extra cost. The lavishing breakfast is to die for and we suggest you try the restaurant in the evening too. All the staff had pleasant personalities and can communicate very well in English. They also helped us to buy our transport tickets and an excursion. Hotel Stefanie is just a few minutes walk to the Metro across the bridge and within walking distance to shopping areas. Warm clothing and comfortable shoes are highly recommended for Vienna. Obviously one cannot miss out on Hofburg. We strongly recommend this hotel as we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Whenever we travel we always ask for a nice quiet room and so far this has always worked for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear andrea12303,

We are happy to learn that you fully enjoyed your trip to Vienna and thank you for recommending our Hotel Stefanie.

We would be happy to welcome you back in future and wish you, in the meantime, a nice winter continuation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is in a good location; very close to shopping and restaurants. The breakfast buffet is amazing. There are so many choices and the coffee is marvelous. The draw back comes when you get to your room. It's dark and dreary. None of the bulbs have high wattage. They want to conserve energy but really?! My room faced another building so I got very little light. It had a negative impact on me as the room was quite depressing. The fact that the room was also very, very small didn't help. It just felt dreary and depressing. I took every opportunity I could to stay out of it. At least the buffet was delicious. I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear R C,

Thank you for informing us about your experience.

With pleasure we read that you were very satisfied with the hotel location and the breakfast buffet.

We regret that you were disappointed about your room that simply did not fulfill your expectations. We offer different room categories and would be pleased to advice you at the time of your next booking.

Your critic regarding the darkness of the room has been noticed and we thank you for steering our attention to this matter. The lightness of the chosen bulbs will be controlled by our technician.

We hope you will give us a further opportunity to convince you and would therefore be pleased to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour group just before Xmas 2012. Centrally located, meaning easy walk to old city centre across canal. Hotel had good restaurant and great breakfast. Not your typical big name Hotel, but very warm and cosy, with an old wold charm that enhanced our stay. Staff pleasant and courteous enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ajk021,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your Vienna holidays and appreciate your nice comments.

Wishing you a nice winter, we remain,

with kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

the hotel is pretty close to the center of the city, as well to metro and tram stops. It is quite and clean. Wi-fi works really well. Rich breakfast with many choices,I think it is a very good choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Ioanna B,

Thank you for posting your impressions.

We appreciate your nice comments and are happy that you found our Hotel Stefanie to be a “very good choice”.

We hope you had a safe journey home and send our best wishes to Heraklion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found this hotel very central to almost everything we wanted, the hotel itself is quite comfortable, good food great staff. Only one complaint as we visited in December they had the central heating up to high and the controls didn't seem to work, so we opened the window.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear wendy_camer,

With pleasure we read about your experience and thank you for your compliments for the staff and the hotel location.

We regret that you did not felt comfortable with the room temperature and could not regulate it as desired. Please do not hesitate to contact the reception at the time of your stay. The colleagues will be pleased to help.

We hope that you will still keep your stay in good memories and wish you a wonderful winter.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Stefanie earlier this month for 3 days during our trip to Vienna. The location is excellent, breakfast sumptuous and within close proximity to the U-bahn and sights if you're up to walking. The tram station is right next to the hotel as well. From staff to the facilities everything is very good. The hotel is highly recommended and I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear ZSKKV,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel Stefanie.

We are happy to read that you had a very good experience and thank you for recommending us to further travellers.

We wish you a nice winter and remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Vienna
#27 Family Hotel in Vienna
#30 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#40 Business Hotel in Vienna
#41 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 300 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest 4-star hotel in Vienna. Today, the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the 1st District - presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 122 stylish rooms with air conditioning and high-speed internet, three conference rooms, as well as the restaurant "Kronprinz Rudolph" form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stefanie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.