We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance on the Danube” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront to your Saves list
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Handelskai 269 | A-1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria (Leopoldstadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #46 of 365 Hotels in Vienna
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Elegance on the Danube”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is upscale and well-appointed. It is located right on the Danube - great views but far from the action, which was the only downside to this marvelous hotel. The initial room we were given was a smokers room and they immediately upgraded our room to a non-smoking river view room! Decor was absolutely supberb as were the beds and the facilities. The windows opened to the river which was very romantic.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    429
    84
    16
    3
See reviews for
303
309
24
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We travelled to Vienna for a long weekend. The location of the hotel is excellent if you consider visiting Prater. It is alos on a direct subway line to the old city center. It has a great view over the Danube. If you travel in the summer, you can also enjoy the outdoor swimming pool. Breakfast is great. We also really enjoyed the steaks and the seafood soup served at the restaurant in the basement (on the bank of the Danube).

Room Tip: the rooms with a view to the Danube are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very good hotel just at the Danube shore.

If you need a room for 3 persons - with real beds to all - this is the place to stay at a reasonable rate including an excellent breakfast buffet.

Hotel is not located in the city center, but has short distance to public transport - train (metro) and bus, taking you down town in 10-15 min.

Room Tip: We had access to th lounge at a marginal extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hilton in September of 2013. We felt welcomed by everyone and our stay was great. We had a beautiful view of the Danube and enjoyed the amenities of the Executive Lounge with a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel right on the Danube river. Rooms are wonderful - large, modern and very clean. Restaurant in the hotel is very good. The breakfast had many choices from fruit and cereal to eggs and bacon and everything in between. Although the hotel is not in the city center, it is only about a 3 block walk to the underground that takes you right into the city center. When we opened the door to our room, we both went WOW. We were lucky to get a room that overlooked the river. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room on the river side if available. Swans on the river are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Sibiu, Romania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Paradoxically, the hotel is close to the airport, about 15 minutes by car, and, still, near to the city. It is on the Danube (not the channel that you know near the Ring), with a beautiful view to the many graceful swans that float there and to the new Donaucity. The Prater is nearby, with the Congress-center and the Stadium. Also, in walking distance, there is the Marina of Vienna, with a restaurant selling excellent fish and local specialties and a beautiful location, on the waterfront. In few minutes of walking you reach the Stadion metro station, with connection to the center in other few minutes.
Rooms are huge, clean, the bed comfortable. Staff friendly (with the special austrian jokes).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel this past August, and we occupied three rooms since we had our babies and our parents. The rooms we got were looking at the Danube which is beautiful and they had a very nice size. The staff was always very nice and their customer service was great at all times. Restaurant and bar food is normal, but the breakfast was very good ( included in our reservation). We would definitely return if back to Vienna at some point.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront

Address: Handelskai 269 | A-1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Vienna
#21 Family Hotel in Vienna
#35 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Light and airy - this is the atmosphere of the Danube, and the inspiration behind the unique design and ambience of the newly restyled Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront. Take pleasure in the fresh, modern look of this uniquely located hotel, the perfect setting for your next special event. During the day, take in the stunning views from our meeting rooms that inspire visionary business deals. At night, the inviting terrace of our Waterfront Kitchen beckons diners to relax and savour delicious cuisine near the gentle waves of the river. Everything is easily accessible from our hotel. St. Stephen's Square is just a 10-minute ride away by underground and just as close are UNO-City, Austria Center and the Prater, Vienna's most extensive park and recreational area. Even the Messe Wien Exhibition Center is just a short walk away. After a busy day, relax in our stylish and spacious guest rooms, the largest in Vienna. Make the most of our welcome amenities and the high level of service for which we are known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Vienna Danube Hotel Vienna
Vienna Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.